We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad”
Review of The Black Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Black Swan Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Stayed here this weekend and have very mixed thoughts. The whole place could do with a re vamp as carpets and décor very old and worn. We were given room 5 at the back which was a tiny ? double room even though I had booked a twin. We had to as ask for towels which were however provided straight away. Tea & coffee were provided but the kettle didn't reach the socket, we had to move a chest of drawers to find one. I do not know why such a tiny room had a wardrobe and 3 very dusty chests of drawers in it anyway when most clients only stay one night. I opened one drawer and a huge hairy moth flew out, needless to say we didn't use any of them. The walls were like cardboard and you could hear every word and snore coming from next door. My main gripe though was the bathroom which had a sliding door with an inch gap at each side ! On the good side, the bar and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Do not ask for room 5
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chzeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for The Black Swan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013 via mobile

To have four pubs in a tiny pretty village square is amazing , to find one serving such ordinary fair is astounding. The
competition in the square for customers must be an ongoing problem and the one thing that would have customers flocking in is good food. It's not rocket science. The menu is small with some interesting additions. I ordered the sloppy burger - a beef patty smothered in chilli beans served with chips. The chips were burnt and soggy. The chilli beans were very ordinary (another of my pet hates - the clue to making chilli beans is in the name - chilli beans - if there is no chilli in the dish - call it something else).The patty was as dry as cork obviously really over cooked. The wife had a carbonara dish that was gluggy and unappetising . Needless to say we'll be trying another pub on our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boageyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Seven of us Saturday evening went for a family meal after visiting the Forbidden Corner up the road. Received good service: staff were pleasant and helpful. The menu was good and the food very tasty. The homemade chips were gorgeous. Even better was a very decent pint of Theakston's Old Peculiar. The kids loved their food too. General consensus was we will definitely eat there again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank Jimmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Booked a table for 3 people, 8pm Bank Holiday Sunday. We arrived to be told they had run out of food at 2pm that day and that they had forgotten about our table! No apology was given to us although they did offer to invite the chef down to see what 'he could rustle up but it wouldn't be the full menu!' We left telling them not to bother. How a pub can run out of food on a Bank Holiday is beyond me and to be given no apology is not acceptable. As a local person, my family and I will not be using this pub again at any point in the future. Went to the Richard 3rd pub next door who were very accommodating and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Qhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is not 5 star so can't understand the negative reviews, you get exactly what you pay for in this life. 50 quid for room and breakfast which consists of full English, cereal, toast and preserves, juice etc so to me is fantastic value for money. Jon the landlord works tirelessly to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Rooms are dated yes( we stayed in room 6 and parents in room 1)and could do with updating but this just adds to the charm of his typical English country inn. The bar is cosy and has a good selection of beers. We also ate there in the evening and found the food to be tasty and filling, around £10 per person. Keep up the good work Jon you deserve to be successful.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank yorksboy127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

went there today 23/8/2013 what a pair of ignorant people running this pub stood at bar for 5 mins waiting to be served landlord sat round corner from bar drinking his pint couldnt be bothered to get of his chair to serve me and for the woman at back of bar when she did arrive what an absolute ignorant woman she was totally ignored one customer trying to purchase three couples demanded there money back as theyd waited well over an hour for there food we actually got our food after one hour and fifteen mins wish we hadnt smallest portion of chilli ive ever had and absolutely tatseless dont deserve too be in charge of the pub

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank shucky2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

4 adults, 2 children, 1 dog... We all enjoyed it! Excellent service, excellent food, excellent value. The burgers were an inch thick, home made, delicious. The kids fish fingers were haddock and home made - again, excellent. All staff friendly, prompt and helpful. Beer garden could do with some TLC but that certainly didn't spoil it for us. Would definitely return, fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
417 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
449 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lindmar House
Lindmar House
#3 of 8 in Middleham
61 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Inn

Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range: £69 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Swan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the market town centre of middleham, The Black Swan Inn is a warm and inviting pub where everyone is welcome. Our 16th Century listed building provides wooden beams and a fantastic open fire. Serving real ales, refreshing beers, quality wines through out our establishment. Our multifunctional property provides spacious comfortable accommodation and at different times of the day the use of private beer garden with plenty of seating, darts area and weekend entertainment until 11pm. Whether your looking for a relaxing drink with friends and family or a night packed with great entertainment after a busy week, The Black Swan Inn is a great pub to visit. Breakfast from 8 am or by arrangement. Traditional English or Lighter Option. Due To Management Change: A Light Bites Menu is available and Traditional Country Pub Faye will be introduced from Mid May 2017. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your The Black Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Inn Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing