We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, high quality accommodation.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mill Stream Barn

Mill Stream Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mill Stream Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Mill Stream Barn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Louth, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Liz H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect, high quality accommodation.”
Reviewed 16 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This barn conversion situated in Donington on Bain near Louth is an absolute treasure. We have holidayed in many places around the country and we do favour barn conversions. We've stayed in some wonderful examples so we have high standards to meet! The Mill Stream Barn, however, leaves the competition standing. It really is the best place we have stayed in to date.

The design and layout have been carefully planned with such attention to detail as to make it a dream to move around in. After being wowed by the initial appearance of the beautiful flagstone flooring, high airy ceiling and wooden staircase leading to little mezzanine book nook and bedroom, we started to see more and more evidence of the loving care taken to design and equip the barn.

There is underfloor heating throughout, which made our February stay unbelievably cosy and comfortable. The kitchen stands off the living area with a little dining space adjacent which works perfectly. The units are gorgeous, and big Belfast sink and washing machine and dishwasher included making this a highly functional yet compact little kitchen. The crockery is beautiful, and the kitchen itself lacks nothing you could need for your stay.

The bathrooms both have underfloor heating and heated towel rails, powerful piping hot showers and one very generously sized bath. Provided are thick, fluffy towels and face cloths, and some complimentary accessories which came in very useful.

The beds are incredibly comfortable, thanks to quality mattresses and bedding. Ample cupboard space is provided and the twin room is carpeted while the double has two lovely thick rugs to compliment the heated floor and ensure toes stay toastie.

If you are not a dog lover and are worried that a pet friendly place might have a "doggy" aroma, rest assured we could not detect any smells at all, our hosts obviously look after and clean the place very well!

Richard greeted us on arrival. He was very friendly and helpful, and put us at ease immediately.
To complete our welcome, we were greeting with a basket of lovely fresh treats including a bloomer, Kerrigold butter and orange marmalade.

To top it all, the location is beautiful, surrounded with lovely countryside, complete with the Viking way on the doorstep and Biscathorpe, Louth and Lincoln not too far away.

We have no hesitation in booking this gorgeous place again, hopefully very soon.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
We are delighted that you had such a great time and many thanks for the wonderful review! We hope to see you again soon.

Richard & Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillyandM...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding Dog Friendly Accomodation”
Reviewed 14 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The Barn itself is truly beautiful, and kitted out in such as way as to make your stay a most wonderful relaxing time. There was absolutely nothing to worry about and the owners made you feel so welcome. To find such stunning accomodation that welcomes dogs is a godsend and would recommend this holiday let to everyone with or without doggies. There is a small stream running at the foot of the garden and it was so nice to sit out and watch the duck and her chicks. Luckily our dogs don't like water so didn't disturb them. Can honestly say it was hard to leave such a lovely place but we will definitely be back, especially as they have just finished their second renovation of the old Milking Parlour so could bring along family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thanks Gilly and Mike for your lovely review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. We can report the Milking Parlour and the ducklings are making good progress!!

Richard And Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrivatePi...
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Luxury and peace - the perfect holiday rental”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to the Lincolnshire Wolds - but wont be the last. Especially when there is a place like this to rest after a days walking and sightseeing. As someone who travels a lot on business, it takes a lot for me to describe anywhere as luxurious. I don't hesitate to use the term to describe Mill Stream Barn. The fixtures, fittings and finish are a delight. The thoughtful touches like the welcome basket, and the toiletries in each of the bathroom all made the stay a pleasure. The added joy the view from the patio made this a place you will want to spent time. Not easy when the Viuking way runs right past the front of the gate!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little touches that made it feel like a luxury boutique hotel
Liked least: Leaving - but we will be back
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back! Richard and Lizzie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz119462
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent welcome”
Reviewed 13 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed with our two dogs for a second visit to Mill Stream Barn, it was just as good as our memory, everything has been thought of, biscuits for the dogs and a lovely welcome hamper for the humans, this really is a wonderful place to stay so warm and comfortable, well equipped, just perfect. Sure we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Delighted that you enjoyed your second visit and look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookie057
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Long weekend”
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just had a long weekend here with two dear friends. The cottage is perfect , cosy, warm and everything you need to relax . There was a lovely welcome pack, great walks nearby, the local pub does tasty food. Will be returning very soon.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everytning
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2015
Many thanks for your review and pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_jeff_war...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Who let the secret out!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is one of those places you don't want to share with anyone! You want to keep it all to your self. It's a fantastic barn conversion providing plenty of space and comfort with effective underfloor heating. It's the attention to detail you notice. The kitchen wall clock with built in timer for cooking. The welcome pack of milk, eggs butter and a plum loaf. This is a place for a quiet retreat from life. The views over the stream are relaxing. The nearby village pub is a 5 minute walk away and does very good food. Jenny who runs one of the two village stores has taken lessons from Arkwright but doesn't sell anchovy paste or clothes horses! According to the guest book two previous guests offered to buy the place and we might be third in line. We're going back. Soon. Do I really need to say more? But I will - this place sets the standard by which all others will be judged.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space - not feeling confined or cramped.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Many thanks for your review and we are so pleased that you had a lovely time in Lincolnshire and particularly at Mill Stream Barn. We will look forward to seeing you shortly! Thanks Richard & Lizzie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winky21
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We cannot fault our stay at Mill Stream Barn. Richard gave us a lovely welcome and showed us around the gorgeous barn. It was spacious, beautifully appointed and so comfortable we spent many relaxing hours both indoors and outdoors. It's in an idyllic setting by the river and the weather enabled us to make the most of the outdoor space. The location is ideal for exploring the Lincolnshire Wolds. Louth, Lincoln and Horncastle are all worth a visit. There are some great walks from the property, too. It's just perfect and we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing