We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“🏡 Gourgeous 🏡”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jenny Wren Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

ste-lin31
WAKEFIELD
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“🏡 Gourgeous 🏡”
Reviewed 18 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Another wonderful long weekend stay at the beautiful Jenny Wren cottage .Alan & Angela keep it spotless so well equipt everything you will need is here .Great for short or long stay . Had plenty of lovely meals locally .Some wonderful scenery without having to go far , had loads of lovely walks in Middleham itself Love this place . Love watching all the race horses up on the gallops , hope to be back in Middleham very soon ....

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carr1000
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in the country for New Year ”
Reviewed 5 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

What a wonderful New Year break we had in Middleham in the Dales! Jenny Wren is a beautiful cottage situated down a quaint cobbled lane which is very close to the local church. The owners had added some lovely Christmassy touches in the living room and we made the most of the log burning stove (we went through a fair few bags of logs which were easily available in most of the local shops). The local area had lots to offer with a castle, church and a fair few pubs to visit. We enjoyed a couple of trips to Richard III pub which is minutes away from the house. Lots to do locally: Aysgarth Falls, the market town of Leyburn and Hawes were all short journeys away. We would definitely visit again and already have fond memories of our New Year break.

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark L
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit to Jenny Wren cottage”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Once again me and my wife enjoyed a superb stay at Jenny Wren, over the Christmas period.
The cottage is ideal for a stay in Middleham, and is equipped with everything you could wish for. The location is perfect, and Middleham centre is only 2 minutes walk away. I would recommend Richard III for great food. The area is also ideal for walking.
We are now looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexrimme...
Almancil, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 12 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage, with everything you could possibly need to have a great holiday. We will definetly book again.

We enjoyed walking around the stunning countryside and watching the amazing horse's on the gallops. Our favourite restaurant was Richard lll.

Date of stay: December 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daphne H
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Doll's House Little Gem.”
Reviewed 9 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

A tiny gem of a cottage, right beside the Church, two hours of which we had bell practice on Monday evening, MAGIC, just sat and listened to the glory of the bells, a rare sound these day's in good old England,and the cottage is also opposite one of Mark Johnston's racing stables, seeing the horses going up onto the gallops early morning and trotting back through the town is something as regular visitors to Middleham we love to see. This was a rare week away just for myself and husband on our own, and we loved Jenny Wren. The cottage was spotless,and everything you needed,unfortunately it wasn't cold enough to light the log burner,we have one at home and love it on winter night's, but I guess in a way that was a good thing that it stayed warm, but on a winter holiday, draw the curtains light the fire and you have your own magic little world in there. There was nothing in the cottage lacking in any way, and is a credit to the owners how they look after it, we shall most certainly be booking again, I think in the visitors book one couple have been back around fifteen times, so that say's it all surely. Walk up on the gallops for the most wonderful views, we did most days, visit King Richard third's castle, he who has been stolen from us by Liecester!! It's not expensive to go round and oozes history. A regular haunt for us is also Swinton Park at Masham for morning coffee or delicious afternoon tea, and the gardens and walled garden are a delight to walk around, we especially love the spring garden around May time when all the bluebells are out. Jervaulx Abbey is also another favourite, privately owned be a delightful family so not spoilt in any way, we usually like to visit late evening when you have it all to yourselves, peace and tranquillity abound there.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ste-lin31
WAKEFIELD
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful cosy cottage ”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Another wonderful stay in the Gourgeous Jenny Wren cottage ,love Middleham plenty to do , wonderful walks , fantastic scenery.A big thank you to Angela & Alan for sharing their cottage ....

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dalesman9...
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Charming little cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The Jenny Wren Cottage is nicely located in the center of Middleham, within easy walking distance of several pubs, a small shop and a great fish and chip shop. The cottage is small - really only suitable for a couple but it has everything you need. The wi-fi works really well. There are electric radiators throughout the house and we turned them on when we first arrived, to "take the chill off" as they say, but after the first day, we didn't really need them, although we did use the log fire in the living room, mostly for effect. The information says you should park in the center of the village, which is just up the hill, but we parked just above the cottage in the parking near the church and no one seemed to mind. You will here the church clock chiming every fifteen minutes and then on the hour - not so loud to be annoying but a charming reminder of an era when time moved more slowly.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.