We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't change a thing.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Priory Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Priory Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Louth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't change a thing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A small, inexpensive Hotel in a Sleepy market Town -

It's a lovely thing in life when your expectations are exceeded, we booked a couple of rooms at the Priory over the Mothers day weekend to take my Mum back to the Town in which she spent her early years.
We arrived at the Priory to be be met by Paul who immediately made us feel at ease explaining the informality of the evening ahead (we had chosen to eat at the Hotel) and how the meal would progress.
After a quick freshen up we enjoyed a Gin & Tonic at the Bar served by Rosie & Daniel who were to be our hosts for the evening and the meal began, a three hour journey sampling some of the most carefully and imaginatively prepared food I have ever eaten, all courses explained by our hosts.
Nothing pretentious, nothing overly grand just great quality food prepared very well and served in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere.
Amazing value with some well priced wines to accompany.

Most definitely a feel good place driven by the passion and desire of people that really do care for other people.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goosedj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    33
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
58
119
12
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hotel ..quirky and unusual.. Staff so.friendly and make you feel so welcomed. Food was outstanding and enjoyed the taster menu. The food was presented so nicely in unusual imaginative ways. Small amounts but so many courses you become full..Really.enjoyed our stay and all the staff deserve recognition..thanks for a fab meal and stay. :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloobloo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful dining experience! The chef and owner comes out to discuss his thoughts on the menu and is warm and welcoming. The staff are lovely and friendly and the menu is pure genius. Having driven all the way from Kent to try this place, surely this is worthy of a Michelin soon? It is great food and in London you would play 4x the price for the same lineup. Masterful and will return! Thank you so much for a wonderful evening!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lofthouses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My partner and I spent a couple of nights in this deliciously individual hotel. Paul, the owner and chef is a great character and he and his staff could not have been more welcoming. On the first night, we opted to eat at the hotel and experience the taster menu. It was delicious, varied, surprising and, at times, intentionally funny! In short, it was a delight and, if you stay at this hotel, do yourself a favour and book to eat in. Paul is a great chef.

Our double-aspect room (number 12) was lovely and the four-poster bed very comfortable indeed. The bathroom was spacious and the water jet bath exhilarating :-) The tea and coffee facilities were good and the supplied biscuits very tasty indeed.

If we visit Louth again, we'll stay and eat at The Priory. It's a top place and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We loved our stay in room number 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcvtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Our second visit in 6 weeks says it all.The Serendipity restaurant at the Priory Hotel has 95 out of 101 reviews as excellent or very good for a reason.Paul is an owner chef who is extremely passionate about food and the experience of relaxed socialising at his venue.What many do not know before they book is that Paul not only provides taste sensations ( 3 or 4 appetisers before the seven courses and numerous palate cleansers in between ) but he also provides opportunities for young people to work that would find it hard to be employed elsewhere.From Jamie who will meet you with an umbrella if its raining to Daniel who helps serve you get undivided attention and a true wish to make your night.Their enthusiasm and eagerness to please knows no bounds. If this was Jamie he would get great PR and even funding ! Some reviews mention the cost but with so many courses each one is less than a Big Mac and please open your mind to a different kind of service as this place deserves to be full every night - Good Luck to Paul and his wonderful Team.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent a lovely evening & night where the Manager was most helpful & accommodating, nothing was too much trouble for our requests. He has a very good team working with him. We plan to return later in the year

Room Tip: If you have a soring husband, chose room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at The Priory Hotel last weekend for a welcome break from the Christmas madness, we wanted something a little more relaxed away from the frantic pace of everyday life. This was our third stay at The Priory, and we were not let down. The hotel is full of character, always welcoming and friendly. It's in a great location, leave you car in the carpark and wander into Louth, which is full of lovely shops and cafes.
Paul (owner/chef) is so passionate about what he does, his Linconshire tasting menu is a real treat for the tastebuds. Perfect food and service in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleprincess1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louth
1.7 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kenwick Park Hotel
0.4 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
21.9 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Dovedale Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Hotel

Property: The Priory Hotel
Address: 149 Eastgate, Louth LN11 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Louth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the market town of Louth in Lincolnshire this fantastic Grade II listed building dates back to 1818. It is the perfect place to stay and relax or enjoy a special meal. Located on Louth's Eastgate The Priory Hotel and Serendipity Restaurant is just a five minute walk from Louth's famous market town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Priory Hotel Louth, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing