We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pub with character”
Review of Richard the Third

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richard the Third
Ranked #2 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pub with character”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a one night stay at this Black Sheep Ale pub. Place full of character. All reviews I read on Trip Advisor before visiting were good and I can only add "ditto". Didn't have dinner there, but restaurant and pub were busy. Breakfast was fantastic with quality produce. Sure I will be revisiting again before the year is out! Good luck with Le Tour Weekend guys!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank theo5565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    109
    42
    7
    4
See reviews for
56
238
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we were staying in the village. Came here after a day out walking starving. Food for price well worth 4 stars. What was missing was the back room very bland no atmosphere..service was nondescript- still would go again as food so good

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulu2010186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed here one night this week on part of three day 200 mile charity bike ride we got a great welcome safe bike store and were looked after fantastically by Sharon and her team just what a tired cyclist needed comfy bed great food

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeonabike3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a nice one evening stay here with friends. Comfortable rooms, huge bed which was great. En suite was the downside as it was a purpose built box inside the bedroom really with a maserator toilet, very noisy, really cramped and no privacy for your partner whatsoever.But we enjoyed our stay, lovely girls behind the bar, food was good, breakfast huge! Can get very busy I understand so book a table.

Room Tip: maybe not one at the front over the bar as quite noisy & the smell of smokers below was a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnydaysLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Fantastic Time, went for 2 nights for my mums 70th birthday, we had 4 rooms, 3 doubles and 1 with 3 single beds for the teenagers. All rooms are lovely with gorgeous big comfy beds. Sharon and Ken can't do enough for you, they are very accommodating. We found all the staff very friendly as were the locals in the bar. It is a very lively pub which we liked. We ate in the bar both nights and the food is excellent you cannot fault it, the portions are huge, great choice of the menu and specials board. Breakfast was the best I have had, sausages and bacon from local butchers, beans in a separate pot which suited me perfectly as don't like beans all over everything else, came on very hot plates, choice of fruit and cereal and as much tea and coffee as you could drink. The 3 little dogs made my daughter and nieces weekend. We are definatly returning for another family weekend, was just perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front if you want to see the racehorses go by on a morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Three of us visited for lunch in April 2014
The pub felt welcoming (unlike others in the near vicinity) & the food was very good (although it took over half an hour to arrive & wasn't that complicated to prepare)
The three dogs made it for us, but we are doggie people - if you don't like dogs then it's not for you, but if you do, then get yourselves in there)
To be honest there's not much to see & do in Middleham. We stopped off for lunch after viewing the Tennant's auction house nearby

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manxmanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bayhorsemasham, Owner at Richard the Third, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are glad you enjoyed your food and the company of our dogs. Waiting half an hour for food is not that long if people have ordered before yourselves as all our food is cooked to order - even our pies are freshly baked to order so take at least twenty minutes to cook.

Middleham is a busy little small town and is nick named the horse racing capital of the North - where you will see race horses passing by every day in their droves. It is also the previous home of Richard the Third and his castle is a must see when visiting Middleham.

Forbidden Corner is also nearby which is rated one of the top visitor attractions in the UK.

We hope next time you will stay a little longer and enjoy Middleham for what it is.

Many Thanks

Sharon and Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for one night with our 9 year old son. We were visiting the area to go to the Forbidden Corner and had found Richard III online as it was nearby. We booked ahead over the phone, based on Trip Advisor reviews, and we were not disappointed.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and we were very happy with the room.
We had our evening meal in the pub and it was delicious- home made, tasty and hearty- I recommend the steak pie and my son said the kids spag bol was great! There weren't loads of kids in the pub, however the little man was made to feel very welcome and looked after.
Service time was good in spite of the pub being quite busy.
My husband thoroughly enjoyed the choice of beers, and I was pleased to see more than one choice of cider on tap, which makes a very nice change.

The cooked breakfast was out of this world....a good sized plate of quality ingredients. We didn't need to eat again until the evening! There is also a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast etc...but who needs that when there's such a fantastic cooked breakfast on offer?!

We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area

Room Tip: Richard III room is at the back of the building so nice and quiet. There was plenty of room even wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gillydaydream1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharoncw67, Owner at Richard the Third, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review - we are glad you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon

Sharon and ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#4 of 8 in Middleham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindmar House
Lindmar House
#3 of 8 in Middleham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard the Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard the Third

Property: Richard the Third
Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Richard the Third 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Richard the Third reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richard The Third Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing