We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, attractive, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Central, attractive, comfortable”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely position in attractive town and near plenty of shops, restaurants and the Cathedral. Old fashioned and very comfortable rooms. Highly reccommended. Free parking available. Sorry if have not met 200 character rule but not prepared to add comments just for the sake of it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank snorkellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for you review of the hotel, & my response will get close to the 200 characters (we did not realise there was a minimum, so thank you anyway).
We are ideally located within the town centre so very close to the local amenities. The Church does stand very proud in the town centre & can be seen for miles around hence its nickname of ‘the stump’, as it was being built many hundreds of years ago, local people from miles around said it looked like a ‘stump’ in the distance, & the name has stuck.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alan Bloomfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    311
    105
    44
    23
See reviews for
142
419
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wales, UK
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Old coaching inn which has been nicely renovated bang in the centre of Boston. Rooms can be a bit of a hike from the restaurant and there is no lift so elderly visitors need to be aware of this. Good food and pleasant staff. Free parking and nice outdoor terrace by river. Only dissapointment was the town of Boston. Beautiful Georgian town looking very run down with closing and closed shops, rough looking pubs, kebab joints and alcohol corner shops catering for the migrant workers on the huge fruit and veg farms in the area. The church is worth a visit as are the old docks but the place is on a downward slide that is not going to attract tourists sadly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardiardaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for you lovely review of our hotel. It is an old coaching inn & when we did the main refurbishment 8 years ago this month, we wanted to keep the traditional character within the hotel as well as adding the very needed modern touches. Unfortunately we do not have a lift & due to the age of the building & how it has been added on over the hundreds of years, there is no where we could put a lift that would service all floors.
Boston itself has had some major development just recently with the market square itself having a ‘make over’, a new foot bridge has also just been installed to replace the old wooden one & I believe there is more works due so hopefully future visitors & maybe yourself will see this in the near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Alan Bloomfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancs
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and found the whole experience very enjoyable. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful in all areas of the hotel. The food was very well presented and really tasty, the menu was varied and would appeal to most tastes. Breakfast was good, lots of variety. The bed was really comfy, the only thing we would say is that the carpets in the corridors need to be replaced as they are looking a little worse for wear, but having sad that would recommend this hotel if you are staying in Boston.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeybee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 3 day stay and I am very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay. My team enjoy helping our guests as much as possible so that their stay is as relaxing as possible.
I am delighted to confirm that we have new corridor carpets on order and these will be laid after the completion of the renovation and refurbishment works to our Riverside Restaurant, which was unfortunately, damaged during the December flooding. I do hope you will come back and visit us again and hopefully to enjoy the new surroundings of our refurbished restaurant.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alan Bloomfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this room at late notice whilst visiting a relative in hospital as the Premier Inn was fully booked. The only room available was an executive room at £105 for one night which is considerably more than we would normally pay for a town centre hotel.
I had asked for a ground floor room as on crutches following an operation but on arrival were told we were on first floor and no lift. Not an issue normally but this hotel has maze like corridors with lots of ups and downs and our room was at the far end.... A long slow walk on crutches but at least we escaped the bar noise experienced by some.
The room itself was nicely furnished and the bathroom appeared recently refurbished with coloured lights by the big bath tub and heated floor and a decent shower. We also had a view of the river (and a building site directly outside the window)
The bed was described as King sized and was indeed large but consisted of two singles pushed together so my partner spent the night laid on the uncomfortable gap; this was a a real disappointment.
In summary, a reasonable hotel but overpriced in my opinion and we didn't even have breakfast included in our rate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2478sammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I am sorry to hear that you had a relative in Pilgrim hospital and I hope they are now on the road to recovery.
The White Hart is an old coaching inn and as such we do not have any bedrooms on the ground floor which we do state on our website. All our bedrooms are accessed via our main staircase and as the building is over 300 years old, there are varying levels throughout the building. I am happy to report that the building site you mention has now been cleared as the local council have finished the new foot bridge over the river which is now in place to service the local community.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alan Bloomfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We went in as it was a birthday celebration and it is one of the best places in boston .We waited twenty minutes at the bar and the barman kept smirking as he continued to serve the men at the bar and ignored us , a group of sober ladies . In the end the men kindly said he was taking the mick and should serve us next at that point we were getting ready to go elsewhere ! My friend who's birthday celebration it was ordered a cocktail as they are lovely and we had already had one earlier , he said he was too busy so was unable to make a cocktail and we needed to order something else , we had a small drink and left . To be honest the whole customer service was appalling and im saddened that I now feel I will no longer recommend this establishment

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkshoes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
I was sorry to read that you felt that you got poor service in the Courtyard Bar on Friday evening, I am sure you will agree that it was a very busy evening, and we have not seen a Friday like it for a very long time. Unfortunately, one of our bar staff rang in sick that evening which put even more pressure on the team. I was covering reception that evening and provided help in the bar when & where possible. We would normally serve our full drinks menu at all times but with the exceptional circumstances, my food & beverage manager made the decision to serve our customers as quickly as possible & unfortunately, this meant not doing cocktails for a short time. Please be assured that this was a one off situation and I hope that it will not put you off from visiting us again.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alan Bloomfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Stopped off in Boston & popped into the bar for a meal. I opted for the sea bass with sautéed potatoes & was not disappointed. It was well presented with quick friendly efficient service & very tasty. For pudding I chose the chocolate fudge lumpy bumpy with ice cream off the specials board which was relatively nice although the ice cream was nothing to write home about. Will call again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for leaving us this lovely review. The team do work hard on delivering great service to our guests and it makes them happy when they see lovely reviews such as yours. All our food is prepared and cooked fresh to order and we use locally sourced ingredients were possible for quality & taste. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alan Bloomfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Constant improvement over many years has seen this hotel improve to me I really look forward to. Great bed, good size well appointed room with serviceable straightforward plumbing! There is always friendly competent service so I don't really notice what's going on. Best English breakfast I've had. There are however lots of stairs. I'll be back.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank fakeplasticrubberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for complimenting us on our beds & rooms. We constantly strive to keep our hotel looking its very best & we also like to re-invest within the business & replenish items such as beds & mattress as regularly as possible. Unfortunately due to the age of the building, we do not have a lift, next time you stay with us, please request a room on the first floor (subject to availability).

Kind Regards
General Manager
Alan Bloomfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
6.4 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
275 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boston
340 reviews
14.9 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
0.3 mi away
The New England Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Leagate Inn
The Leagate Inn
#1 of 1 in Coningsby
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Property: The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Address: 1 - 5 High Street, Boston PE21 8QD, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN White Hart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing