We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Receb refurbishment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Cook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain Cook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Receb refurbishment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wifey remembered the pub as tired and uninviting from when she was last here. It's recently (Oct 2013?) changed hands and is in the process of being refurbished. We didn't stay in a room, but had a meal in the bar which was clearly recently repainted.

The menu was standard pub fayre but our steak and lasagna were both sound. Service was enthusiastic and excellent. Lovely pub with a great feel to it. Recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PontifexYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare M, Owner at Captain Cook Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review, there is still some way to go but we are getting there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    68
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
60
101
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
letchworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Visited on Easter Sunday for lunch, we both went for the roast dinner which was delicious ans served with 6 different vegetables, succulent meat and perfect yorkies.
With 2 drinks it came to £15.60!
I checked with the lady behind the bar as i thought she had made a mistake, but no it was correct.
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Having visited Staithes and the Captain Cook Inn on many occasions, I stayed overnight with friends in October last year. The pub was under new management and a massive refurb was underway. I returned over the Easter weekend , though only as a visitor. The transformation is truly amazing. The time and effort put into this venture cannot be overstated. There is still some work in hand but is in no way intrusive to customers or patrons. Hosts Claire and Heath are the most affable people and genuinely seem to enjoy what they are about. But what about the food? I defy anyone to eat two meals here in the same day . Sumptuous portions beautifully prepared at very generous prices. All this and chips to die for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhino25leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare M, Owner at Captain Cook Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your continued support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We just spent a week in Staithes with my wife's family, and visited this pub every night to play pool, and twice for food, which is so good, it is worth a second visit!

The family and staff that run it made us feel very welcome, and I popped in when walking my dog each day to pick my emails up using their wifi, which they were more than happy to let me do. The local customers that we met were all welcoming, and it was a great place to spend each evening of our holiday.

A great place ran by nice people, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ggjyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Highly recommended. Excellent food, great service. You don't get bar meals any better than this. Catering for 20 of us, in the dining room off the main bar, all courses came out on time, piping hot and in very generous portions. The kids meals were exceptional value, with home-made chicken nuggets and quality sausages on the menu, followed by a big bowl of mixed ice-cream with a flake. The home made chunky chips went down a storm with all 20 of us! The steaks, gammon, ribs and burgers were also cooked beautifully. Great grub, great value. Lovely traditional pub, cosy fire and a good games room to keep the kids and dads amused.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My sisters arranged a Surprise birthday party for me at the captain cook on Saturday , can't believe how much the place has changed since my last visit at Christmas.. The staff and service fantastic. The food is excellent value for money and offers a great Sunday roast just what the village needs, well worth the walk up the hill. A must when visiting staithes .

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ste-cal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Popped in for Sunday dinner and couldn't knock it, nice meat and a great selection of veg and proper gravy!
Pudding was also nice and sensibly priced at £3.50
Main courses were two for £12 which was also good value.
The pub is slowly been refurbished since been taken over and is looking better already.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Filip_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cleveland Corner
Cleveland Corner
#4 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Inn

Property: Captain Cook Inn
Address: 60 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Cook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Cook Inn sits in the top of the beautiful village of Staithes, situated on the Cleveland Way and only 10 miles to Whitby, its perfectly situated for all travellers. The Inn offers nine well appointed rooms, all en-suite, with TV, complementary refreshment trays and bathroom goodies. There is free parking for customers and free access to wi-fi. Customers have a choice of guest real ale's or can opt for our locally brewed Northern Navigator from the well stocked bar, which has been voted Winter Pub of the Season 15/16 by the local CAMRA group. Our menu is varied and we offer a 'specials' board along side our regular menu. Our freshly prepared food can be enjoyed either in the bar or in the elegent dining room, or indeed weather permitting alfresco! We also offer great Sunday Lunches every Sunday throughout the year. All our food is freshly prepared in our 5 star hygiene rated kitchen. Whether you're just popping in for a drink, a bite to eat or staying for a while in one of our comfortable rooms, we will ensure you have a thoroughly enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Captain Cook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Hotel Staithes
Captain Cook Inn Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing