We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply splendid”
Review of Braithwaite Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braithwaite Hall
Ranked #2 of 3 East Witton B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“simply splendid”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

everything about this place is exceptional; location, room, view, hosts, food.
country manor that is simple but splendid; rooms that are authentic and welcoming; a host who is just a delight; a delicious breakfast. we have been twice in the last few years. it is just such a special treat.

Room Tip: room with four poster bed is a delight for a night. or self contained one bed/lounge/kitchen is per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
34
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Property owned by the National Trust and tenanted to Vicky and Charlie, who farm there and run a fantastic bed and breakfast business. Only three or four rooms, we had the superior double. Award winning breakfast, sausage, bacon and black pudding were outstanding, with eggs from the farm. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely accommodation, modern bathroom fittings but room still has the feel for the period it was built. Lovely sitting room area for guests and Vicky quite happy to let you wonder round the property and gardens taking it all in. Nice little touches made the visit very personal, from the chocolate biscuits with the tea and coffee to the damson gin from the damson tree in the garden. £95 per room per night, really good value and a visit we would like to repeat again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

A stunning Jacobean National Trust property run by the third generation of the same family. Outstanding hosts are Vicky, a keen rider and Charlie, who farms the land round Braithwaite. It is set in one of the most beautiful and peaceful locations in North Yorkshire, with spectacular views of hills and Dales and peacefully grazing sheep, with a moor rising gently behind the house. The house and garden are beautifully kept in a style very sympathetic to the history and feel of the building.

Rooms are very large and pleasantly decorated. There are very generous tea and coffee making facilities - Emma Bridgewater mugs and jugs, fresh milk on request and an excellent variety of tea and coffee, with some nice biscuits thrown in. A good television in every room and a Wifi code (free) available on request although not all rooms get reception. Due to the layout of this ancient and beautiful house, not all rooms have large modern baths or showers but they are all immaculately clean with fluffy white towels and nice soaps. We have stayed in all the rooms over the years - the Four Poster room is magnificent, with stunning views.

Vicky cooks an excellent and very generous breakfast at whatever time you request and could not be more helpful about providing information about local sites and restaurants.

Nearest towns are East Witton, where you can eat at the excellent if not inexpensive Blue Lion, or Middleham or Leyburn if you want to shop. There are excellent walks up hill or down dale.

We have stayed in many B&Bs in Yorkshire, all of very high quality but magical and beautiful Braithwaite Hall is the best.

Room Tip: All lovely but the Four Poster is a great treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floramalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I am honestly say that this is the only place I have ever stayed in that exceeded all expectations. Me and my boyfriend stayed in the four poster room for a night, the room was impressive to say the least. The views are amazing, it's so peaceful listening to nothing but the birds tweet and the sheep bah from the window. There were even binoculars in the room. Beig a clean freak i always check how clean everywhere i stay is, i can honestly say the cleanliness was perfect. Every nook and cranny was covered!
Vicki was truly delightful, she's one of the kindest people we have met going above and beyond to meet every requirement. Her and her husband made us so welcome. We will definitely be going back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed just one night whilst touring North of England and Scotland. Beautiful room with a very comfortable bed and the nice touch of chocolates and port. Vicky made us so welcome, the breakfast was perfectly cooked and nothing seemed too much trouble. We would love to come back and stay longer as we really didn't get enough time to explore the surrounding countryside which is stunning. Thank you Vicky!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alleigh23KentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I visited here with family to look at the house. We have ancestors that worked there so wanted to get a feel for the house and surroundings. There are only two rooms and the staircase on view but it is only £1 charge to visit for none national trust members. It was great to see the original oak staircase and the hall and lounge area. It is worth a visit for the oak staircase alone.
Not stayed here but it is on the agenda to stay for a couple of nights sometime in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bakingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had a 2 night stay here a couple of weeks ago in the superior double room, we were greated warmly by vicky who made us very welcome in her beautiful home. The breakfast was fantastic with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit and yogurts with the full english to follow it was spot on . Will definatly return again , superb value for money beautiful surrounding and good walks.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elizabess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Blue Lion
The Blue Lion
#1 of 1 in East Witton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
6.6 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
1.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#4 of 8 in Middleham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braithwaite Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braithwaite Hall

Property: Braithwaite Hall
Address: | Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Braithwaite Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Bed & Breakfast in a 17c Country house on a working hill farm in the picturesque Coverdale, One and half miles outside of East Witton. A spectacular Oak paneled King size four poster bedroom, also superior double bedroom both en-suite with surrounding views,twin room with private bathroom also available.Ideally located for touring the dales or quiet weekend trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Braithwaite Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braithwaite Hall Hotel East Witton
Braithwaite Hall East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing