We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splash out at the royal oak”

Royal Oak Inn-The Splash
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Oak Inn-The Splash
Ranked #9 of 18 Louth B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“splash out at the royal oak”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

just one word. "excellent" in every respect. very clean in all areas. good value food

Room Tip: room 6 has comfy settee
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    21
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
29
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Just back from a 2 night stay at this delightful Hotel
We had taken all the rooms for Sunday Night and most for the Monday as we were all attending a Trackday at the nearby Cadwell Park Circuit.
As titled I really couldn't fault the place
They catered well for a table of 20+ Sunday Night , an extra early breakfast on Monday morning and again a large table on Monday evening
One room lost its Hot Water and this problem was quickly resolved
Its staff were welcoming and helpful
and a cracking price too boot

WE WILL BE BACK ;o)

Essex Trackday Crew
Official Car Catcher

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilSIDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

On arrival you drive though a ford of water (depending on your route) and are greated by peaceful surroundings.

The pub itself offers reasonably priced food (piping hot and delicious deserts) and drinks.

The beer garden was clean, relaxing and a real sun trap. There are also different themed nights for food and service was attentive (although they could have offered us more drinks when we finished our originals).

The main bar and restraurant are seperated and staff were very welcoming.
In addition, this is only a short drive from Kenwick Park.

Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Rooms are comfortable & Clean, Liked the exposed beams.
The location of the Inn - a car is a must as it is Secluded which can be a good thing.
breakfast lunches & dinners are all equally good.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRUTH_SEEKER_EIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed at the Royal Oak Inn for 2 nights as we were going to a wedding at a golf club close by. The is a very unique place as you have to drive through some water to get there, hence the nickname "The Splash". The grounds are immaculate and there are many different areas of the inn to eat and drink in. This is a very popular place as a group of old cars showed up one day unannounced and it made it a lot of fun for the guests. We would highly recommend this place to any.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln UK
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Lovely setting, unwelcoming landlady, poor service, could easily be so much better.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkLincolnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Louth hotels

Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

WOW
A big thanks to all the guys and girls at the Royal Oak
we checked in early afternoon into a lovely room
no 6
which had a big king size bed large sofa TV tea coffee and plenty of space within the room
the bathroom had a shower and big fluffy towels
the room was also very quiet
we went for a walk before dinner and the surrounding area was very pretty.
We had a drink in the bar which had a good local atmosphere and decided to eat in the restaurant which was very busy.
We ate locally caught fish and Steak which were both cooked to perfection.
After a good nights sleep we enjoyed a really good breakfast.
Would not hesitate to recommend this little gem hidden away off the main roads.

  • Liked — The size of the bedroom was above average
  • Disliked — no wi fi
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louth
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
4.4 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
2.9 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Admiral Rodney Hotel, Eatery & Coffee House
3.0 mi away
Manby house
Manby house
#5 of 12 in Louth
42 reviews
3.3 mi away
West View B&B
West View B&B
#1 of 1 in South Cockerington
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Inn-The Splash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn-The Splash

Property: Royal Oak Inn-The Splash
Address: Watery Lane | Little Cawthorpe, Louth, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Louth
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Inn-The Splash 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Inn (The Splash) Hotel Louth
Royal Oak Inn-The Splash Louth, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing