We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good all rounder”
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Blue Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very Good all rounder”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

finally got to stay here after passing it dozens of times over the years, it's been on the "to do" list for some time.
Booked direct online and got a discount on the room....No1 is big enough, simply furnished with two large beds pushed together to make a huge one. Bathroom built into the original room is very modern, though obviously a bit narrow.....shower over bath, with White Company toiletries.
We had a drink in the great bar before dinner, and were only one of two couples in the atmospheric dining (and breakfast) room. Menu has a varied choice of meat and fish dishes....on the chalkboard in the bar "a vegetarian menu is also available" is added almost as an afterthought. Starters and mains were very good, but my wife's veg was cold...it came back too hot to eat! Bit of a blip, otherwise everything was fine. Quality breakfast. Friendly landlord and staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpy-tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    127
    64
    17
    10
See reviews for
45
266
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

An early evening supper on a chilly, November night.
As ever, efficient staff, fire ablaze, a fine atmosphere, red wines served at the right temperature, food delicious and hearty, a bill that's neither cheap nor overpriced but a proprietar who takes time to ensure all's just right; even when you're not one of the local dignitaries. Thank you Paul. It's nice that my custom is appreciated. Others could take a lesson.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I used to come here years ago, so it was a trip down memory lane for me. Last time I stayed they hadn't got the Courtyard rooms. Tried to book a large room but all were taken so ended up in a petite double. I have to say, it was petite and I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer than a weekend (lost count of the times my husband and I said 'excuse me' to each other!). Nevertheless, the room was beautifully appointed and the bathroom really cute with the tiniest sink I have ever seen. The dinner was every bit as good as I remembered, as was breakfast. The only mild irritation was at breakfast. Breakfast was served until 10 am and we got down at around 9.30 am. Staff took ages to take our order and then ages to serve it. One of the staff, a Scot, started to clear up around us and we sensed irritation that we were still eating and ruining his routine! Anyway, apart from that, we had a wonderful stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Malaysian_Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have just spent a weekend at this beautiful old coaching inn with friends. We had one of the original rooms at the front of the building and our friends had a new room. Both rooms were more than adequate. There were lovely open fires even at breakfast time, great stone floors and perfect food and wine. The staff were extremely courteous and nothing was too much trouble. We look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farmers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you were looking for the archetypal country inn - The Blue Lion fits the bill. Stone; open fires; great ales on tap; lovely bar and restaurant food; little snug bar; and overlooking the village green in East Witton in the heart of Wensleydale. It's also a hotel - the annex rooms are a tad dark; furniture a little drab and dated; lighting a bit tired - but it was clean and had everything you would need for a couple of nights in the dales. The restaurant food was good - not exceptional - and if I am honest, I think the whole place is just about in need of a facelift. Having said all that - reading the Sunday papers in the bar with a pint of Theakstons Best Bitter was just wonderful. Staff were friendly and helpful and it's not hard to see why the place is so popular. Not sure we would stay there again but would certainly stop off for a pint and a bite to eat......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Media1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stay here for occasional nights when on business visits and have never been disappointed with the quality of the meals. The choice is great,the service is personal and breakfast is bespoke. As for the accommodation I prefer the newer rooms in the annex to the rear but the rooms in the main block are OK, if a little small and dated (although in character of course). This location appears to be popular with hikers/ walkers/ ramblers - no surprise given the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: The annex rooms are modern and very nice but involve a short walk in the open to the pub itself - on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I stumbled upon this pub after coming over the moors on a minior road and there was thepub at the junction ot the minor road with the main road

We stopped for lunch and were very pleased with the meal. My wife she so enjoyed it, is still talking about here fish medley two weeks later. The Black Sheep beer was good too. very reasonable price considering the quality and the huge spotlessy white napkins prvided to our table outside where we overlooked the village green

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianba2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
394 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
16.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,241 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
724 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Property: The Blue Lion
Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the splendor of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and nestled in the heart of iconic Wensleydale the historic 18th century Blue Lion Inn encapsulates the finest elements of traditional rural England. Paul and Helen Klein have run the Blue Lion Inn for over 25 years creating a blend of quintessential English coaching inn with modern comfort to relax and recharge. Whatever you require of the Blue Lion, be it real ale and food at the bar to candlelit fine dining and beautiful accommodation you can be sure that your stay will be homely, welcoming and full of friendly character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing