We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quietest place on earth?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Louth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Three Horseshoes
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Louth
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The silence was quite deafening. Cheers to Ian the owner for making our family so welcome and allowing me to park the horse box. Campsite was immaculate. Superb showers (if only two), very up market. The location is amazing. So beautiful. The pub had a good selection of drinks but the food is almost to die for. My missus is a fussy eater. Recommend the hunters chicken and the fish. Loved it so much. Small enough to get to know all your other campers. Delightful!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Elmo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Had three nights camping at this wonderful pub and campsite. Showers free and immaculate. Enjoyed toasting our marshmallows over a proper campfire. Ian was an outstanding host. We ate in the pub one night and the food was excellent. The surrounding countryside is stunning. A fabulous short break that we all thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kato29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review (especially a nice one) and really glad your enjoyed your stay with us. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

What a great place to stay, we'll kept, good food in the pub. would recommend to anyone.
The campsite was very good, staff friendly and helpful, nothing to much trouble. The caravan was comfortable, looked at the tent, beautiful, will try that next time, will definitely be back.


Room Tip: We stayed in the caravan, was adequate for what we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. Denise, my wife, is responsible for the caravan and had to argue her case for doing a makeover on a 1970s caravan to create the funky caravan it is today. Its proved really popular. so I am glad you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Every year a group of 10-12 of us get together and go camping around the UK. Our only pre-requisites is that it must allow camp fires.

I did some searching and came across the 3 Horsehoes through Go Camping UK. Once I had read that it allowed camp fires and a pub on site I knew we had to try this place.

My husband and I arrived first and received a lovely warm welcome from the owner. He showed us around the site, explained the facilities (which included lovely modern toilets with shower cubicles, wash basin - all with nice hot water, fire pits at £12 and even a shop for all those other bits and pieces you forget).

The site itself was a good cosy size which meant that our group took over about half of the site. For those who prefer a little something extra there was a caravan to rent and a gorgeous Lotus Belle tent which is fully furnished with beds, a wood burning stove, kitchenette etc.

The atmosphere was really laid back which was brilliant. We certainly picked the best weekend for the weather as it was so sunny. The down side to that was that when we arrived and put up the tents we were suddenly invaded by hundreds of flies. Fortunately the on site shop sold fly spray and they weren't a problem any more!

On the second day we went 15 minutes drive down the road to Mablethorpe to a fab little ice cream parlour with goats to feed.

We then returned to the camp site and went for a walk up the road to a lovely little ford to dip our toes (literally as it was only a couple of inches deep).

That night we ordered food in the pub which was served quickly and tasted brilliant. A few of us stayed in the pub and played pool and had a few drinks.

All in all the whole stay was just perfect - with great facilities and the kind of host you really hope for! This was without a doubt the best camp site we have all stayed at together. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Note - If you are a light sleeper I would recommend ear plugs for the dawn chorus from the hundreds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerendipityUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review us and really pleased you and your friends and children enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Don't tell too many people about this lovely pub and small campsite set in tranquil settings in the Lincolnshire Wolds - best we have found! It is an Ideal location for caravaners with small vans and tenters. Excellent all round.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caravanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian P, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

No, please do tell everyone! Thanks for your review and glad your enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We have just spent the most excellent week camping at the Three Horseshoes in Goulceby. It is a tiny campsite with approximately 10 pitches. It is in a very quiet, picturesque village location. The site is run by Denise, Ian and their daughter Lizzie.

The site and pub are very dog and children friendly. The toilets and showers are very clean and there is unlimited hot water. The showers are powerful and free.

The pub has a limited but very well cooked menu and they serve good ale too!

We were always made very welcome not only by the staff but also by some of the local clientele.

We cannot recommend this site enough and we are looking forward to return visits.

Jane, Ron and Bubbles the dog

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Louth hotels
10.0 mi away
West View B&B
West View B&B
#1 of 1 in South Cockerington
19 reviews
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwick Park Hotel
7.9 mi away
Brackenborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
253 reviews
10.2 mi away
Manby house
Manby house
#6 of 13 in Louth
45 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Pack Horse
The Pack Horse
#17 of 20 in Louth
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Horseshoes

Address: Shoe Lane, Louth LN11 9WA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Louth
Hotel Class:3 star — The Three Horseshoes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Horseshoes is in the heart of the Lincolnshire Wolds Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty just three miles from Cadwell Park Motor Racing circuit.We are a character rural pub and campsite business offering excellent locally sourced food and a small campsite which also benefits from some glamping accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Three Horseshoes Louth, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing