We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Food and Fab Company”
Review of Cleveland Corner - CLOSED

Cleveland Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Sharon & Rob welcome you to Cleveland Corner - a cosy 16 seater bistro, with art covered walls, housed in a 250 year old fisherman's cottage in the heart of picturesque Staithes. Being so close to the sea our daily specials board leans heavily towards fish but we still cater to the meat eater & vegetarian alike and have the ability to adapt to most dietary requirements. We take pride that the majority of our ingredients are sourced within North Yorkshire including our organic beer & all our meat & fish is from the village. Passionate in providing an atmosphere that showcases the food we believe so strongly in. We hope you enjoy your visit in every way.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab Food and Fab Company”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Myself my husband and the 2 children visited Cleveland Corner on our recent stay in Staithes. What can I say we all enjoyed it immensely the staff are fab, fun relaxed and feels like your with old friends.
The food was amazing.. yes i said it we all loved our meals and I tasted one of the best curry’s I have ever eaten.
Sharon has a great sense of humour and makes you feel really comfortable

This place has to be visited if you love your food.booking adviced

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    39
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must place to eat in beautiful Staithes”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

You are made to feel welcome from the moment you walk in. Sharon is a very attentive hostess and Rob's food is delicious. Booking is advisable to avoid disappointment. What more can I say, well worth supporting as they use locally sourced food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Quality food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Staithes for a week and tried the two pubs and this quaint bistro. It's small but perfectly formed. We had the Boullibaisse and the baked crab. The Boullibaisse was excellent. The baked crab was OK. I'm not convinced that adding red pepper to the crab meat worked but the portion size was spot on. The prices are reasonably high but you get what you pay for. Service was excellent. Because of its position and the bijou-esque interior this is probably a more pleasant place to eat in the colder months when you're happy to sit inside. The owners are clearly passionate about what they do and we wish them lots of success.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renoir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A delightful surprise!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This eating experience was a fantastic, and delightful, surprise in Staithes!! The food was delicious. Each of us (5) was satisfied with starters, main and puddings!! And, they have great wine options. A small quaint restaurant. Booking ahead is a good idea. Sharon and Rob are friendly with a fun sense of humor. Well worth the trip, especially if you are staying in Staithes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Flexible and family friendly”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Four adults and two nine year olds can be a headache in a small restaurant at 8pm, not a problem. Three of us had a starter that was not even on the menu and shared with the two boys, whitebait, a new experience for both, wine, beer & Vimto all on demand. A super sized starter as mains for one of the boys and skate, steak, ravioli, fish & chips & fish stew all served with a smile and in excellent form. Second time we have dinned here and there will be a third.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleveland Corner also viewed

Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing