We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hikers take note”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roraima House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staithes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Roraima House
Ranked #2 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hikers take note”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

As an American hiker I want to add to the chorus cheering the wonderful hosts and accommodations at Roraima House and give a shout out to all hikers who want a base for coastal hiking. Staithes, an unspoiled fishing village rich in art and history, is an eight mile hike along the Cleveland Way coastal trail from the train station at Saltby. My window at Roraima overlooked the tallest point on England's east coast. Over afternoon tea and breakfast, Stuart and Sandra pointed out the special places of interest only a local hiker would know. With their guidance, I followed a footpath to a little known hilltop bench to drink morning tea while watching the sun rise before returning for a fabulous breakfast. I didn't want to hike with a pack, so staying at Roraima was perfect. I hiked the coastal trail and returned by bus, which run every 30 minutes between Whitby and the coastal towns along the way. This allowed me to walk any portion of the trail in any order--I could spend most of the day in Whitby and still hike to my heart's content. When I got tired of beautiful vistas of cliffs and sand beaches, I headed out on a woodland road up to the moors from Staithes. Not a single car passed in four miles; violets were blooming in the middle of it and the banks were an herbarium of spring flowers. My circle hike came back along a quiet farm road that followed a ridge back to Staithes. The view of the coast just kept unfolding for the three miles downhill into town. Just rural walking at its best. Never had a better time than staying with Stuart and Sandra at Roraima.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
125
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights at Roraima House. We stayed in the lovely Room 1 which is a large room at the front of the house, with 4-poster bed and a huge bathroom with a big deep bath. We were given a little bath ducky on departure to remind us of our stay!. When we arrived Stuart and Sandra provided afternoon tea with delicious home-made cakes. This is available every day if you are around between 4:30 and 5:00pm! The room was lovely with a good view, enjoyed from the armchairs, towards Boulby. The breakfasts were lovely too and Stuart and Sandra were the perfect hosts. They can advise you of the best places to eat and see the sights. We were able to enjoy several walks along the Cleveland Way and around the picturesque harbour. We found lots of fossils just under the cliffs round the bay from the harbour. There are 3 pubs and several cafes, a short walk down the hill, for food and refreshments. As the weather was so good, we were also able to sit out in the private, neat, front garden too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LinSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We stayed at the Roraima for two nights due to us attending our friends wedding on March 12th. When we arrived the night before the wedding we were welcomed by Stuart, who straight away from meeting him was so obliging. The morning of the wedding we had a fabulous breakfast, which was served on a large table where all the guests sit together. This was great cos everyone just sat and chatted and got to know each other. Our room had a four poster bed which was soooo comfy, and a massive bathroom with a roll top bath. The views were fabulous from our window and the weather was fabulous too. Sandra and Stuart couldnt have done enough we even arranged for the wedding flowers to be delivered there and Sandra sorted the delivery of them while I got ready for the wedding. We will definatley return and next time we will take our family. Sharon & Connor from Barnsley South Yorkshire.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorrento11thAug2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Right from my first email to find out about availability Stuart and Sandra were helpful and accommodating. They run a beautiful house with a lovely friendly personal service. Our room was spacious and very comfortable with lovely views to the sea and across the hills. Breakfast was cooked to order accompanied by homemade bread and copious amounts of tea, a great start to the day! We always made sure we returned for the tea and homemade cake served every afternoon, a lovely extra. Morning and afternoon in the dining room were always accompanied by friendly helpful chats about local attractions and evening meal suggestions which were always spot on. A really special place to stay, we are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hudders63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a great time at a great guest house. It is rare to find somewhere with a high standard of accommodation that feels comfortable and relaxed. The owners are clearly are committed and genuinely enthusiastic about providing a great experience for their guests within the accommodation and local area and bent over backwards to make sure we were happy and well attended to. Without being intrusive, from the warm welcome, to the tea and cake, delicious breakfast and nice touch of a little bath duck to take away as souvenir, it was apparent that they put their heart into their business and the result was a friendly, efficient and personalised service. Its a great guest house in a lovely quaint costal village. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loddon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

You'll be hard pushed to find another BB that is as homely and welcoming as Sandra and Stuart's Roraima House.
They are such lovely hosts and clearly enjoy sharing their beautiful home with their lucky guests.
Nothing is too much trouble for them and they will make you feel like you are the most important guest in the place.
Breakfast is plentiful and cooked to order and rooms are tastefully decorated and fitted out with quality furnishings. Everything you need, including a rubber duck for the bath!
Our only regret is that we couldn't stay any longer......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juzkrewzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

The warm welcome on arrival. The superb accommodation. The hearty breakfast. The relaxed atmosphere. All went to make one of the best short breaks we've ever had. Stuart & Sandra are two of the nicest people you could ever meet, and they run Roraima with an obvious passion for what they do. If you need advice on where to eat or places to visit They're an absolute mine of information. And after a full day sightseeing or shopping the tea and homemade cake in the afternoon are a lovely touch. As a base for touring this part of North Yorkshire I can't now think of a nicer place to stay.

Room Tip: Room three has the most comfortable bed you're ever likely to find anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beestonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dotty's Boutique B&B
Dotty's Boutique B&B
#3 of 6 in Staithes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cleveland Corner
Cleveland Corner
#4 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roraima House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roraima House

Property: Roraima House
Address: 40 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Victorian Sea Captains house. Extensive, recent, sympathetic refurbishment creating a beautiful home & B&B. Full of period features, stained glass windows, antiques & our collection of art work. King-size, four-poster, huge en-suite with shower & roll-top bath. Double en-suite room and top floor 'family suite' with double & twin, kitchen/diner/lounge & bathroom. Fresh home made cake served in the afternoon. Sandra & Stuart look forward to welcoming you to Roraima House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roraima House Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing