We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Class”
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Lion
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed for two nights in one of the Courtyard Superior rooms. Everything about our stay was perfect. The room was extremely comfortable, spotlessly clean, and well furnished. We had the usual tea and coffee facilities en suite with the offer of fresh milk or cream available at no extra cost from reception. The bathroom was newly refurbished with big, soft white , (not grey) fluffy towels and "White Stuff" toiletries.
The breakfast menu offered plenty of choice and the food was well cooked and presented.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings and on both occasions enjoyed superb meals. The meat was locally sourced and perfectly cooked, absolutely mouth watering! The restaurant and bar menus were the same so you could eat the same top quality meals in a less formal setting if you wished.
The bar offers a fine choice of locally brewed beers as well as a good selection of wines.
Every member of staff- the reception staff, the bar staff, the waiters and waitresses, the chef, and the management was polite , helpful and courteous.
Of course the setting of the hotel adds to the ambience. The beautiful little village of East Witton with its village green and one shop is idyllic, set in the beautiful surrounds of Wensleydale.
We will definitely return to this hotel, sooner rather than later!

Room Tip: Check the website for the rooms which are available. It gives an accurate description of what is on...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Linda0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for The Blue Lion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

Three generations and several strands of my family met here last week for Sunday lunch; the oldest member of our group was over 70 the youngest just 7. We ate in the dining room and had pre-booked which I would advise. The menu had the usual Sunday roast offerings and also other less traditional choices. We had three courses; all were first class as was the excellent and friendly service. Our pre meal ale was also top notch and the wine list had some excellent offerings. I only get to eat here when I stay in the dales and I would love this place to be my Sunday local.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank richie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We decided to plan a last minute overnight break and were drawn to the Blue Lion because of the dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the fact they allow dogs to stay over too. We went ahead and booked, arrived at our destination and were greeted with more than we expected. The guest room we were allocated was in the former stable block and was spotlessly clean, fresh smelling (despite allowing dogs in the rooms) and comfortable. We did a walk from East Witton to Middleham castle using perfectly detailed maps/instructions borrowed from the Blue Lion, very handy as we jumped in the car forgetting our maps!! After freshening up we sat down to eat in the beautiful dining room, the only problem we had was deciding what to choose from the menu! We weren't disappointed the food was lovely, the service wasn't intrusive and for a Wednesday evening there was a busy, lively atmosphere. Breakfast was equally as delightful the morning after with plenty of choices including a cold buffet of fruit and cereals followed by a cooked breakfast with choices such as the full English or smoked haddock. We couldn't fault the Blue Lion and would highly recommend a visit!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We really enjoyed our evening meal here. The quality of the main courses was extremely good (smoked haddock/lamb) - and my cheeseboard to follow was a particular highlight! Although the venue was very busy - we could not fault the service. Good value and we would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazza932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Blue Lion is a very traditional Yorkshire Dales pub which just happens to have an exceptional restaurant. The food is excellent and the dining room is cosy and charming. Great wine list too. The rooms are spacious and nicely done with White Company toiletries! Perfect location for exploring the Dales and lovely market towns like Middleham, Masham, Leyburn and Bedale.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tancred1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Spent the weekend here, courtesy of my lovely wife. Exceptionally good overall, but one or two areas of potential improvement.
The food, pricey...but worth it. Top tip...live in ...very good inclusive deal!
Good bar prices...except the wine...very pricey...but again...for very good wine.
Accommodation...room clean and well decorated, excellent bedlinen (excepting slightly soft but high quality down pillows) , and quality toiletries.
Room 8 relatively quiet and restful until family( noisy child) crisis downstairs shattered the peace on night one (these things happen!) , second night blissful.....until 7.00 when the extractor fan in the main kitchen kicked in.
Service...exemplary...from every member of the team!
Will we return?
With a few tweaks...change of room? Try and stop us!

Room Tip: Stable block, ground floor .10, 11, 12.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SILVERFOXAberdour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We have just returned from the Blue Lion, to say we were disappointed is an understatement. The service from start to finish was appalling. We waited 1hr between eating our starter and the main course arriving, when it finally arrived it was Luke warm and mediocre, the 1 potato on my plate was hard and lukewarm. Not once were we asked if we were enjoying our meal, the waiter didn't bother to pour the wine which I think is standard in most good restaurants, the head waiter was miserable and a smile would not have gone amiss, when we went to reception to pay, the woman thrust the bill at us and said "check that if you would", again, we still weren't asked if we had enjoyed our meal. The only person who deserves some praise was the young man behind the bar. Definitely not worth a visit, people who spend their hard earned money in restaurant's should at least be given a good service and a smile. Sorry but we wouldn't recommend the food or the restaurant, who wants to be served by miserable staff and be served middle of the road food.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank huskyjunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Witton
1.5 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middleham
417 reviews
16.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
410 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
5.5 mi away
The Wensleydale Heifer
The Wensleydale Heifer
#1 of 4 in West Witton
1,592 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Priory Guesthouse
The Priory Guesthouse
#1 of 8 in Middleham
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range: £93 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the splendor of the Yorkshire Dales National Park and nestled in the heart of iconic Wensleydale the historic 18th century Blue Lion Inn encapsulates the finest elements of traditional rural England. Paul and Helen Klein have run the Blue Lion Inn for over 25 years creating a blend of quintessential English coaching inn with modern comfort to relax and recharge. Whatever you require of the Blue Lion, be it real ale and food at the bar to candlelit fine dining and beautiful accommodation you can be sure that your stay will be homely, welcoming and full of friendly character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing