We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A place to chill out”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Somercotes

Double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom
Table set for a special meal Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Double bedroom
Table set for a special meal
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Somercotes holiday bungalow
Pub-restaurant and farm shop in village (The Thatched Cottage), a short walk from Somercotes
Patio and one corner of large garden
Sun lounge and dining area
Kitchen plus breakfast area
Large garden
Garden at Somercotes
Garden  at Somercotes
Garden at Somercotes
Boston Stump (St. Botolph's Church)
Boston market, open-air auction
Ayscoughfee Hall, museum and gardens, Spalding
Springfields Outlet Centre, Spalding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Boston, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bren V
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A place to chill out”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent three glorious weeks here in September/October and enjoyed sitting out in various parts of the lovely garden and watching the many birds (and local cat who came to find a "feathery" lunch!!). The sun lounge was useful as we always have a jigsaw on the go and the daylight in here was superb. We can appreciate the comments of the bungalow being "slightly dated" but to us it was interesting as a lot of the bits and pieces reminded us of living at home in the 50's so we have no grumbles at all. Using the porch and utility room for boots and shoes kept the kitchen floor clean and tidy. The lounge and bedroom were fine and the bungalow contained everything we needed.

We didn't venture too far but thought Sutterton was a nice quiet village and very well placed for touring rural Lincolnshire. As the weather was so good during our stay we mainly spent our time walking along the rivers and "drains" - starting or finishing at some of the many good pubs in the area. We found the agriculture of the area very interesting and were thrilled to come across a pumpkin field and marvelled at the fields of sunflowers, gladioli and dahlias which, sadly, were almost over.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday with no complaints and would not hesitate to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, sun lounge and short walk to the paper shop which included feeding the ducks on the Mere.
Liked least: The fact that we hadn't got a dog with us as the garden and walks were so dog-friendly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
We are as always pleased to hear that our visitors enjoyed their 3 week stay at Somercotes, particularly our extensive garden,and hope to welcome them back on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a charming village. Brilliant communication with the owners and very detailed instructions provided when the balance was paid. Cottage is located in the village of Sutterton which is about 4/5 miles from Boston, Lincs. Local amenities include thatched pub with a new butcher just next to it (Lovely homemade sausages) and local Post Office/ Paper Shop. In the next village of Kirton (2 miles away) there is Fish & Chip shop, supermarket, bakers and we would recommend the food in the Black Bull. If you like fishing West Wood Lakes are about 3.5 miles away just off the Boston Road with 6 lakes to choose from. All in all lovely quite holiday where you only need to bring towels as everything else is provided. We are booking now to return next year

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2014
We are delighted that these guests again enjoyed their holiday at Somercotes (their second visit), and also that they have booked once more for 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo H
Horley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovley bunaglow every amenity but let down by the bad damp smell”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely bungalow in a quiet village, clean and tidy but unfortunately let down by the extremely bad smell of damp. We booked for weekend to visit friends in the village but cut our stay short.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location to friends in village
Liked least: Very bad damp smell
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2014
We are sorry that these visitors who had only booked for a short break of 3 nights at the end of August, were concerned about a smell of damp. This is not normally a problem in the bungalow, (we visit and stay there regularly ourselves) and we can only think that on this occasion the cleaner washed the tiled floors in the kitchen, dining area and bathroom as her last job before guests arrived. We have asked her to do this at an earlier stage in future, to make sure the floors have time to dry thoroughly before she leaves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somercoat...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dissapointing, drab, dirty, neglected property, a real let down.”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

found bungalow very drab, dirty smell, we arrived at 3.45pm, had cuppa, started to unpack. Got a phone call from owner, asking if all was well, which we thought it was, until we went to put clothes in wardrobe. The dust and cob webs were every where. I vacuumed, all the skirting boards and carpet edges, carpets, and washed kitchen surfaces, just so that we could feel a bit more comfortable. Finally got settled at 6.30pm. This is not what we paid£476.40p for a weeks holiday, and the property is supposed to be inspected regularly, and is given a three star rating, we came home on Tuesday22july, and we are so dissappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: garden, location, leaving.
Liked least: cob webs, unclean, dirty.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2014
We are sorry that these guests did not enjoy their stay at Somercotes. The negative tone of this review is wholly at variance with the many comments from other guests in our visitor book, an earlier 2014 Trip Advisor review and also our annual inspection report. We employ an excellent cleaner, who takes great pride in the presentation of the property and this is reflected in both these comments and the assessment.
We 'phoned these guests some time after their arrival, and they confirmed that everything was in order and they had no problems. They had both our landline and mobile numbers, also our email address, and we emphasised that they were to let us know immediately if they had any problems. They failed to do so.
We feel that the photos. on our website give an accurate portrayal of the style and quality of the furniture and fittings in the bungalow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
Reviewed 14 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing air of the place
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
We are always delighted to hear that our visitors have been comfortable and enjoyed their stay at our holiday bungalow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing