We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very comfortable bed and breakfast”
Review of The Pack Horse

The Pack Horse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pack Horse
Ranked #16 of 18 Louth B&B and Inns
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very comfortable bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the twin room which was very comfortable. Everywhere was clean and the breakfast which was downstairs in the american diner was more than ample. We had eaten here the evening before and were more than happy with the menu choice and quality of food. Would recommend as the b & b is in the middle of the village of Louth with quite a few places near to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SANDRA503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    15
    10
    8
    15
See reviews for
16
36
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West midlands
Level Contributor
171 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed here on 3rd July 2012 and were very surprised to watch Four in a Bed in the evening when who should be on the channel 4 programme was the Pack Horse Louth.
We stayed in room 3 which is a twin room and quiet, it had a newly refurbished bathroom and was very comfortable, Not the best of views from the bedroom window overlooking a wall but that was not a problem The morning breakfast with fresh strawberries and rashberries and cooked breakfast was excellent as were our hosts Wendy and John The market town of Louth has plenty of individual shops selling fresh and home cooked foods.

Room Tip: Room 3 was a twin and quiet at the back,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Stayed in the Pack Horse for one night on a business trip and was impressed with both the quality of the accomodation and the price. The bedroom was large, clean and warm with really comfortable beds. The staff were friendly and efficient and provided me with a full run down of the facilities in the town including the restaurants. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed on Mondays so I was unable to sample the food but if breakfast was anything to go by then I'm sure it would be excellent.
Will certainly stay here again if in the area!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadking12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWINDON WILTSHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed for 2 nights March 2012 as husband booked for track day at Cadwell Park. Choose the Pack Horse as it was the nearest to the circuit - 5 miles. Family room beautifully clean with lovely fresh towels and plenty of hot water. Good coffee and tea making facilities. The bed was the most comfortable I have slept in while away.
The diner served good food so no need to go out to eat, breakfast excellent, ask for the scrambled eggs, really fluffy.
Was a little uncertain about the parking when we arrived as we had a trailer complete with bike on board to negotiate but once we had unhitched it and rolled it into a corner, there was no problems. Seems that people do use the carpark when they go into Louth so may be an idea to put a barrier across so patrons only can park up, would imagine it gets very busy during the spring/summer months.
On the whole, a really good find and we will definitely stay there again. The owners are very friendly and helpful and took the time to ask if we had enjoyed the track day. What more could you ask for, a real gem.

Room Tip: Front rooms may be noisy as look over high street, if you want quiet, then perhaps book a room at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WILTS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Bees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed at the Packhorse in February, and quite apart from good value, very clean and pleasant accommodation, the thing that topped off time in the lovely market town of Louth were the hosts. Wendy and John are just lovely, attentive hosts who also run a great american diner underneath the B&B. If you want bland and impersonal don't come here - BUT if you want somewhere where the people add the icing on the cake of a really good b&b, then this is a great place to come! I'd go back any day knowing that there would be a warm welcome, and good, nicely furnished room where the bathroom is just top notch! Great to have dinner in Smokey Joes, but equally I know that they would come up with recommendations if looking for any different style of cuisine for a change - now that's service! Really enjoyed my time, and look forward to coming back soon. Thanks John and Wendy - Kate xx

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Don't generally want to post on sites such as this, but feel the business is worthy of my making the effort. Host's style is best described as easy going, but I mean this most positively. He's easy to engage, but neither officious or in your face. The property is as it is, and the rooms are above the diner. Any noise though, ended early, and the room was very comfortable. I was surprised at the quality of the food. American themed diner not naturally to my taste, but it was pleasant enough.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noah105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary, probably the nicest, family run place we have been too. Steve, Wendy and John couldn't do enough to help us, the room was stunning, incredibly clean and nothing was too much trouble, from booking us a fantastic restaurant, to the wonderful advise about the area. John's breakfast the next morning was amazing, the diner is great fun and the food of the highest standard. We WILL definately go back. An absolutely gem of a place. Thanks guys for your hospitality. Darren and Kate Bristow.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louth hotels
0.5 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
West View B&B
West View B&B
#1 of 1 in South Cockerington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
8.7 mi away
Wickham House
Wickham House
#14 of 18 in Louth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
4.2 mi away
Manby house
Manby house
#6 of 12 in Louth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Property: The Pack Horse
Address: 65 - 67 Eastgate, Louth LN11 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Louth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pack Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Packhorse is situated in Louth town centre in close proximity to all local amenities and attractions. We are a lively sports bar showing both Sky Sports and BT Sports. Most Fridays we have Karaoke night. The noise from the bar below can be heard in hotel rooms at weekends, although our superior double room is at the back of the building which offers a quieter night. We try to accommodate everyone so if you have any special requirements please do not hesitate to call and speak with the manager who will be happy to help. Pets are considered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Pack Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse Louth, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing