We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful bungalow with everything we needed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Somercotes

Double bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom
Table set for a special meal Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Double bedroom
Table set for a special meal
Lounge
Twin bedroom
Somercotes holiday bungalow
Pub-restaurant and farm shop in village (The Thatched Cottage), a short walk from Somercotes
Patio and one corner of large garden
Sun lounge and dining area
Kitchen plus breakfast area
Large garden
Garden at Somercotes
Garden  at Somercotes
Garden at Somercotes
Boston Stump (St. Botolph's Church)
Boston market, open-air auction
Ayscoughfee Hall, museum and gardens, Spalding
Springfields Outlet Centre, Spalding
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Boston, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kathywes2...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful bungalow with everything we needed”
Reviewed 15 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a really lovely holiday the bungalow was very well equipped. We visited somewhere different every day the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight, Lincolnshire Aviation Heritage Centre, Springfields, Boston and then relaxed in the evenings.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2017
We are so pleased that these visitors enjoyed their stay at Somercotes, and the various attractions accessible from there. We should be delighted to welcome them back on another occasion.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shp
Wokingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit to Somercotes”
Reviewed 10 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We really love this cosy peaceful peaceful bungalow, in fact this is our third stay in 12 months,. It is a perfect base for visiting friends and family and is also dog friendly with a lovely garden.
The bungalow is really well equipped, we hosted a dinner for nine on Saturday (see photo) and there was plenty of crockery, cutlery and glasses for everyone. We bought all of the food at the local farm shop - Pinchins - which I really recommend.
The village is great, lots of excellent dog walks, a good fish and chip shop and a very good hairdressers where you can also get all the local gossip. I was very pleased to hear that the pub (which closed earlier this year) has been bought buy a local person and will reopen as a pub and restaurant next year - hopefully we'll be back to try it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely peaceful bungalow
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you for your review. We were delighted to welcome you back again, and to hear that you were able to host a reunion meal for 9 people - family and friends - whilst you were there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
We were delighted to hear that you had been comfortable and enjoyed your stay at Somercotes. (We did indeed welcome back these guests on 3 more occasions in 2016)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
shp
Wokingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Back for our second visit”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We had a lovely second visit to Somercotes - in fact we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay. The bungalow is really comfortable and well equipped and the garden (+ the secret garden) are a delight. There are lots of excellent dog walks locally and plenty of places to visit if you want to do more than just sit in the garden. There are some good local farm shops. We particularly liked the one at Algarkirk - Pinchins. We got an excellent joint of beef there and some really top quality pork pies!
The bungalow and village are very peaceful and we came home feeling totally relaxed. We hope to return again in the autumn

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and that you found Somercotes a comfortable base for a relaxing holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizziepop...
Minster on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful bolthole.”
Reviewed 9 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This bungalow is a peaceful haven, with a lovely garden. We were house hunting and it was a joy to get back too after the stress of the day, lovely and warm as the weather was not good, but that is to be expected in December. The bed was super comfy, and the local chippie served great fish and chips.There were nice walks for our greyhound Oska. Would recommend if you want peace and quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing negative.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2015
We were very pleased to hear that our guests had enjoyed the peace and quiet of Somercotes, and had had a cosy and comfortable winter weekend in the bungalow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shp
Wokingham, England
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely bungalow for a peaceful stay”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

There has been a tendency recently for holiday lets to be done up like boutique hotels with prices to match. If that's what you're after then Somercotes is probably not for you. If, however, you are wanting a cosy, comfortable and well equipped bungalow with great wifi, in a friendly and peaceful village then you'll love it. We found it a great place to base ourselves while visiting relatives. Although the weather was pretty awful we had some good walks (with the dog). My husband is disabled and walks with a frame and the bungalow was nice and spacious and it was easy for him to get around - there is a small step into the lobby and another into the kitchen and then it's all level.
The furniture and fittings are dated (as can be seen on the photos) but everything works well and it all feels very homely. There is a good fish and chip shop in the village and an excellent farm shop just a 5 min drive away. We didn't try the local pub but will do next time...Yes, we will certainly be back - hopefully in some sunshine so we can enjoy the garden which is huge and looks lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2015
We are delighted to hear how much these guests had enjoyed both the quiet village location and the comfort and convenience of the bungalow itself.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela J
Dorset
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Back in Time - 1950's”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed in this property in June. on walking into this property I was 'gob smacked' at the furniture and fittings inside, it is like walking 'back in time'. I was reminded of the early 1960's when I went to stay for a while with my great aunt, it was almost identical.

Unfortunately, we went on to find that things inside were not too clean. Everything we took out of the kitchen cupboards was 'sticky' or 'greasy' and stuck to the shelf, glasses are covered in dust. We took out everything we were going to use and gave it all a good wash and placed it separately. The dining table has a very nasty and marked surface and you really don't want to eat your food off it, we went and bought a paper clothe to use for the week. The kitchen is well equipped. There are grubby corners and areas all around the bungalow. I couldn't hazard a guess at how old the roller blinds in the dining area are, they are very worn and very grubby. The bedding is nice and clean but the bed is squeaky. There is plenty of hot water but the shower head droops while you are using it.

The garden is very over grown. The grass is cut, you can use the garden. The birds are lovely. The outbuildings are in quite a bad state and could do with a lot of attention, the weeds and bushes are actually growing up through the buildings and the trees are grown right over the top of them and knock on the roof when the wind blows.

The village of Snetterton is lovely, clean, quiet and well situated for visiting places like Burghley House, Lincoln Cathedral and Castle, and Sandringham, all of which we did and had lovely days out. This bungalow could be so nice but is in need of a lot of updating. If you are into the 50's, as I know lots of people are, it's definitely for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Local Village
Liked least: Furniture and fittings, not cleaned properly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
We were sorry to hear that our guests were dissatisfied with their accommodation. We 'phoned them as usual some time after their arrival to check that they were comfortable and everything was in order, but they gave no indication of any of these issues. We would have sent our cleaner round straight away if cleanliness had been highlighted.
The decor and style of the bungalow and its furnishings are clear from the photos on our listing, and on our own website. Many guests have commented favorably on the period style and on the cleanliness of the property.(The bathroom, kitchen equipment and white goods are all modern and in good condition.) We employ an excellent cleaner who takes great pride in her work so we find the negative comments particularly surprising. We stayed there ourselves for a week in the middle of May, and all was clean as usual.
The gardens are extensive - almost an acre - and the surrounding trees and shrubs provide privacy and seclusion for guests relaxing on the lawns which are cut regularly as is the path around the orchard. The outbuildings are used for dry storage and are not part of the holiday let. In no way are there weeds growing up through the buildings.
We are however pleased that these guests enjoyed the village and its convenient location for many different visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing