We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lifeboat weekend”
Review of Captain Cook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Cook Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Staithes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed over for the lifeboat weekend, great location at the top off the hill, good views from the rooms, basic but clean well worth the money you pay, very friendly atmosphere and landlady , would stay again !!






  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaunh2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

This inn is under refurbishment, the landlord who is a very friendly man explained to us that there had been a fire in one of the rooms and had knocked the refurb back, because of this we didn't have a bathroom in our room. However he let us use the bathroom in the next room and gave us our own code for this so we did have our privacy. The rooms are basic just somewhere to crash we could have paid more for a hotel and we could have paid less but we wouldn't have got the lovely ale and food we got at the Captain Cook. The steak and ale pie beat my husband and that very rarely happens I had a prawn salad and wow I've never seen so many prawns on a salad it was great really good value. The landlord takes great pride in is ales if your staying over try them all. This inn as character and must never be turned in a plastic palace with plastic staff. The staff were lovely and friendly as were the locals. Going back for the beer and bangers weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99Nellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I recently stayed in Staithes and this was the pub that the owner of our B&B recommended to eat at. We had seen the pub earlier and not given it much of a second glance as it seemed a bit tired. What I will say is what the place lacks in splendour it more than makes up for in its food. The steak pie was simply huge and packed full of chunks of beef. I also opted for chips with it which were like chip shop chips. I would also like to say that the staff were lovely, friendly and attentive. My only criticism is that I was far too full to try a pudding. Please do not be put off by the appearance of this as a place to eat, I would most definitely return to eat again.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We called during the hot period in july, the bar staff were very friendly ,the real ale excellent, the crab sandwiches were second to none, best I have tasted ever. The place is a bit tired but it has loads of character, hope it stays as it is and does not turn into a sterile modern pub

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gillianmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My husband and his friend were doing coast to coast in a day and we travelled with a new mum and baby under four months old. Stayed here Sat 29th June 2013. Again our sentiments are in line with other comments posted about Captain Cook Inn, that this place is tired and guests enter through a shabby back entrance. However, this aside, we cannot commend the staff and owners highly enough.. We are self employed and know the effort and expense of running the business and you can't get there overnight. The staff were great, the rooms were plain and dated but absolutely spotless, the bedlinen was professionally laundered and the ales were top notch, along with a hearty and delicious breakfast. Take a brief walk into the old village down towards the sea - full of history and well worth exploring. All we can say to Captain Cook and crew - keep doing what you are doing, You are on the right course and you will get there!

Room Tip: Top floor double room has its own en-suite but no shower. Some of the other rooms share a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here on 26th May 2013 with my family for the night. Looks lovely from the outside and the pub area on groundfloor is alright with friendly locals and nice selection of food and ales.

The room (rm 3) was the large room with 4 single beds, the towels and bedding were clean and the beds were comfortable enough.

However, the decor was very dated and shabby at best. The carpet in the room looked as if it was down when the building was built, very worn and grubby. The bathroom (apparently we were the only room with out an en-suit) was rough at best the toilet my wife had to clean before we could use it and there was no toilet roll on arrival.

The chap who checked us in was friendly and gave us all the details we needed. Was didssapointed to find out that although advertised as a B&B, breakfast was at an extra charge.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazgledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My husband and I were travelling from south west Cumbria to Butlins at Skegness on our motorbikes to attend the Motorcycle News Live show. We decided to add an extra day to our trip to cut down on the travelling time;as it's not too warm yet and we've become fairweather bikers in our old age! As neither of us have done much of the east coast it would also give us chance to visit Whitby and Scarborough en route. I found the Captain Cook Inn on Expedia and it seemed to be just what we wanted. When we arrived the first reaction was not good! It looked a bit shabby and run down. However the friendliness of the staff and the locals in the bar quickly won us round and we learned that it was under new management and currently being refurbished. We chose freshly caught haddock from the menu, which was lightly battered to perfection and served with proper chunky homemade chips and mushy peas. To my husband's delight they were having a beer festival, so after our meal we proceeded to sample several of their splendid collection of real ales. The landlord was a mine of information about the local area and took time to show us several of the many pictures which hang on the bar walls, forming a pictorial history of the area and the building which was orginally a hotel for the railway that ran through the village. We had a comfortable night and will return in the future. They are dog friendly
too, always a bonus for us.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms if you're picky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dingle1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.3 mi away
The Endeavour Staithes with Luxury Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
550 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,562 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Inn

Address: 60 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Price Range: £73 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Cook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Cook Inn sits in the top of the beautiful village of Staithes, situated on the Cleveland Way and only 10 miles to Whitby, its perfectly situated for all travellers. The Inn offers nine well appointed rooms, all en-suite, with TV, complementary refreshment trays and bathroom goodies. There is free parking for customers and free access to wi-fi. Customers have a choice of guest real ale's or can opt for our locally brewed Northern Navigator from the well stocked bar, which has been voted Winter Pub of the Season 15/16 by the local CAMRA group. Our menu is varied and we offer a 'specials' board along side our regular menu. Our freshly prepared food can be enjoyed either in the bar or in the elegent dining room, or indeed weather permitting alfresco! We also offer great Sunday Lunches every Sunday throughout the year. All our food is freshly prepared in our 5 star hygiene rated kitchen. Whether you're just popping in for a drink, a bite to eat or staying for a while in one of our comfortable rooms, we will ensure you have a thoroughly enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Cook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Hotel Staithes
Captain Cook Inn Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing