We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our wedding venue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brackenborough Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brackenborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Louth
Certificate of Excellence
louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our wedding venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We had our wedding reception at the Tennyson Suite suited at the Brackenborough Hotel on New Years Eve 2013, firstly we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.
On the day of our wedding, we were not blessed with the weather, however the Brackenbourough were able to accommodate us as we were back early from the church,the service was second to none, and a big thanks to Manager Nick.
The Tennyson Suite speaks for itself, it is just beautiful, staff are friendly and pleasant, could not help us enough.
All our guests have spoke highly of our day, big thanks to all at the Brackenborough again and we will be visiting again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirsty_marsh_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Kirsty,

Many thanks for your honest review, it's an absolute delight to here that you had a fantastic day and that you thought the service was second to none, given the weather I did expect you a little earlier than arranged so I ensured that we were all ready for your arrival, it was a pleasure to be part of your big day and we hope to see you both very soon,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    135
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
108
214
24
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaune, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Fantastic service, attended a family wedding here and found the standard of hotel and service to be excellent. We booked a double room for our family after all the family rooms had sold out but the hotel were able to provide two z beds for our young children (aged 7 and 9) in a double room with enough space still for us to move. We arrived slightly earlier than check in due to travelling direct from France but the hotel had no problems accommodating us.
The wedding service was superbly organised and as a guest everything appeared to run smoothly. Breakfast the next morning was great despite us sliding in at the last moment due to a very late night :-)
Only disappointment was that the free wifi offered was extremely poor and as a self employed person who needed to stay on line, it was not good enough. Note this affected me more than most as I had to connect to roaming (ouch) to stay in touch. Having said this, we stayed in a Best Western hotel on the same trip and had poor wifi there as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BurgundyGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello,

And many thanks for your very kind words, please accept my sincere apologies regarding the wifi this is not our usual service and the issue has been rectified.

As for the wedding it is very pleasing to hear that we delivered our usual high standards of service and that it was superbly organised, your comments are much appreciated by all the staff concerned as we have a very experienced team here who strive to deliver nothing but the best at all times, if you are ever across from France in the future and would like to visit us again then please give me a call directly and I will personally arrange your booking,

KIndest of Regards,

Nick KIlmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic one night stay here on NYE for my birthday. They had a lot going on with a wedding and a party night but we felt just as important as any other guests and recieved great service.

We had a lovely meal in the bistro resturaunt. Superb value at 3 courses for 32.50 pp including a complimentary glass of champagne and appetisers and bread.
Breakfast didn't disappoint either with continental buffet and cooked options made to order.

We had a luxury room which definitely had the wow factor with 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath.

Tip: although I dont think there is an option for adding wine and chocolates to the room on the website it is an option available on request. My partner was able to surprise me with wine and chocolates by emailing them.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello, and thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your New Years Eve at the Brackenborough and I must say what a fantastic night it was, no matter wether you are dining in the bistro, attending a wedding or the NYE party night, all guests are equally as important to my staff and myself, once again thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you shortly,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grimsby
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here on one of the xmas party nights, the room was modern bathroom nice size ,the new function room large enough , meal was nice , drinks normal hotel prices but if you drink wine it is cheaper to buy a bottle than by the glass, breakfast was alright the service a little slow and had no brown sauce, there was a nice touch you where given a bottle of wine when you first got to your room not sure if it was just for xmas.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elkman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello, many thanks for your kind comments, we are more than happy that you enjoyed your party night in the new Tennyson Suite, the bottle of wine that was in your room was within the Xmas package that you purchased, we hope to see you very soon,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

Having enjoyed a Christmas meal at the Brackenborough last night I wanted to share our enjoyment of the evening. The food was absolutely delicious, so much so that I begged the staff for another main, possibly the best beef I've had!!! The staff were extremely helpful, not least the restaurant manager Jamie who tended to the groups needs with the meal, drinks and even arranging speakers for us to play some of our own music in the back room that we were occupying. We had eaten before at the Brackenborough and always enjoyed it, but this meal excelled all others before it and only served to further cement our positive opinion and expectations of the restaurant. Many thanks to all the staff for a fantastic evening.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hello Chris, thank you very much for your kind words regarding your Xmas dinner, and in particular about the staff and Jamie our excellent Restaurant Manager, your comments have been forwarded to all concerned and we hope that we see you return soon,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had heard good things of the Brackenborough and we had our Christmas party there last week but it was extremely disappointing. Food was distinctly average, the vegetarian option was a disgrace with a starter size portion of mushrooms and burnt brioche. No apology from the serving staff. No water provided at tables, we had to ask. Not what was expected and wouldn't go again. The hotel side may well be better, but on this experience we won't be trying it there are much better alternatives.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighPeakBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your review, it is very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your Christmas party and for this I apologise, we had a fantastic Christmas period at the Brackenborough and unfortunately on this occasion I feel we were not to your expectations,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
immingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a well deserved rest away from our children. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We had a large TV with all the channels you would expect and reliable WiFi.
Having stayed at the hotel before we knew we were in for a treat when we booked our evening g meal in the restaurant. The ambiance was cosy and festive. The service was very friendly and relaxed. The food was amazing. We enjoyed a three course meal with side orders. Everything was delicious, full of flavour and colour. I can,t express his much we enjoyed our whole evening.
The breakfast the next morning was equally delicious, with a excellent array of cereals, yoghurts, croissants and a wide range of hot dishes too. I especially like the way the hotel uses local produce and is mindful of the local area.
Overall a delightful stay in a hotel which offers luxury and a great hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jambocatwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback, we are more than happy that you experienced a fantastic time at the Brackenborough, from the excellent food to the high standards of service, your comments have been forwarded to all concerned, we look forward to your return,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Louth
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kenwick Park Hotel
20.2 mi away
Ashbourne Hotel
Ashbourne Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Killingholme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beaumont Hotel
Beaumont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Louth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
23.6 mi away
Branston Hall Hotel
Branston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
18.1 mi away
Petwood Hotel
Petwood Hotel
#2 of 4 in Woodhall Spa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenborough Hotel

Property: Brackenborough Hotel
Address: Cordeaux Corner, Louth LN11 0SZ, England (Formerly Brackenborough Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Louth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Brackenborough Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brackenborough Hotel is set in an idyllic location just outside the historic town of Louth in the Lincolnshire Wolds. With 24 individually-designed rooms; a distinctive attitude to accessible dining; and a number of stylish venues and private event rooms, the Brackenborough, along with the locally acclaimed Bistro Bar, is a flagship Oak Ridge hotel. Guest rooms offer glamour throughout. Each one individually designed with a rich, contemporary style, superior fittings and exclusive Oak Ridge Hotel Egyptian cotton linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Brackenborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenborough Hotel Louth, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing