We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Braithwaite Hall
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Blue Lion(East Witton)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$431
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Catterick Garrison Hotel(Catterick)(Great Value!)
US$84
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$284
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A66 Motel(Richmond)
US$104
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
43
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bsmoked salmonfull english breakfasta lovely place to staynothing too much troublenorth yorkshirebreakfast was excellentcomfortable bedgallopapartmentmoor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed just one night whilst touring North of England and Scotland. Beautiful room with a very comfortable bed and the nice touch of chocolates and port. Vicky made us so welcome, the breakfast was perfectly cooked and nothing seemed too much trouble. We would love to come back and stay longer as we really didn't get enough time to explore the surrounding countryside which is stunning. Thank you Vicky!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alleigh23KentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I visited here with family to look at the house. We have ancestors that worked there so wanted to get a feel for the house and surroundings. There are only two rooms and the staircase on view but it is only £1 charge to visit for none national trust members. It was great to see the original oak staircase and the hall and lounge area. It is worth a visit for the oak staircase alone.
Not stayed here but it is on the agenda to stay for a couple of nights sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Bakingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a 2 night stay here a couple of weeks ago in the superior double room, we were greated warmly by vicky who made us very welcome in her beautiful home. The breakfast was fantastic with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts with the full english to follow it was spot on . Will definatly return again , superb value for money beautiful surrounding and good walks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank elizabess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed 3 nights in this ancient National Trust house which is only open by appointment with the tenants who run a B&B business as well as a farm and a self catering apartment and gave us a warm welcome. Our room although billed as a standard double was enormous with sloping floors and small ensuite shower room added in the corner. It was carefully furnished to match the age of the house although there were no drawers other than two thin ones on the dressing table. A small box of locally made chocolates was a nice touch on the tea tray. The robes were rather old and nylon but I had not expected them in a B&B. We could watch the sheep grazing on the hillside from our bed. We had a good breakfast in a panelled dining room along with the other guests. Eggs straight from the hens outside and fresh fruit were excellent. Unless we walked the 1.8 miles each way into East Witton for the superb but expensive meals at the Blue Lion, driving was essential to get an evening meal. We had a huge good value meal at the Cover Bridge Inn a few miles away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DottyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed in the Hall's four-poster room for three nights. Our first impression of our host Vicky was very good. She was very friendly, helpful, down to earth and made us feel at home from the start. Our first impression of the Hall and our bedroom in particular was ‘Wow!!’ The property is a National Trust property and our hosts are tenant farmers and as such the Hall retains many original features. We felt very privileged to be staying in such a place for what we considered to be such a reasonable price.

The bedroom has a great view and faces north overlooking the farmland and Dales. In the morning you can see racehorses training and the owner provides binoculars in the bedroom so that you can better appreciate the wildlife and view etc. The bedroom is very large, and the walls are decorated with 17th century wood panelling. There is an original small stone fireplace, three chairs are provided in three corners of the bedroom. The floor seems to be the original flooring and is dark wood and sloping, which you would expect from such an old house. A huge Chinese rug covers most of this floor. The four-poster bed is 18th Century. There is plenty of sympathetic lighting in the room including wall lights and table lamps but the room is still fairly dark but retains a cosy historical feel. The room is very clean.

A free view television is provided in the bedroom, with tea and coffee making facilities are provided including usual sachets of coffee and teabags but some speciality teas were also included. ‘Kit Kat’ chocolate biscuits were provided daily, which was a nice touch. The owner provides a book in the room with usual information including places to eat and visit locally. In addition magazines were provided in the room as well a local tourist literature. There is a small private shower room and toilet attached to the room.

We were asked when we would like breakfast and were served breakfast in a lovely dining room set aside for bed and breakfast guests. We were able to serve ourselves with breakfast cereals, yoghurt, and fresh fruit. On our first day fresh raspberries and blueberries were provided. On the following two days we were provided with blueberries. This was a very nice touch. We were provided fresh home made toasted bread, together with home made preserves, and we had an excellent full English breakfast cooked by the owner every day. This included locally sourced bacon, sausages, black pudding, eggs (from the farm). I believe other alternative breakfasts were available but we had the full English breakfast every day, which was very filling.

The location was slightly out of the way but this was what we wanted. The nearest village is East Witton, which is about a mile away, and had one pub and restaurant called the Blue Lion. The nearest village with more amenities was Middleham, which was about five miles away. It had a number of shops and a number of restaurants. The one we tried twice was the White Swan, which we would recommend. It has a very good and reasonably priced two or three course ‘early bird menu’ if you were able to order before 7.30pm Sunday to Thursday. If you want to ‘push the boat out’ for your evening meal we would recommend ‘The Wensleydale Heifer’, in West Witton which is probably about 15-20 minute drive from the Hall. Their menu is mainly fish based but the food is excellent. If you can manage three courses (which we did not!) do not expect much change from £100 (for two people) for your food and drink here!

All in all we had an excellent stay, in a unique room, with an excellent friendly host, great service, and excellent breakfast. Our original very good first impression of our host and the Hall remained throughout our stay and will remain long in our memories. We would definitely like to return one day and would recommend it to anyone especially wanting a quiet romantic stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank BUNNYHARE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews