We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I booked the White Hart for a special occasion for my husband and myself - as we had never been to Boston and all the accommodation research was done online, I kept my fingers crossed that all would be well and the property was as we hoped - in short: it was and I am very pleased I chose to book the White Hart. The property is very conveniently located downtown, right by the river. Our room + en-suite bathroom were very clean, the bed very comfortable, towels nice and soft and plentiful, etc... The evening meal we had at the White Hart was excellent - the menu was great, the food well presented, cooked to perfection and delicious. As well, timing between courses was just right. Very importantly, staff members (room + restaurant) are extremely well trained and deliver excellent service - all were friendly, efficient and attentive. I could say more but, at the end of the day, suffice it to say that we had a great stay and could not have wished for anything better for our special occasion!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeandaway23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    311
    105
    44
    23
See reviews for
142
419
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We also went with a highly recommended Groupon deal...as expected we had a lovely tea and bubbles (smoked salmon and cucumber sandwiches, cream tea and fresh cream cake) which upon request was brought to the room by a lovely waiter and no hidden extra cost (which I had fully expected to be later charged for..thanks for that )
The room was fine; I had been kindly briefed that if I had called ahead sooner I could maybe have got a river view. It was a warm evening but I found a fan. It was a noisy evening due to kids doing what they do (can't complain I did just the same at that age) and had to smile at the complimentary earplugs...I imagine the poor staff get that many customers saying "you should provide earplugs..." so there they are! It wasn't that bad just a few daft kids having fun anyway.
Tea,coffee, kettle, iron, good tv, lovely shower, great accompaniments in bathroom, needs some Viacal on the taps though.
The only other complaint I have is that the beds are really uncomfortable. Now it can depend on personal preference but both myself and my partner woke up aching :( and it stayed for the day. We are in our early 40s and keen cyclists so still going strong btw!!
Breakfast was wonderful; the lovely waitresses saw that we had our little requests met with no problem. The staff were lovely; a credit to the hotel. Every single staff member was warm friendly and happy to help...a true credit to the hotel as this really counts these days. Thank you and highly recommended. Bring an airbed though...

Room Tip: Ask ahead for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mablethorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Hotel is in the centre of Boston with a car park to the rear. It is an old building and if you are allocated a room on the upper floor it can be quite a trek with your luggage. We had booked a twin room but were given a double - a quick trip back down to reception and this was immediately rectified .
We stayed here on a Groupon offer and thoroughly enjoyed our champagne afternoon tea (crustless sandwiches - smoked salmon, ham, egg and cucumber, fresh cream sponge and a cupcake -I have a sweet tooth but it was too sweet even for me and scones with clotted cream and jam.) A glass of champagne and a cup of excellent coffee. Didn't try an evening meal here as was too full up!
Our room was a good size and clean - the only negative was the bathroom window - it was very draughty.
Breakfast was excellent - a good selection and the 'full English' cooked to order was hot and very tasty,
The staff are a credit to the hotel, all the members we encountered were effiecient, friendly, helpful and polite.
We thoroughly enjoyed our bargain break and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calzip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

A small/medium (24 rooms) hotel in the middle of Boston, the White Hart has been a hotel for a long time, and it shows.
First and foremost THERE IS NO LIFT. That's OK if you don't need one, but it is nice to know in advance.
Secondly the one way system in the town and around the hotel is complicated, you need to enter the High Street at it's west end to get to the hotel, but once you reach the hotel it becomes clear that you need to go round the one way system again to get to the car park, to avoid this take the second turn on the left after joining the High Street (called West Street) and then turn right immediately aftter some bollards to reach the hotel car park. The good news is that pedestrian access to the hotel from the car park is a short straightforward walk.
Our room (200) was fine, but mind the steps down from the door into the room, if a bit tired. It is not double glazed so noise could be an issue overnight, fortunately it was qiet for our 2 night stay. The king size bed was comfortable and came with two pillows for each of us, sadly the pillows were very flimsy and we found it hard to get comfortable on them. The shower room was a comfortable size, but the hot water takes a long time to arrive, and when it does it is very hot - making it hard to adjust the shower temperature.
The corridors had a smell of damp wallpaper.
The breakfast offering we found a bit mean, but the cooked breakfasts were OK. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening except to order cheese and biscuits last thing, and they were very good.
The staff on reception were without fail pleasant, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the move
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2011

The White Hart is superbly located for Boston Stump and other attractions in Boston. The car park is a bit hard to find, but point your satnav at PE21 8QD and all will be well. The staff on reception and in the restaurant were really friendly and helpful, and the cooked breakfast was great (wonderful bacon!).

Our room was comfortable, but located up a maze of stairs and shabby corridors, which gave the whole hotel a sense of having seen better days (which, to be fair, is a pretty general feeling throughout Boston). Bathroom was clean but the water pressure in the shower was almost non-existent. WiFi was apparently available but charged for, which I don't consider acceptable these days.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squawky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heacham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We loved the room and the welocoming from all the saff. The receptionists were very helpful and patient in routing us through Licolnshire to get to the car park. The dinners were very good and we enjoyed the dining room, especially when we had a meal in the bay window overlooking the river and the view of the Stumo.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris644357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Great friendly and warm welcome. Good room, but as my wife is disabled we did struggle with the stairs. Due to an event on the Saturday evening there was a bit of noise in our room and when we asked for a different room, this was provided very efficiently and we enjoyed a nice quiet night. The food and the service we found to be excellent, breakfast was first class.

Room Tip: Check for specials like weekend breaks etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peakman92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
6.4 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
275 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boston
340 reviews
14.9 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
0.3 mi away
The New England Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Property: The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Address: 1 - 5 High Street, Boston PE21 8QD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN White Hart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing