We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work in progress”
Review of Captain Cook Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain Cook Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Work in progress”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Our first time staying here, to attend a nearby family "do".
OK, it's still a work in progress, but our room was large, spotlessly clean and far superior to most that we've stayed in at nearby Whitby. Much cheaper too!
Just a minor hiccup, cups and tea/coffee were missing, but they were provided quickly as soon as we mentioned it.
Breakfast was great and served by a very pleasant lady, who couldn't have been more helpful.
We stayed on a Saturday and the bar was busy with customers and live music, late into the night.
But if you're bothered by a bit of noise, you shouldn't book into a pub/inn.
Everyone was pleasant and helpful and we think the new owners are creating a nice place with a good atmosphere. We'll certainly go back.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely views across rolling countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeksYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    73
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
61
106
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

What a wonderful inn Very friendly happy staff willing to tend to your every request would recommend this inn to all travellers the views are great & the drive around the village down all the narrow streets was exciting

Room Tip: Great place to see all the Captain Cook information easy drive into Whitby & beautiful countside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryripecupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

visited the captain cook Inn for lifeboat weekend 2014 first time since the new owners have taken over
looks like the long awaited refurbishment is taking place and will do the place some good, we ate here on the Saturday night although service was slow the food was great. Will definitely return!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shaunh2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We visited the Captain Cook Inn during our week long stay in staithes. Loads of real ale variety if you like that sort of thing and a pool table/darts for the kids. The place is going through a re-fit and face-lift which it could do with, but all in all we spent a great couple of hours

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wetherby
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

WE visit Staithes on a regular basis and frequent this pub for the past four years, the improvements made and on going are fantastic well done. we ate on Friday 1st August and the food was superb , well cooked and keen prices. GREAT beer as ever, keep up the good work

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I booked the captain cook inn for my husbands birthday as we had never travelled to this part of the country. Yes there is scaffolding round and ongoing work but that didn't bother us at all. The room had been refurbished and was very clean and fresh. Clare and Heath are very friendly and a special mention of Amanda and the bar staff who were very helpful and jovial. The breakfast was very good and overall the inn had a very pleasant atmosphere. A special thank you to you for the bottle of sparkly and card which was a very nice touch. Yes I would stay there if I was in the area again. Good value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor with good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeriehitchenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, Uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night whilst working away, amazing little find, extremely welcoming upon arrival. The room itself had recently been renovated and was extremely comfortable and clean. We went into the town for a few drinks and returned around 8pm for food, ordered a 10 oz ribeye steak, such a delicious meal. All in all I would recommend this hotel to all. It is priced far too cheaply, probably due to the ongoing building works however even with this considered the prices are very cheap.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex20072007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
0.2 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
2.3 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
508 reviews
6.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dotty's Boutique B&B
Dotty's Boutique B&B
#2 of 6 in Staithes
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal George B&B
Royal George B&B
#6 of 6 in Staithes
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Cook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Cook Inn

Property: Captain Cook Inn
Address: 60 Staithes Lane, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Captain Cook Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain Cook Inn sits in the top of the beautiful village of Staithes, situated on the Cleveland Way and only 10 miles to Whitby, its perfectly situated for all travellers. The Inn offers nine well appointed rooms, all en-suite, with TV, complementary refreshment trays and bathroom goodies. There is free parking for customers and free access to wi-fi. Customers have a choice of guest real ale's or can opt for our locally brewed Northern Navigator from the well stocked bar, which has been voted Winter Pub of the Season 15/16 by the local CAMRA group. Our menu is varied and we offer a 'specials' board along side our regular menu. Our freshly prepared food can be enjoyed either in the bar or in the elegent dining room, or indeed weather permitting alfresco! We also offer great Sunday Lunches every Sunday throughout the year. All our food is freshly prepared in our 5 star hygiene rated kitchen. Whether you're just popping in for a drink, a bite to eat or staying for a while in one of our comfortable rooms, we will ensure you have a thoroughly enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Captain Cook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Cook Hotel Staithes
Captain Cook Inn Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing