We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Cadwell Park”
Review of The Pack Horse

The Pack Horse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pack Horse
Ranked #17 of 20 Louth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in the family room as we had booked late.Excellent room,very comfortable and clean.The breakfast was excellent.Definately booking for next years racing.

Lively bar/restaurant but this ended fairly early and didnt interfear with our sleep.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room to the back of the hotel but it still was a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choppers149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

I am only down the road in Grimsby but decided to stay over while attending a wedding at the nearby Kenwick Park Hotel.I know Louth reasonably well and the 'Pack Horse' is ideally located in the town centre.Although this is a traditional building dating back quite some time the interior is a nice blend of both new and old and the rooms are of a high standard with an en-suite.
The 'Pack Horse' is a B and B,restaurant and a lively pub and is very close to all the main local nightspots which for a town of Louths size are very smart and very lively,I will definately stay here again and would highly recommend it and Louth in general.They also offer a wide range of breakfasts and the staff are very friendly and obliging.

Room Tip: Always take your time and use this site as a guide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesbluemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed in the family room overnight for a wedding recently. The room was very clean, beds very comfortable, lovely modern design (look at the website photos) and plenty big enough for a family of four. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the diner was lovely and there was plenty to eat! My mum also stayed in the single room. This room was also plenty big enough, very clean, modern and for all of us, did not feel like you were staying in a B&B!

One negative I would mention is that in the morning, as these two rooms look out onto the road, any early morning deliveries can be heard as there is not double glazing. It may be an idea that there is part frosting put on the lower half of the windows so you can stay in bed or get changed with the curtains open during the day. Plus the card machine didnt work for Halifax cards when I paid but, the bank has said this was their machine at fault as it should have - so to avoid embarrassment, pay with money if you have a Halifax account!

Overall I would definately go back here with my family and would definately recommend to others!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellieu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the double room, very comfortable and clean. The owners and staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were excellent! We ate in the diner the first night and in their pub restaurant the second; very different but both good quality food and choice. The whole experience was very satisfactory and good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I stayed here for one night when I had a job interview in town. I booked the room a day or two in advance but when I arrived nobody was there. The B&B is on top of a restaurant, which was closed that day and a note was stuck on the door with a number to ring. I kept ringing but nobody picked up. It was past 6pm and nobody was about in the streets, all shops shut. I then walked down the road to a chippy that was still open and asked whether there was anything I could do. They advised me to go up into town and try one of the pubs as the owners of the restaurant/B&B also run that. So I went there but it was also shut. I then decided to just wait outside and keep calling the number. Eventually, someone picked up and came to let me in.

As I was traveling on my own I had booked a single and was pleasantly surprised when I got a large twin room. The room itself had obviously been recently furnished, the bathroom was spotless and lovely. The bed was very comfy! The room also came with wifi (which unfortunately stopped working at some point that evening) and a cooked breakfast the next morning.

Overall, a good place to stay but I would have rated it higher had the internet not stopped working and had they actually answered their phone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austrian_sonja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Just got back from a weekend away to Louth.Gorgeous place, very friendly and the accommodation was superb. Very clean, comfy beds and superb ensuite. Owners very friendly and the breakfast was superb!! We will definately return in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights in the twin room which was very comfortable. Everywhere was clean and the breakfast which was downstairs in the american diner was more than ample. We had eaten here the evening before and were more than happy with the menu choice and quality of food. Would recommend as the b & b is in the middle of the village of Louth with quite a few places near to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SANDRA503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louth hotels
1.7 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
0.5 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Kings Head
The Kings Head
#4 of 20 in Louth
83 reviews
4.2 mi away
Manby house
Manby house
#5 of 13 in Louth
45 reviews
3.3 mi away
West View B&B
West View B&B
#1 of 1 in South Cockerington
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pack Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pack Horse

Address: 65 - 67 Eastgate, Louth LN11 9PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louth
Price Range: £68 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pack Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Packhorse is situated in Louth town centre in close proximity to all local amenities and attractions. We are a lively sports bar showing both Sky Sports and BT Sports. Most Fridays we have Karaoke night. The noise from the bar below can be heard in hotel rooms at weekends, although our superior double room is at the back of the building which offers a quieter night. We try to accommodate everyone so if you have any special requirements please do not hesitate to call and speak with the manager who will be happy to help. Pets are considered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Pack Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pack Horse Louth, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing