We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“woult'd be perfect if food in restaurant was better quality.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New England Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The New England Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Consett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“woult'd be perfect if food in restaurant was better quality.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Lovely hotel, staff were very friendly and professional, service was excellent at all times and staff were always willing to help. The meal I chose in restaurant wasn't to the same standard however, neither the starter or main course were as described on menu and for the price of main meal I was very underwhelmed. I feel if they are offering halibut with minted new potatoes, carrots and asparagus with lime then this is what you should get, not a dried up bit of frozen fish with dry unminted potatoes and lacklustre veg, or for starter of saute mushrooms should be a bit more that a few sliced button mushrooms on brown bread toast, which weirdly was placed on top of an unappealing old fashioned attempt at salad and a slice of orange?? On the plus side the breakfasts are nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elca81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    32
    14
    28
See reviews for
24
32
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here Saturday night. Room was clean but a little cold ( radiator off) but im a warm blooded person so didn't bother me. Hotel does need updating but again not a problem for me the essentials was there, comfortable bed which had fresh clean sheets. Breakfast was lovely, served to you hot and perfectly edible. Staff was really nice and friendly so overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stop over.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinandjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Stayed overnight after a wedding reception at hotel,haven't got anything bad to say about our stay,staff were very helpful and caring, it's nice to stay in a solid hotel full of character,rooms were fine,slept really well beds very comfortable,it's an older building,so the rooms have a more traditional feel to them,lounge bar was enjoyable plenty of comfy seats it had a nice atmosphere breakfast was great and the service from the staff was good.a pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsoton
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Went to the hotel for an evening meal with my wife for steak night

Went on a Saturday night and was supprised to find we were the only couple booked in which did not boad well

But the hotel staff were very friendly and the quality of food was very good although a limited selection with the sweets

Found the parts of the hotel we used to be well presented and very clean although need to sort out their music as it kept getting stuck and for a good part of the evening had none as background in the dining room which would not have been a problem if there had been more than just the two of us in there

We would certainly use the place again despite the lack of custom and have already booked for Boxing Day lunch with the family

Would be good to see the place back to how it use to be

Room Tip: Did not use the rooms only there for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

The New England was, at one time, a really nice hotel. Unfortunately it is now needing a makeover! This could easily be taken back to a lovely hotel. The position is perfect with lots of parking close by. My room was large and comfortable, just outdated. The bathroom was also large, but the shower was too low down to have a good shower! The hotel prices were not expensive and I had a really good steak. Breakfast was ok, the breakfast room was huge and neded some background music to lighten it up a bit. The staff, of which there aren't too many, were really helpful. Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corricos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here with my partner for one night. The whole experience from start to finish was bizarre. Arriving at the hotel, we parked in the on site car park around the back which was like something out of a demolition site. There was more rubble than an episode of the Flintstones. Some of the staff seemed friendly enough however one member was so rude to a customer in a wheelchair, it marred the whole experience as it was very uncomfortable. I found out later that this was actually a member of the management team.
The rooms were bog standard and out-dated. The shower was so small, I had to stoop to get a decent wash. The extractor fan was clogged with dirt and wall paper was bubbled and moist. On leaving, there was nobody to take our key off us. We rang the ball a number of times resulting in my partner having to walk around the hotel to find a member of staff to give the key to. The breakfast wasn't bad but unfortunately the negatives outweigh the 'positive'.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewbacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Boston hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Was last minute booking as other hotels booked up.
Staff was really nice and helpfull.
But the rooms are horrible, totally needs refurbishing as for such a high cost for single room it's not even funny!
Door lock as well totaly not safe. Toilet didn't flush normaly.
Morning breakfast place very wide with many tables but poor wariety of food, plus the room was so quiet it felt creepy.
Wouldn't come back..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pikachuiwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
0.3 mi away
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Boston Hotel
3.8 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
14.8 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
14.4 mi away
Dower House Hotel
Dower House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New England Hotel

Property: The New England Hotel
Address: 49 Wide Bargate, Boston PE21 6SH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New England Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The New England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England Hotel
The New England Hotel Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing