We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friends wedding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friends wedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The room we stayed in for a friends wedding was functional. The bed was a double but a small double we thought. The mattress was old and making lots of boing noises when ever we moved. The hotel has no lifts and lots of quirky corridors. We were on the top (3rd) floor, this hotel would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems. The windows are old metal frames and did nothing to block out the noise of being so close to town. Being a light sleeper it was 4am before the noise of the town revellers died down. The shower room was big enough the shower was powerful and plenty of hot water and fresh white towels. The room had tea coffee biscuits along with iron, ironing board hair dryer and plenty of power points.
The air conditioning in the function room was non existent! It got very hot and uncomfortable up there.The function room had its own bar which was good but the hotel in general was pricey. Wetherspoons over road proved that!
The breakfast was good. Cereals,fruit and juices to help yourself with a toaster with uncut bread only which kept catching fire and difficult to cut thin enough, sliced bread would be a better option but not available. Full English cooked to order. Staff very friendly and eager to help.
This hotel has it's own car park and is very central for town. We walked from the hotel to the registry office and to the stump so ideal location for wedding at either of those places. I would stay again if any other friends or family choose this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is great to hear that you had a good evening with us for your friend’s wedding.

We do benefit from having a location in the very centre of Boston, and being a lively town does unfortunately come with some drawbacks that are out of our control, and I am sorry to hear that you didn’t have the greatest night’s sleep.

You are correct that Wetherspoons is cheaper. However, we are a 3 star hotel and are able to offer a much better quality atmosphere.

We like to use all comments constructively, and since your review I am pleased to inform you that we have started offering the option of sliced bread as well, due to the issues you experienced.

Thank you for your comments about our quirky corridors, a lovely feature of our grade 2 listed building, and also regarding the team here, I am sure they will be delighted to read your comments about the service you received.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the White Hart in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    274
    86
    39
    20
See reviews for
127
377
38
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
344 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here as the other Boston Hotels all appear too far out of town.
The courtyard I approached the hotel from, after parking in the free car park, was pleasant enough & the receptionist was very welcoming.
My first floor room seemed to take ages to get to & it looked out over the front of the hotel; it was okay - the window seats were cool but the bed (only a double) was a bit smaller than I'm used to.
Good wi-fi & decent shower, but it lacked any indication which way was hot & as a result seemed to take ages to warm up.
Didn't eat dinner at the hotel, but the menu looked great & I would have dined in the cool looking al fresco area if it had been a bit warmer.
Breakfast was good, as was the service, the best part being that they offered a full veggie breakfast!!!
Overall very good, but a little pricey.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonny-Northerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the White Hart Hotel.
We do indeed benefit from not only a great location in the centre of Boston, but the hotel is really set off by the delightful setting alongside the River Witham, I hope this was a positive for your stay also.
It is a shame that your didn’t have a chance to dine with us as both our recently refurbished restaurant, and our al fresco dining patio area offer superb locations to eat, and our recently launched menu is proving very popular. Hopefully a future stay may lend time to sampling our dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here on the 14th June. Booked and exec room. Arrived early and the hotel were happy for us to check in early, very friendly staff and a great location. The room was fantastic with lots of space, lovely large comfortable bed and nicely decorated no complaints what so ever. We ate in the hotel restaurant and found the food very reasonably priced and very delicious, well done kitchen and front of house staff. Only wish the web site for this hotel told you when functions were on as the music went on till 00.30 and was a little disrupting but bearable. Overall great hotel, friendly staff and good food, will return. One suggestion replace the TV in room 101 as it turns itself off and back on, annoying when your watching a program.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank butts1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the White Hart Hotel.
It is always great to receive positive feedback, and it was a joy to read through the lovely comments you made.
I would like to apologise if you were not informed of the event that we had on, our reception teams try to inform all guests when they book if there are events on, and I’m sorry if this information was not forthcoming.
Your fantastic comments regarding the hotel, and the staff in particular are pleasurable to read, and I’m sure all of the team here will enjoy reading through them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Thank goodness I was staying only one night. The double room was small, furnishings tasteless, no tea/coffee making facilities and a shower that barely worked. The interior is in desperate need of refurbishment. On the plus side the bed was comfortable and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not live up to your expectations.
We have recently refurbished our bedrooms, with new carpets throughout, and there are tea and coffee making facilities in your room, which are conveniently located in the rooms, should you have mentioned your difficulty in finding them to our reception team, they would have been more than happy to locate them for you.
Thank you for your kind words about the team here, they will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been noticed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Book a family room, got a double with a small sofa bad with a very thin mattress on it & a quilt to match, our two teenage daughters did not want to share a small bed together so we took it & had the worst night sleep ever. The toilet did not flush very well, sound of running water most of the night.
The hotel is looking very dated, breakfast was good but did not make up for the bad night sleep we all had. We have stopped at Best western hotels before with no problems but would not stop at this one again & will think twice before booking a Best Western again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alun052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the White Hart Hotel.

I am disappointed to hear that your recent stay with us did not live up to your expectations.
I am also sorry to hear that you state you will not return, as I do believe that we have a great hotel to offer our guests, and if you were to give us another chance, you would see that we have a fantastic hotel, in a great listed building, and that our bar and restaurant facilities offer a relaxed dining experience with delicious food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We chose the hotel because it appears, thinly disguised as The Roebuck, in Colin Watson's Flaxborough books, which are set in an equally thinly-disguised Boston. The staff go out of their way to be helpful, our room was comfortable, the building is lovely, Georgian and just across the old bridge from the market square. The restaurant was good enough to draw us back for dinner on the second night of our stay. Minor reservations were that the interior as a whole looked tired and much in need of a significant referbishment, and the standard-quality rooms are not really up to modern, good hote standards. Major reservation was that I arrived late on a Sunday afternoon, ahead of my wife, to be told that the Superior room I had booked was one very thin floor/ceiling away from the bar in which a raucous and jolly Salsa Evening was scheduled to continue to midnight - and told that I would be able to hear conversations and glasses chinking whenever the music stopped. I was showed a disappointing ordinary room and it was only when I said I would find somewhere else that I was offered one of the two Executive (better than Superior) rooms which was a little further away. The salsa evening was very loud, and I speak as someone not ususally borrowed by noise and they had no business renting rooms above it at normal rates and without a warning. It turned out ok, but it left a sour taste, spoilling what would otherwise have been a notably good stay. The hotel also caters for weddings, and you should check what events are booked before booking.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for one of the premium rooms. Check there re on events scheduled which you will parti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyMcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the White Hart Hotel. It is great to hear that you chose the hotel because of cultural connections, although we aren’t sure of this link, it is always great to see different reason for people to visit.

I am sorry to hear of your issues regarding your room, it is our standard procedure to make our guests aware if they are staying in rooms near any function when booking, and I must apologise if this information was not forthcoming to yourself. I am pleased to hear that our Reception team were able to resolve your issues promptly by finding you one of our Executive rooms away from the function.

It is also with pleasure that I can say we are proactively refurbishing the hotel, and since your stay we have reopened our Riverside Restaurant after a 4 month refurbishment, and it is looking fantastic. I do hope you will revisit the White Hart Hotel and have a chance to dine in there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Boston Hotel
6.3 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The New England Hotel
14.9 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Property: The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Address: 1-5 High Street, Boston PE21 8SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN White Hart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing