We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful room for a light lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Priory Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 7 Middleham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were visiting Middleham to see where Richard 111 spent his childhood and as we arrived I saw The Priory saying they were open for coffee. It looked lovely from the outside and had recently been refurbished. So we went in and met the owner who was very friendly and had a chat with us. We ordered sandwiches and tea which were very good. This room was a delight and would be the breakfast room for B & B guests. Although it was a glorious day it was very windy but there is outside seating where you can enjoy wonderful views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BenHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013

Its all been said already so i wish to underwrite previous reviews and add that from my first telephone
call with Chris i knew i was in good capable hands. I asked for some extra catering for four of us on
one of our Dales walks, this Chris handled with the upmost care and aptitude. A delightful experience,
its a must stay venue.

John and Friends

Room Tip: castle views enjoy the early morning walking horse shoe on highway, rear rooms courtyard and folly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHNJOHNNIGELCLIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our first visit to Middleham, off street parking, nice relaxed atmosphere, high quality accomodation. The room at the top, (Castle view) is the room to book. Decorated to a superb standard, Brass bath in the corner of the bedroom that looks out onto castle.
Chris cooks a brilliant breakfast, and does everything to ensure his guests have a positive experience.
Looking for accomodation that is gold standard, this is the place. The pictures on the website do not do the venue justice.
Excellent experience. We will be back

Room Tip: Front of the house is a good view of the castle, remember this is race horse country. They go out fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We had a great stay here. Most comfortable bed and loved seeing the horses going by at 6am!!! Or at least my husband did. Chris cooked a delicious breakfast and it is obvious that Chris and Sarah love this new life. good luck for the future and we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Have just spent a very enjoyable night here. We stayed in the recently refurbished Middleham Room. Wow what a bathroom - I want one like this at home!!! The bedroom was gorgeous too, a fabulously comfortable bed with quality bedding and a view from the window of Middleham Castle. The hospitality tray had a fresh coffee cafetiere and a great range of teas, plus fresh milk - a big selling point. Everything about this B and B from the fluffy towels and bathrobes says quality and care. Breakfast is eaten looking out at the castle, watching the racehorses go by and was again of excellent quality and from local suppliers. Great welcome also from the owner with recommendations for eating out, even going so far as to show us samples of menus. If you appreciate the personal touch and value the better things in life then this is the B and B for you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dp1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Chris and Sarah have virtually finished the refurb. and its fab. Rooms are decorated to an excellent standard . The attic room not quite finished when we were there but had all thhe signs of a special experience. The breakfast all the more tasty knowing the chef is so enthusiastic about its local, quality procurement. Excellent relaxed informative hosts . Set in the middle of the lovely dales. Id book up early its going to be VERY popular

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

What a lovely property. Sarah and Chris have a passion for this business and their home. We stayed for one night in the 'Red Room' where the bed was like sinking into a marshmallow. We used their very lovely guest lounge (opposite Middleham Castle) with a 50" TV to watch England play rugby then went for a very nice meal at The White Swan Hotel brasserie.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmackYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Priory Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sarah and I particularly enjoyed the Marshmallow reference. We are now working to ensure we achieve the Marshmallow effect in all our rooms. We hope to see you back in Middleham soon. Chris and Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
444 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 7 in Middleham
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindmar House
Lindmar House
#3 of 7 in Middleham
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowlands
Lowlands
#4 of 7 in Middleham
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Guesthouse

Address: West End | Wensleydale, Middleham DL8 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range: £117 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Middleham overlooking Richard III’s childhood home, Middleham Castle, The Priory offers an escape to the country for those who aren’t prepared to compromise on urban luxuries. Middleham is famous for its race horse connections and groups of horses pass by the front of the Priory every morning on their way to the gallops. Located within easy reach of Manchester, Leeds, Harrogate and York, 5 race courses and several golf clubs. Nearest train station is Northallerton, and the nearest town is Leyburn (2 miles). Middleham has a local village store and local public houses serving food. The main house has 5 bedrooms, a guest Drawing Room and dining room. There is a walled garden for the use of guests – sit under the apple tree sipping a glass of wine and sharing one of Chris’s special summer BBQs. Drying, Ironing & Laundry facilities available. Well behaved dogs are welcome at the Priory in certain rooms by arrangement at point of booking for a small additional charge. Street parking available, there are no yellow lines in Middleham! The whole of the Priory is also available for house parties – price on application depending on requirements. For a self catering option, The Coach House which dates back to the 16th Century sleeps up to 8 guests – dog friendly, so bring your favourite 4 legged furry friend. Enjoy walks from the door and in surrounding dales including the Six Dales Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Guesthouse Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing