We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Lion April 2014”
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Blue Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here with friends for 4 days. Beautiful Yorkshire village and surrounding countryside. Service was excellent and the food good and plentiful. Nice choice of ales. Bedrooms were large and well equipped.

Room Tip: The ground floor carriage room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shattonblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We didn't stay here but the restaurant was recommended to us by the people where we were staying. The meal was lovely, I liked the cosy atmosphere in the bar which is where we ate in the end. I cannot fault the food or the service, their rhubarb and custard mille feuille was perfection xx

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gemmax74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely weekend at the Blue Lion. The food was to die for. Best Lamb in ages. Really dog friendly. Big Fires great stone floors and fantastic staff. Rooms nice and clean. Only gripe would be the heating in the room was either sauna or Ice Bath. Great stay though

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamMcFTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We booked in to the Blue Lion for 3 nights upon the re commendation of another publican. The location was wonderful and the room very comfortable however after the first night it was disappointing that the staff were impersonal as not once in the 3 days we were there did they address us by name or enquire if everything was to our satisfaction.
We hope that this review will be taken as constructive criticism as it is a lovely hotel but they will need to work hard to maintain their current reputation.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennylb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Repeat guests....last time we commented on how good the food was...this time - even better. We're impressed that the already-great menu, food presentation and quality is continuously improved here.
For us it is a prefect get-away - a great welcoming inn, with no pretensions, nice bar, good beers, excellent wines, and the above-mentioned food.
Choice of eating in the restaurant or bar - unless you're with a party, we don't really see the point of the restaurant...the bar is so authentic and homely.
You will encounter the occasional hoorays, who stay here and try to pretend they're better than the rest of us. In the setting of the Blue Lion, for us, that is a source of amusement rather than annoyance.
Sleep quality great, all the staff totally focussed on making the guest experience memorable.
Particular thanks to the chef, for an outstanding rabbit dish that really excelled, although just as much credit to the rest of the team too.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms best if you take your dog(s).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRoliingMcStones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Spent a wonderful cold winter's night at the Blue Lion for my birthday. Having been recommended by a member of my family who has been going for years to this great Yorkshire pub and hotel we were not disappointed. The rooms are modestly equipped with White Company guest amenities (nice touch). Even better that they allow dogs. The food and service was superb. Nice that the owner was there taking orders and overseeing everything. The only thing I would have liked is some background music, but once the bar was full this was not noticed. Ask for a table in the bar area by the open fire. Also, reception have a list of lovely Yorkshire walks straight out of the pub.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simonpwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Re-visited the Blue Lion recently with friends and once again was delighted with the quality of the food. We ate in the bar which has a great atmosphere, traditional surroundings and large log fire. The staff were most attentive and helpful. All in all a very happy experience!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
427 reviews
5.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
16.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
9.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
14.0 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range: £78 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the splendor of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and nestled in the heart of iconic Wensleydale the historic 18th century Blue Lion Inn encapsulates the finest elements of traditional rural England. Paul and Helen Klein have run the Blue Lion Inn for over 25 years creating a blend of quintessential English coaching inn with modern comfort to relax and recharge. Whatever you require of the Blue Lion, be it real ale and food at the bar to candlelit fine dining and beautiful accommodation you can be sure that your stay will be homely, welcoming and full of friendly character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing