We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Long weekend stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Comfy Sofas in the Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfy Sofas in the Lounge
Anvil Cottage Anvil Cottage from the rear, the Summer House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Comfy Sofas in the Lounge
Anvil Cottage
Anvil Cottage from the rear, the Summer House
Dining in the Kitchen
Lounge Fireplace
Anvil's welcoming fire after a walk on the wolds !
Lovely Twin Room
A very comfy bed in the King Room
Anvil Garden
Outside Seating
One of our gorgeous rare breed Lincoln Red girls!
Our lovely rare breed Lincoln Longwools!
Grimblethorpe Hall Grounds
Grimblethorpe Hall - Anvil is located in the grounds.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Louth, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sonkal
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Long weekend stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This was our fourth stay at Grimblethorpe Hall and our first in The Anvil. Andy is very friendly and approachable and made us feel at home immediately. The Anvil is clean, spacious and very well equipped. There were four in our party plus a Jack Russell and we all had a relaxing and very enjoyable stay over 4 days. We would thoroughly recommend Grimblethorpe Hall to anyone and it is our number one choice in the area.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2018
Thank you for your review and kind words. Nicola, myself and the team here at Grimblethorpe Hall really appreciate the feedback knowing that our guests have had a great stay with us. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile. Its our shared team goal to become the first choice for guests wanting to stay in the Lincolnshire Wolds - so thank you for letting us know that for you we are ! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Have a great Summer ! Best wishes Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
1 Jul 2018
Maureen

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in Anvil Cottage. Thank you for the kind feedback. We hope to see you again sometime soon. Best wishes Andy & Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
trevordaw...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another perfect stay at Grimblethorpe Hall”
Reviewed 13 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This was my second stay at Grimblethorpe Hall, my first stay in Anvil Cottage. Perfect. Spotlessly clean, well furnished and very spacious. The location is very good for all the attractions Lincolnshire has to offer. No complaints here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2018
It was great to greet you again Trevor and pleased you enjoyed your stay in The Anvil. Would love to greet you again in the future, maybe to one of our other cottages and hopefully you could get your visit to the Bomber Command Visitor centre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smith_A_S...
1 review
“Superb Holiday Accommodation”
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just had a fantastic stay in Anvil Cottage; it is spacious, spotlessly clean and so comfortable. The large living area has exposed beams and a traditional feel, while the bedrooms are down the corridor so feel nice and private. The kitchen/dining area is modern and equipped with everything you need The owners, Andy and Nicola, are on hand if you need suggestions of good places to visit and Louth is only a few miles away for the shops. You can get to the coast or to Lincoln in about half an hour so it’s a great location for a family holiday too.
I wish that we could have stayed longer at Grimblethorpe Hall; the grounds are lovely and the cottage is superb. We will definitely go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay - thank you for the kind feedback. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“WE ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT!!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a magnificent haven of peace and tranquility. We had a wonderful stay in Anvil Cottage. Thank you for such a superb break. We REALLY didn't want to leave. Our heartfelt thanks to Nicola and Andy, incredible hosts, the story behind their venture is a fascinating one and we wish you all the luck in the world for even greater success. The tour of the farm was the icing on the cake, we had always hoped to stay on a working farm and stumbled across Grimblethorpe Hall by accident - best "mistake" we ever made! We couldn't have asked for more, totally wonderful experience. When we asked our children if they would give it one thumb or two thumbs up - they said 110 - need we say more?! Go see for yourself..... but don't tell anyone else, shhhhh!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
That is some review! We are so pleased you all enjoyed it so much and very pleased you stumbled upon us too you were great guests. Hopefully you will be able to come and visit us again! Best Wishes - All at Grimblethorpe Hall Country Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pet and child friendly, all on ground floor, spacious but warming cosy.”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Cottage has everything you need for a lovely relaxing stay. Really warm and welcoming, fab for children who can visit the farm animals, and even help to feed them. Great for families with young or older children, choice of DVD's to suit everyone if the weather keeps you indoors. Lovely size kitchen and great outdoor space too.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2017
Many thanks for your great review.
We are pleased you had a fabulous time, especially on the farm, Andy enjoys sharing his passion with the children, although I think the adults secretly enjoy it just as much!
Hope to see you again soon!
Best Wishes - All at Grimblethorpe Hall Country Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing