We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid !!!!”
Review of The Green Man

The Green Man
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Green Man
Ranked #18 of 20 Louth B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Upon opening the door to the bar the first thing to greet you is the Doberman sniffing you up and down, the second is the smell of cigarette smoke along with the thin blue line just under the ceiling. Dark , dingy with a TV blaring away in the corner.
My twin room was very cramped even though I was on my own, very dusty with hairs from the previous occupant still in evidence. No lock on the door and just a mobile hanging rail for clothes. The room smelt musty along with the smell of stale cigarette smoke this was a general theme throughout the building.
The grandfather clock on the landing chiming every 15mins throughout the night does not give for a good night's sleep !
The shared bathroom was cluttered with several other people’s toiletries etc,
The owner was surly rude and disagreeable

BIG MISTAKE, QUITE SIMPLY A PLACE TO BE AVOIDED !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 30 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Called in after a walk the other evening. Only one bar, dimly lit, the other in total darkness. Place smelled of dog, not surprising as the owner's doberman was sprawled across the floor. Landlord made rude remarks to my wife when she couldn't find the 'ladies', then he had an argument with his wife. All this, and the television blaring away. We felt as if we were intruding in someone's sitting room.
Should have known not to visit, as nothing had changed since our visit last year – except a different programme on TV.
And people actually spend the night there?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louthrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Forewarned is forearmed, rooms within the family accommodation no locks on rooms, shared bathroom!! closes at 11.00pm doors locked then!! we did not even stay there!!
In my opinion avoid if at all possible :-(
,

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank HelenBinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Greeted at the pub door by a huge doberman dog jumping up and putting its paws on our shoulders, we were led behind the bar and up to the room.

The room doors do not have locks and inside they are a reasonable size but not very clean - lots of dust behind objects and the odd cigarette burn in the sheets.

The bathroom is shared by all residents and the owners. It's very tired looking (not dirty) and is rammed with hundreds of bottles of shampoo, gels, mouthwash etc all belonging to the owners. Nice touch having the owners toothbrushes clogging up any usable space by the sink and I decided to not risk the shower.

Plus point...food was ok - a good portion and nice tasting.
Bad point...the doberman spent the whole time we were eating our food hanging-around looking for scraps. If a chip dropped on the floor then the dog was under there.

Owner/ barman was very surly. He liked to have a few drinks himself but never exchanged more than a few words when conversation was attempted.

Terrible value for money. Avoid !

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louth hotels
9.0 mi away
West View B&B
West View B&B
#1 of 1 in South Cockerington
19 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
7.3 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
253 reviews
8.9 mi away
Manby house
Manby house
#6 of 13 in Louth
45 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Pack Horse
The Pack Horse
#17 of 20 in Louth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Man

Address: Old Main Road | Scamblesby, Louth LN11 9XG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Louth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Green Man Louth, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing