We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to be welcomed back”

Brewers Fayre Burton House
Ranked #30 of 163 Restaurants in Boston
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice to be welcomed back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We have been here a few times now on the way up to skeggy,staying at the premier inn next door. We get up there sunday lunchtime and spend the afternoon at the bar relaxing, if you know what I mean! I was so "relaxed" last time I had to have a little nap by half four, which is handy when you have a nice comfy bed 50 yards away! Anyway, again we were well looked after by ryan,matt and the crew, couldn't do enough for us throughout our time there, from making sure we always had a beer to making sure we had enough to eat at breakfast. In the evening we didn't fancy a big meal so we had a share for 2 starter platter, and a desert to share for two,which we enjoyed but its pretty simple stuff so cant really comment on the main meals.Breakfast was nice (sausages were really tasty,by the way)and as much as you would like, its standard fayre but you know its not The ivy so you pay for what you get. Great hospitality as always, and yeah,they hadn't run out of stella! Thanks guys see you in October.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    162
    94
    44
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“not the usual standard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We usually enjoy a good meal at "The Burton" but visited last week with a 95 yr old relative for lunch. We arrived early to avoid any rush but still had to wait quite a long time. Unfortunately the three meals (which were not off the "Two for Ten") menu were all disappointing. The gammon was small and as the customer didn't want peas with it the plateful of gammon & chips was very uninspiring - even a bit of salad relish would have helped but there was none of this. The fish pie which is a new addition was very poor and watery and the third dish which was fish and chips was not up to the usual standard.

Something definitely seems to have changed as we have used this restaurant for years and the standard seems to have gone down :-(

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have had quite a few meals here. The mixed grill is lovely and well priced. We also went last Wednesday and had the burger and hot dog theme night. The only draw back was the 20min wait for a table. Would suggest you book, as extremely busy, which is good for business.
The staff are very polite and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 55ang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very busy but very efficient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We visited here on Friday 27th June at around lunchtime. We could tell it was busy from the lack of spaces in the car park. On entering we were greeted by a very friendly lady who took our party details and advised us there was about a 15 minute wait for a table. She handed us a pager and explained what to do so we got a drink from the bar. Within about 5 minutes we were paged and seated in the quiet dining area. We were dealt with efficiently and we felt important to them. Although they were extremely busy (they had a large funeral party in I believe) the staff were efficient friendly and gave us prompt polite service. Nothing was too much trouble. We felt welcome and not rushed. The food was delicious and arrived in good time. We were too full for a desert but the cabinet in which they were displayed looked fabulous. We'll done Burton House. Delivered excellent service, good food and friendly staff in what looked like an extremely busy time for you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jackpotgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Visited here on a mid sunday afternoon, started off ok, although most tables were reserved found a table, ordered at the bar with a member of staff who was very polite.

That's as good as it got....
The food is standard microwave type "8 minute" wetherspoons style food but we were on our way back from a long morning so didn't mind this.. however to wait over 40 minutes for our main meals was simply too long! I wouldn't have minded so much should the food have been "home cooked" but Brewers Fayre is definitely NOT this!

After the long wait we then received our meals, one of which totally not what we ordered!!!
not sure how wrong you can get these very basic meals and orders so wrong. Spoke to a waitress and explained that we had waited over 40 minutes and now the food has arrived its wrong! she did apologise but then it took another 5 minutes for my partners meal to arrive. Just not good enough I am afraid!

I have to say as a local Lincolnshire couple we won't be returning nor recommending, if anything will be warning others not to visit this dreadful place!

Save your money and find another pub/restaurant.. Barley Mow at Friskney do lovely meals! and fresh and home cooked!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brewers Fayre Burton House also viewed

 
Boston, Lincolnshire
Boston, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Burton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing