We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yorkshireguests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Priory Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We said we'd be back and we've just enjoyed a slightly longer stay in the newly refurbished Castle Room, with huge copper bath, wonderful shower and very comfortable bed. Afternoon tea, sitting outside in the sunshine, eating Bea and Sarah's fantastic homebaked cakes, was an experience we recommend!

Room Tip: The two refurbished rooms on the 2nd floor have large ensuites and wonderful baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stopped here for a coffee as you can sit out on the front which was very pleasant in the sun. The staff/owners were lovely but my only gripe was when we had finished we were asked if we would like a refill, in our experience a refill is offered at a cheaper price, otherwise you should be asked if you would like another cup of coffee. Consequently 2 coffee's each cost us £9 !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coppernorthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Priory Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

You're quite right: I'm sorry - I used the wrong term for that! Please come again and have a cup of coffee and a slice of cake on us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

had lovely toastied panini at 4:30 this afternoon after long walk - very friendly hosts - showed us one of the rooms which was absolutely lovely - a twin room with 2 full sized double beds overlooking the garden - will definitely try to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Travelover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stopped by at the start of our walk around the area yesterday, perfect light lunch spot and very impressed by home made cakes and friendly service. Asked what time they closed and made sure that long walk resulted in a return visit to try more cake and an afternoon tea sat in the sunshine watching village life go quietly by.

Very friendly service and not to be missed - make your you get some fruit cake too!
We'll definitely return! :-)

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank JAMRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We were visiting Middleham to see where Richard 111 spent his childhood and as we arrived I saw The Priory saying they were open for coffee. It looked lovely from the outside and had recently been refurbished. So we went in and met the owner who was very friendly and had a chat with us. We ordered sandwiches and tea which were very good. This room was a delight and would be the breakfast room for B & B guests. Although it was a glorious day it was very windy but there is outside seating where you can enjoy wonderful views.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BenHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Its all been said already so i wish to underwrite previous reviews and add that from my first telephone
call with Chris i knew i was in good capable hands. I asked for some extra catering for four of us on
one of our Dales walks, this Chris handled with the upmost care and aptitude. A delightful experience,
its a must stay venue.

John and Friends

Room Tip: castle views enjoy the early morning walking horse shoe on highway, rear rooms courtyard and folly
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHNJOHNNIGELCLIVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Our first visit to Middleham, off street parking, nice relaxed atmosphere, high quality accomodation. The room at the top, (Castle view) is the room to book. Decorated to a superb standard, Brass bath in the corner of the bedroom that looks out onto castle.
Chris cooks a brilliant breakfast, and does everything to ensure his guests have a positive experience.
Looking for accomodation that is gold standard, this is the place. The pictures on the website do not do the venue justice.
Excellent experience. We will be back

Room Tip: Front of the house is a good view of the castle, remember this is race horse country. They go out fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
431 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindmar House
Lindmar House
#3 of 8 in Middleham
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 8 in Middleham
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowlands
Lowlands
#4 of 8 in Middleham
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Guesthouse

Address: West End | Wensleydale, Middleham DL8 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range: £117 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Middleham overlooking Richard III’s childhood home, Middleham Castle, The Priory offers an escape to the country for those who aren’t prepared to compromise on urban luxuries. Middleham is famous for its race horse connections and groups of horses pass by the front of the Priory every morning on their way to the gallops. Located within easy reach of Manchester, Leeds, Harrogate and York, 5 race courses and several golf clubs. Nearest train station is Northallerton, and the nearest town is Leyburn (2 miles). Middleham has a local village store and local public houses serving food. The main house has 5 bedrooms, a guest Drawing Room and dining room. There is a walled garden for the use of guests – sit under the apple tree sipping a glass of wine and sharing one of Chris’s special summer BBQs. Drying, Ironing & Laundry facilities available. Well behaved dogs are welcome at the Priory in certain rooms by arrangement at point of booking for a small additional charge. Street parking available, there are no yellow lines in Middleham! The whole of the Priory is also available for house parties – price on application depending on requirements. For a self catering option, The Coach House which dates back to the 16th Century sleeps up to 8 guests – dog friendly, so bring your favourite 4 legged furry friend. Enjoy walks from the door and in surrounding dales including the Six Dales Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Guesthouse Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing