We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“went for lunch meal not that impressed.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Black Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Black Swan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Middleham B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“went for lunch meal not that impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

i cannot comment upon the stay or evening quality. but just popped in this morning for food and a pint. staff were friendly and service good though pint was not up to par and the food was not great chips were wedges and barely cooked and soggy and salad old tasting and sandwich not what expected with cold chicken in lots of mayo and slight sweet chilly taste plus would have been better if chicken fresh cooked.
not good overall as if not paid prob would have complained.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xzandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    49
    45
    14
    35
See reviews for
36
97
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Excellent location to visit the Dales, good full English breakfast, great beer. Family room suited myself and two children perfectly and looks out over the square. Would strongly recommend for family or couples.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 549Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for your review. It was a fabulous weekend and we are glad you enjoyed it and took the time to write this review and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
653 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch on the opening day of the Tour de France in Yorkshire, and they put on a great spread. In addition to the pub proper indoors, they set up an outside bar and barbecue. We loved the pulled pork sandwich. The staff were friendly and helpful. This is a first rate spot for a stop off in the lovely village of Leyburn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyhoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
So glad you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you sometime in the future again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Picked this as close to Middleton. Also as reasonable price £65 b&b per room. Trad pub. No cards accepted. Clean and comfortable rooms. Great beer and breakfast. Evening meal good price and quality eg scampi and chips €8. Staff v helpful, would stay again,

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwimaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We really do appreciate people taking the time to do this. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Called for lunch on Friday 20th of June 2014. We was very disappointed. First the young man at the bar made us feel he was doing us a favour to serve us. He was bored and gave the feeling he didn't want to be there. The second was the food. At the price it was poor. The advertised gigantic beer battered fish was tiny. I've had bigger as a pensioners at the Wetherby Whaler. The steak pie had a under done flaky top not a short crust as in the picture and gave me indigestion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KenBooth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Mr Booth
Thank you for your interesting review that we had in fact been expecting following your less than pleasant reaction to the owners son and housekeeper when they told you that we did not take cards as payment, which appeared to annoy you.
You actually ate your food without any complaint which surely, if it was unacceptable and the pastry was uncooked, you would have brought to our notice so that we could have done something about it at the time ,but you did not complain at any point. To say our haddock is tiny is just not true. We get it fresh and line caught from a local sea fish merchants and we only buy the largest fillets they sell and they are all of a standard size which we could prove to any diner if they ask!! If people look at previous reviews, they will see that many people have commented about the huge size of our fish, so this review needs to be put into context amongst others. As for the steak pie, the picture you saw was on a general poster advertising steak pie with a generic picture, not a picture of our product and no claims are made of the type of pastry used. We are happy to accept criticism and try to improve if we receive constructive reviews but do not feel that this is one of those. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Middleham hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

4 of us stayed one night. Found the accomodation homely and exceptionally clean with comfy beds, large rooms and private. Breakfast fine and substantial. Landlord very hospitable and engaging with a good sense of humour and obviously proud of the standard of service the hotel offers. Only thing missing was a lounge like area of the pub to relax away from dining tables but can't have it all! The hotel does a lot of meals each evening at very reasonable prices and the town is always busy with tourist so can understand the need to focus on providing dining areas

Room Tip: We had front room over bar / dining area overlooking square and no problems with noise which has bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iangrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for your great review. It will be lovely to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

What a place to stay, fantastic rooms with top rate showers and super comfy beds all of which made my stay in Layburn amazing. The bar was first class with many a liquors and spirits available right down to traditional ales aswell and we even witnessed a snowball being put together specifically for a staying guest! Bravo. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the atmosphere was a joy to share on which i havent experienced for many a year. Breakfast in the morning was always on time and of the finest quality and there was plenty of choice for your evening meal all again of a great standard!

Certainly visiting again and would highly recommend, thank you for my fantastic experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackswanleyburn, Owner at The Black Swan Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is always nice for people who have had a good stay to let us know. Looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 7 in Middleham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Middleham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Swan Hotel

Property: The Black Swan Hotel
Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the village centre, The Black Swan Hotel is a traditional village inn. With log fires, real ales and superb homemade food. Dublin based restauranteur and Chef Chris Allan has brought his talent to Middleham. With restaurants in Ireland, Darlington and now North Yorkshire, Chris and front of house partner Mel are going from strength to strength. Fantastic food, freshly prepared and cooked to order. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Black Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Black Swan Hotel Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing