We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Priory Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 8 Middleham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My wife and our youngest lad and I stayed for one night here. We were welcomed and shown to our room room 4 the green room. the room was very spacious and very clean. We ate out and there is a good selection of pubs and hotels selling food. the town seemed very welcoming to strangers. The two double beds were very comfortable the 3 of us were watching the TV from our beds, good family time. We had a very good breakfast and we were able to watch the horses on their way to the gallops. This was only the second time I have stayed in a guest house and would return if in the area and would consider staying in other guest houses due to our stay. I would never have stayed here without the TripAdvisor reports and thank you all for them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brianwNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed as a group of 5 couples and booked out The Priory for the weekend - what a find, fantastic accommodation in the heart of Middleham - nothing was too much trouble. All rooms are excellent but especially Castle View which has just been totally modernised with its copper freestanding bath in the bedroom overlooking the castle together with an ensuite. Amazing breakfast cooked to order. Chris, Sarah and Bea are so welcoming - a hidden gem! We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are a very good standard but Castle View is stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MST64_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We did not stay here but called in for afternoon tea, a new venture for this lovely guest house. They could not have made us more welcome! A fresh bowl of water for the dog, water for four hot, tired walkers, the widest selection of delicious home made cakes and scones and pots of refreshing tea! Perfect! If you are in the area you will enjoy the best afternoon tea ever! We did!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

A wonderful spacious guest house oppisite Middleham Castle.
I was on a cycle tour and when Sarah showed me my beautiful room my immediate reponse to her was " wow, I must bring my wife here!"
Great breakfast
Plan to go again and explore Middleham and district.
JohnWW

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jogu11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

My husband and I came across The Priory Guest House whilst house hunting, we loved the friendly atmosphere. The standard is set high, with good design, good tasty food (home made cakes... Yum) The only place to stay in wonderful Middleham.

Thank you Chris, Sarah, and Bea.

We will be back.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms enjoy a fantastic view of Richard III's home castle plus the spectacle of see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EastYorkshireLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We said we'd be back and we've just enjoyed a slightly longer stay in the newly refurbished Castle Room, with huge copper bath, wonderful shower and very comfortable bed. Afternoon tea, sitting outside in the sunshine, eating Bea and Sarah's fantastic homebaked cakes, was an experience we recommend!

Room Tip: The two refurbished rooms on the 2nd floor have large ensuites and wonderful baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stopped here for a coffee as you can sit out on the front which was very pleasant in the sun. The staff/owners were lovely but my only gripe was when we had finished we were asked if we would like a refill, in our experience a refill is offered at a cheaper price, otherwise you should be asked if you would like another cup of coffee. Consequently 2 coffee's each cost us £9 !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coppernorthyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris M, Owner at The Priory Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

You're quite right: I'm sorry - I used the wrong term for that! Please come again and have a cup of coffee and a slice of cake on us. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middleham
0.1 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
431 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richard the Third
Richard the Third
#2 of 8 in Middleham
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lindmar House
Lindmar House
#3 of 8 in Middleham
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#5 of 8 in Middleham
212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lowlands
Lowlands
#4 of 8 in Middleham
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Priory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Guesthouse

Address: West End | Wensleydale, Middleham DL8 4QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Middleham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range: £118 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Middleham overlooking Richard III’s childhood home, Middleham Castle, The Priory offers an escape to the country for those who aren’t prepared to compromise on urban luxuries. Middleham is famous for its race horse connections and groups of horses pass by the front of the Priory every morning on their way to the gallops. Located within easy reach of Manchester, Leeds, Harrogate and York, 5 race courses and several golf clubs. Nearest train station is Northallerton, and the nearest town is Leyburn (2 miles). Middleham has a local village store and local public houses serving food. The main house has 5 bedrooms, a guest Drawing Room and dining room. There is a walled garden for the use of guests – sit under the apple tree sipping a glass of wine and sharing one of Chris’s special summer BBQs. Drying, Ironing & Laundry facilities available. Well behaved dogs are welcome at the Priory in certain rooms by arrangement at point of booking for a small additional charge. Street parking available, there are no yellow lines in Middleham! The whole of the Priory is also available for house parties – price on application depending on requirements. For a self catering option, The Coach House which dates back to the 16th Century sleeps up to 8 guests – dog friendly, so bring your favourite 4 legged furry friend. Enjoy walks from the door and in surrounding dales including the Six Dales Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Priory Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Priory Guesthouse Middleham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing