We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food!”
Review of Richard the Third

Richard the Third
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Middleham
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
huddersfield
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Super food!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We returned today after a year, purely because the last visit was so good. Set in the gorgeous market town of Middleham this delightful pub serves consistently good home cooked food in a friendly atmosphere. We will return without doubt.

Helpful?
Thank spadgeHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    82
    30
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed B&B - excellent breakfast and great evening meal. (Meat pie). Restaurant full on Tuesday steak night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WrinkleyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanbedr Dyffryn Clwyd, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Ate then left”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Went here for a meal after The Forbidden Corner. Arrived about 6pm abd the place was getting busy with families like us - and dogs, counted at least 5 of them in the restaurant, bar or going up to the bedrooms.
We had steak pies and fish and chips. Chips were wedges and most were cold and soggy. Pies were nice but both left fish as batter was soggy and plentiful.
Whole place felt like it needed a good clean and we were all glad to get out of there

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharoncw67, Owner at Richard the Third, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write your review.

I can assure you our pub is spotlessly clean - I would not have it any other way! I am quite OCD when it comes to cleaning as is our cleaner - what you mistake as dirty maybe rustic. The pub has wooden floors and settles and a real fire. We are dog friendly and have two of our own and we would not want it any other way.

As regards the batter - I wish you had told us at the time when we do check backs - our batter is usually light and crispy not soggy - and we do home made chips normally not wedges.

Again everything is cooked to order so should not be cold.. Did you actually say anything at the time so we had a chance to put things right?

Thank you once again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful food great atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Lovely welcoming pub, dog friendly. Lovely home cooking, the gammon was enormous and served with 2 eggs and fresh pineapple, the food was great quality and the locals very welcoming and friendly. The homemade pie was wonderful, the dessers were great too. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huskyjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Popped in for Lunch”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

On a day out with our granddaughter to The Forbidden Corner we stopped off here for some lunch. The village is lovely and the exterior of this pub looked quaint and inviting. Staff were friendly and the beer and service was good. I had scampi and potato wedges and although my meal was fine the wedges and the peas were almost cold. My granddaughter had fish and the batter was over thick and ended up being undercooked hence soggy underneath. Not sure the fish was totally cooked. Granddad had meat pie and when I asked him how his meal was he said there was little meat in it. The portions however were very generous. All in all somewhat disappointing. Although the dishes were not pricey it was poor value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Richard the Third also viewed

Middleham, North Yorkshire
 
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Richard the Third? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing