We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Clean, spacious and friendly owners”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Pigsty

New King size Double 4 Poster complete with fairy lights
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
New King size Double 4 Poster complete with fairy lights
New Fireplace built with back up heater Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
New King size Double 4 Poster complete with fairy lights
New Fireplace built with back up heater
Lounge area
Kitchen
Guests with Dogs are always welcome
Garden
Kitchen & Dining area
Kitchen
New 4 Poster
Bath & Shower
Entrance
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Louth, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bill G
Ware
2 reviews
“Clean, spacious and friendly owners”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We arrived fairly close to the time we had arranged with the owners and they were there ready to give a warm welcome. They provided us with some fresh eggs from their chickens, scrumptious cup cakes and plenty of tea bags and a fresh milk.
The property was very spacious and had a nice atmosphere. We had our own secluded garden where my daughter and partner decided to spend a couple of nights in their tent!
The dog was well catered for with a nice bed, food and water bowls and doggy treats too. We could take the dog out for a couple of miles along very quiet roads, but mainly footpaths from just outside the property.
The location of the property is less that 15 minutes car ride to Louth where there is an abundance of shops and a market. There is also Hubbards Hills which I can only describe as a woodland park with a river running through it - very nice.
We also did a walk from Walesby to Claxby and then on to Normanby la Wold which is the highest vilage in Lincs.
Our only disapppointment was the lack of tea shops, but fortunately there are some pubs around for refreshment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 11 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very clean & newly renovated cottage set in great rural surrounds. Contains everything you need. The fresh eggs & delicious cupcakes on arrival were much appreciated.
Dog friendly with a safe garden, dog bed, dog towels, bowls & even treats!
The nearby Cross Keys pub allows you to eat in the bar area with your dog & the food is good.
A lovely relaxing short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Y
1 review
“Fab...what a lovely place”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The property was lovely and well looked after with wonderful views. Great to see the sunset and the pheasants. It was just ideal for our couple of extra days after staying in Cleethorpes.
Our dog Maisy loved the garden and treats whilst we enjoyed the cupcakes and eggs which were kindly left for us. Lots of little extras which made our stay perfect.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrie S
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend break at The Pigsty. Such a beautiful setting, so quiet and peaceful. Couldn't ask for a warmer welcome, I've never tasted cupcakes like it. Everything you could possibly need with lots of extras like dog towels, bowls , toiletries etc. would highly recommend, you won't be disappointed. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing negative to mention
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
1 review
“A fab place to stay”
Reviewed 14 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My wife and l and our dog Bentley stayed here for 2 nights, excellent reception received, cup cakes were beautiful, if want a peaceful place to stay and unwind then we highly recommend this place. Thank you for fab stay. Paul and Jenny and little Bentley x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr John H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“of all the holiday cottages we have been in this one is 10 out of 10”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

the welcome,,, goodies awaiting us and for our dog,the cottage was beautiful, the owners could not be more welcoming. What else can you say but this is definitely a cottage to be holidayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I am afraid all of it
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyPeek
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exactly what we were looking for ....and more.....!”
Reviewed 21 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We received a really warm welcome from both Lindsey and Christine. The accommodation is spotless and there is great attention to detail; all has been very carefully thought out. There are even towels and tea towels, which are not always provided in self-catering places. The garden was ideal for our large dog as it is fully enclosed and secure and the fine weather meant he could spend most of the time outside with his ball (which is his idea of heaven).
The Pigsty is in a quiet location but within easy reach of Louth (a lovely market town with many independent shops) and the beautiful Wolds aren't far away.
Finally, we were soooooo impressed by the fact that Christine had taken the trouble to source vegan goodies for us in the 'welcome' pack. That really was above and beyond the call of duty and we truly appreciated the kind thought. The Pigsty is a delight and we will have no hesitation in recommending it, especially to those who don't like leaving the canine members of the family behind when they travel.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing