We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday dinner”
Review of Captain Cook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain Cook Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Staithes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in for Sunday dinner and couldn't knock it, nice meat and a great selection of veg and proper gravy!
Pudding was also nice and sensibly priced at £3.50
Main courses were two for £12 which was also good value.
The pub is slowly been refurbished since been taken over and is looking better already.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Filip_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed at the Captain Cook on Saturday night. Brilliant in all departments. The refurbishment that some have mentioned is well underway now. The bar and restaurant area are all really nice and our room was top notch!
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Stayed here just for one night (Saturday) as a friends band were playing a gig. The position of this hotel is excellent for exploring Staithes and surrounding areas plus there is parking for cars which is a massive bonus for this village! The owners (Clare and Heath) were so welcoming and couldn't do enough for you! We had a bar meal which was gorgeous, proper home cooked food and huge portions which actually filled my 16 year old son which is a huge feat believe me! The pub and hotel was very busy, a night of live bands had drawn a large crowd and all rooms booked with surfers visiting the coast. However, the atmosphere was so friendly with extremely hard working staff who couldn't do enough for you! Breakfast was filling and again, individual requests from other guests was met with a "can do" response! Yes, there is a total refurbishment ongoing but this did not distract from a total friendly, warm and cosy stay! We will be back in the new year and can't wait to see the hotel after its refurb!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It may not look the best in town but since the new owners took over a month ago the pub really is having a face lift. This will no doubt take some time but first impressions are good.
However you do not have to wait for the food to get better it's great now. Amanda and daughter Sam do some fantastic Bar Food. All home made, chips from the potato!! To die for and try the steak pie, a good size portion full of meat in a lovely full pastry case, or try the gammon, my wife had the fish, beautifully cooked.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 40sands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The Captain Cook Inn is going through refurbishment and is currently being re-vamped!
Definitely watch this space, I think good things are too come especially as it is now under new management. Very Friendly and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We didn't stay in the hotel. The food was recommended to us so we went for a family meal while staying in Staithes. We were told that whilst the decor was awful, the food was pretty good. But sadly the food matched the decor! If you want a meal in Staithes, I suggest you give this place a miss. The pub wasn't even that busy, but it took over an hour for them to get our food to us. When it came, it was not worth the wait. It was desperately average pub food served with chips as hard as iron because the potatoes hadn't been cooked properly. For a decent meal, go down into Staithes harbour as there are places with nicer views, decor and food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewPain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

visited staithes on many occasions and frequented the captain cook inn for its superb real ales. decided on my latest visit with two friends to stay here for 1 night .
there is a major refurb underway and whilst there is still a long way to go, things are beginning to take shape.
as ever , the staff were superb. friendly , helpful and all most personable .
breakfast and evening meals were excellent.
a perfect base for visiting the area and if you are not too good walking , this hotel is at the top of the hill, thankfully.
full value for money, although the tariffs may alter on completion of the overall but this was not confirmed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhino25leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.3 mi away
The Endeavour Staithes with Luxury Bed & Breakfast
2.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
550 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
906 reviews
9.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,562 reviews
8.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Inn

Address: 60 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Price Range: £73 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Cook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Cook Inn sits in the top of the beautiful village of Staithes, situated on the Cleveland Way and only 10 miles to Whitby, its perfectly situated for all travellers. The Inn offers nine well appointed rooms, all en-suite, with TV, complementary refreshment trays and bathroom goodies. There is free parking for customers and free access to wi-fi. Customers have a choice of guest real ale's or can opt for our locally brewed Northern Navigator from the well stocked bar, which has been voted Winter Pub of the Season 15/16 by the local CAMRA group. Our menu is varied and we offer a 'specials' board along side our regular menu. Our freshly prepared food can be enjoyed either in the bar or in the elegent dining room, or indeed weather permitting alfresco! We also offer great Sunday Lunches every Sunday throughout the year. All our food is freshly prepared in our 5 star hygiene rated kitchen. Whether you're just popping in for a drink, a bite to eat or staying for a while in one of our comfortable rooms, we will ensure you have a thoroughly enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain Cook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Hotel Staithes
Captain Cook Inn Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing