We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential to be a busy business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The White Swan Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I'd just visited the local attraction Middleham Castle and needed a bite to eat etc.
Nearest public house is The White Swan, good i thought and ventured in.
It was quiet, i was possibly their only customer,but it was 12.30pm,no matter.
Looking at the bar's wickets i noticed they had Black Sheep bitter or rather they didnt (sold out).Other "wickets"empty also.
Nevermind i'll have a "Fosters", a success.
They sell food , not an excessive menu but adequate. I ordered the "Sloppy burger" which entails a huge burger patty with monterey cheese topped with chilli con carne in a bun served with chips and salad garnish retailing at £8.99 which i must say is delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milnaar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Its good to hear that we are heading in the right direction. Thank you for leaving this information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is the second time that we`ve stayed for an odd night at The White Swan.

On our first visit some aspects of the décor were looking slightly "tired" but overall we had a most enjoyable evening with excellent food, service and good company. We were assured by Sean that a rolling program of improvements was planned to start so that when we were emailed details of the Tapas night we decided to go along, confident that even if nothing else had changed the food would be good and the evening entertaining.

We were absolutely right in our confidence but were pleasantly surprised by the improvements which, as promised , were very evident. New carpets and a beautifully redecorated room greeted us. We had, with some slight trepidation, taken a couple of friends along with us but, happily, they were equally as impressed and vowed that they would certainly be visiting again, as will we.

Book in if you can, we think you`ll enjoy it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank JANETLskipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for such a frank and straightforward criticism. It means a lot to the whole team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit this year and we were not disappointed. we stayed in room 18 which did not have a view of the square but was large with a seating area, hugh bed and large bathroom. A very comfy room.
The service and staff were excellent and the food was lovely.
Again we went for the DBB offer and it was excellent value for money.
Lets hope we can pay our third visit soon, many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueFisherHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Fantastic and helpful, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Spent some time at the lovely White Swan with my husband. We had gone to Middleham for the Richard III festival.

My husband decided on the delicious fish finger sandwich (fresh haddock and like no commercial fish finger you will ever see) whilst I chose the crayfish. I have to say both dishes were cooked to perfection and were delicious. We ordered trifle and a slice of lemon cake with coffee for pudding. The trifle was perfection (fruity and refreshing) and the lemon cake light and very lemony! Yum!

Service was very efficient and friendly. Have to say The White Swan and sister pub The Blue Lion never let you down.

Room Tip: The staff will see you right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thorneyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Great to hear such good praise for our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My husband, 13 year old son and I stayed with my parents here in 2 rooms for 1 night. The rooms were clean and pleasant. The cot which my son slept on was quite worn, but overall the room was very clean and comfortable. We were in a room over the bar. Since we were there mid week, noise was not a problem, but I could see it being an issue on the weekend. We enjoyed seeing the racehorses pass through town on their way to/from training. We stayed mid week and enjoyed the dinner, bed and breakfast special. Both dinner and breakfast were exceptional! We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Would not stay over the bar on the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (bnb and dinner mid week package) in room 14 overlooking the square. The room was clean, bed comfortable, tea/coffee/hot chocolate and water (sparkling and still) provided, TV a little small for the size of the room, hair dryer and fully equipped bathroom ,bath with good quality overhead shower. Could not fault the room however there is no wardrobe (we used the provided coat stand which was quirky but adequate) and there is only one chair. The square is generally quiet however on both nights (due to the good weather) other guests were drinking outside right below our window which was a little obtrusive/rowdy. I would stress that this was early evening and by 11:00 pm all was quiet. I'm uncertain how quiet it would be on a busy weekend in the summer so if sleep is required maybe request a rear facing room. Our package was extremely good value as dinner was included. We ate from the a la carte menu and on both nights had plenty of choice. The food was good, the bistro charming and the staff were all attentive and on the ball. We were both impressed by everyone working at the White Swan from our arrival to our departure and would certainly consider staying here again. Middleham is quiet but has four pubs, a wonderful castle and is close to a number of other Yorkshire Dales must dos and if you like racing its quite a show seeing all the horses being ridden through the village.
The White Swan may not be a five star hotel however it punches above its weight and will provide a good Dales base at reasonable price.

Room Tip: Some noise at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevanEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We will beginning improving the rooms later in the summer and hope to keep gradually improving our customer offer. We hope you do choose to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

my husband and i spent three very enjoyable days at the white swan last week food was good nice choice of wines on offer.. rooms very cosy weather was great which always helps. we will return very soon ideal spot for visiting the races..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angieBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean L, Owner at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2013

Thanks for your supportive message. We are all pleased to hear such praise. we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
1.5 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
455 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
15.5 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 8 in Richmond
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
425 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 8 in Middleham
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Middleham DL8 4PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Middleham
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the White Swan we offer a great level of service and attention to detail. Perfectly situated to access all of Middleham's attractions as we are centrally located. Also there are great walks, bicycle rides (both mountain bike and road bike)nearby. Dogs are welcome, parking is free. Our new management team has as its sole aim "make your visit as good as it could be". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing