We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil, warm welcome in the Fens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil, warm welcome in the Fens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hundreds of years old and I am sure expensive to maintain. They charge quite a lot (£105 for a small double with breakfast) but it serves to keep the fabric and decor of this hotel together. Staff most attentive and excellent food, though I was told by a local that the hotel's reputation for cuisine has varied. The variability now comes in the form of the menu which includes pub meals as well as things more exotic. You may have to wait for the food to be prepared, but it is worth waiting for. The rooms are simple, and our air conditioning in room 301 was limited to a fan in the wardrobe. This was just a one night business and pleasure trip, but I will return. Sleep was accompanied by the noise of seabirds and then military jets at breakfast, but it's all part of the charm and interest as a visitor. Mattress not the most comfortable for my bad back, and pillows not fresh and deep - little extra to improve what is good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnDE513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    283
    94
    40
    20
See reviews for
130
394
42
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My Mum and I enjoyed yet another excellent lunch here. Food is amazing and the service was very good. Lovely refurbishment following the flooding earlier this year and a great atmosphere. Good value for money and a hidden gem.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

There is a dearth of hotels in this area and so I stayed here on a recent business trip. Having previously experienced poor comfort locally I hung my hopes on one of the White Hart's 'executive rooms'. Alas room 110 that I was initially given had suicide windows that only opened a couple of inches, which, on one of the hottest days of the year boded badly. Then I realised this room was also directly above the extraction units from the kitchen; the noise, smell and heat of which was unacceptable. How could this be called 'executive' ? Give them their due they did then move me to a quieter room which had windows that actually opened when you had got through the initial layer of double glazing (which weirdly had a bath at the end of the bed, is this meant to be some kind of luxury?) but the wi fi didn't work in it, or indeed in most of the hotel, and so I couldn't do any work during the evening. They did try and fix it, which involved someone balancing on a chair in my bathroom trying to access the router in the loft for quite some time (this surely is an opportunity for some modernisation?) to no avail, really frustrating.
Drinks outside next to the river at low tide gave up a view of endless muddy smelly shores and was accompanied by a revolting corked glass of very old red wine. The barman then had to seek approval from another before being allowed to open a new bottle.
Breakfast the next day was in the hottest dining room you can imagine but when I asked about the air con I was told it was on a timer, finally the old fashioned alternative of an open window was allowed.
My 'please make sure my scrambled eggs are very soft and undercooked' request delivered a plate of what resembled a chopped up over cooked verging on the burnt omelette.
Worse of all they refill little Tiptree glass jars with cheaper versions of ketchup and brown sauce to try and make it look premium.
A colleague of mine was then asked to move on from sitting outside with a takeaway high street brand of coffee while he waited for our taxi even though he had been a guest.
The only thing missing from this place is the tumble weed rolling down the road outside. And no, I definitely won't be staying there again thank you.

Room Tip: Don't stay in 110, supposedly Executive, which has suicide windows that don't open properly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargazeypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is a lovely, quirky, historic hotel with a very good restaurant and an exceptionally helpful staff. We would use it again but avoid Fridays and Saturdays because neighbouring establishments, not under the hotel's control, have noisy bands and discos until the early hours. Despite this we really enjoyed our visiit

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Let's get the poor points out the way first! If you want premium prices then sorting out the finer details first - when you lift the toilet lid and look down if you need to use a bottle bleach to remove the staining and the a duster to remove the dust around the toilet roll holder do it ! If the TV and remote works when it feel likes - change it and when you ask for sauce at breakfast to be told we have run out( then run to the local shop and get some!! It called customer service!!) you pay half the price at the Premier inn with double the standards! The lack of some one in management checking the basic detail is open to question?? When corners are cut you get a build up and they come back to bite you. On the positive side the staff made you feel welcome and the bed gives a good nights sleep, the breakfast quality is good( pity about the condiments ) if I bought and paid for a Rolls Royce and they delivered a Skoda then ask yourself would you be happy???????

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The room we stayed in for a friends wedding was functional. The bed was a double but a small double we thought. The mattress was old and making lots of boing noises when ever we moved. The hotel has no lifts and lots of quirky corridors. We were on the top (3rd) floor, this hotel would be difficult for anyone with mobility problems. The windows are old metal frames and did nothing to block out the noise of being so close to town. Being a light sleeper it was 4am before the noise of the town revellers died down. The shower room was big enough the shower was powerful and plenty of hot water and fresh white towels. The room had tea coffee biscuits along with iron, ironing board hair dryer and plenty of power points.
The air conditioning in the function room was non existent! It got very hot and uncomfortable up there.The function room had its own bar which was good but the hotel in general was pricey. Wetherspoons over road proved that!
The breakfast was good. Cereals,fruit and juices to help yourself with a toaster with uncut bread only which kept catching fire and difficult to cut thin enough, sliced bread would be a better option but not available. Full English cooked to order. Staff very friendly and eager to help.
This hotel has it's own car park and is very central for town. We walked from the hotel to the registry office and to the stump so ideal location for wedding at either of those places. I would stay again if any other friends or family choose this location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BulldogHotelGroup, Manager at The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review.

It is great to hear that you had a good evening with us for your friend’s wedding.

We do benefit from having a location in the very centre of Boston, and being a lively town does unfortunately come with some drawbacks that are out of our control, and I am sorry to hear that you didn’t have the greatest night’s sleep.

You are correct that Wetherspoons is cheaper. However, we are a 3 star hotel and are able to offer a much better quality atmosphere.

We like to use all comments constructively, and since your review I am pleased to inform you that we have started offering the option of sliced bread as well, due to the issues you experienced.

Thank you for your comments about our quirky corridors, a lovely feature of our grade 2 listed building, and also regarding the team here, I am sure they will be delighted to read your comments about the service you received.

We do hope to be able to welcome you back to the White Hart in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boston
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Boston Hotel
6.4 mi away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
3.6 mi away
Boston West Hotel
Boston West Hotel
#3 of 6 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The New England Hotel
14.9 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
16.5 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House

Property: The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
Address: 1-5 High Street, Boston PE21 8SH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN White Hart Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House Boston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing