We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and accommodation”
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stay here for occasional nights when on business visits and have never been disappointed with the quality of the meals. The choice is great,the service is personal and breakfast is bespoke. As for the accommodation I prefer the newer rooms in the annex to the rear but the rooms in the main block are OK, if a little small and dated (although in character of course). This location appears to be popular with hikers/ walkers/ ramblers - no surprise given the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are modern and very nice but involve a short walk in the open to the pub itself - on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this pub after coming over the moors on a minior road and there was thepub at the junction ot the minor road with the main road

We stopped for lunch and were very pleased with the meal. My wife she so enjoyed it, is still talking about here fish medley two weeks later. The Black Sheep beer was good too. very reasonable price considering the quality and the huge spotlessy white napkins prvided to our table outside where we overlooked the village green

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Congratulations first of all on your well deserved accolade as Good Food Pub of The Year 2014..We like to go for lunch on a Saturday when we know can take our border terrier in the bar with us where she is most welcome and even gets a sausage sometimes ! We took two dogs this Saturday and received our usual warm welcome and impeccable service from all the staff. We opted to have the two course meal which is excellent value at£15.50. The meal was preceded with the usual warm home baked rolls and melba toast and white linen napiery , much appreciated and highly unusual when eating in a bar anywhere. We shared a duck terrine with warm brioche, mulled chutney and salad leaves.My husband had the duck confit with a bean cassoulet and I had the most delicious poached fish medley with samphire and creamy cheese mash. Yum yum. We finished off with a really good rhubarb and ginger cheesecake. Everything was hot , well cooked and extremely tasty. The other thing I like is that they serve a really light and refreshing rose in a 50cl carafe. I think The Blue Lion is head and shoulders above the normal pub environment although I appreciate this is reflected in the price and the extensive range of food on offer. Look forward to returning soon. PS The homemade pork pie and piccalilli is really good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisymaydurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Been here many times before. It still has the laid back atmosphere and good vibe but something has gone awry in the kitchen. Dishes are under seasoned, under sauced and overcooked. Crab ravioli was tasteless and hot like it had just come out of a microwave. Fillet steak also has zero flavour. Haddock was dried out and done to death. And breakfast? Poached eggs hards as rocks, scrambled eggs barely scrambled and overdone and fried eggs fried until crunchy. Did the chef leave? A huge disappointment.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for a long weekend without kids, combined with a wedding nearby. Excellent food in a mature atmosphere. Lots of couples & grown up families dining. Good walks nearby including along riverside to abbey. Room quite compact in stable conversion, but was well appointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieCLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We booked this as a treat for a friend and I - the staff are very friendly, the room is comfortable and well appointed, the food was really good, London standards for Yorkshire prices! We were determined to just have two courses .... but in the end the puddings were just too tempting. Great wine list with a good selection by the glass and half litre.

Room Tip: Our room was room 8, a bit of a climb but nice views of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HitchinClarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Has delusions of grandeur and seems to view customers as an inconvenience. Hideously overpriced and trading on past reputation. In an area well blessed with good pubs and hotels am staggered can justify its existence.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Murrayluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

I am sorry your visit here was not a success - it seems that something has left you very disappointed with the experience. I can assure you that our customers are very important to us, and I wonder if you could contact me directly so that we can try and address the problems you had.
Helen Klein.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
435 reviews
5.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
9.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
262 reviews
13.2 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
751 reviews
17.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range: £48 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the splendor of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and nestled in the heart of iconic Wensleydale the historic 18th century Blue Lion Inn encapsulates the finest elements of traditional rural England. Paul and Helen Klein have run the Blue Lion Inn for over 25 years creating a blend of quintessential English coaching inn with modern comfort to relax and recharge. Whatever you require of the Blue Lion, be it real ale and food at the bar to candlelit fine dining and beautiful accommodation you can be sure that your stay will be homely, welcoming and full of friendly character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing