We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat”
Review of The Ship Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staithes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ship Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here while walking the Cleveland Way (well worth walking - so pretty) and were very pleased. It's simply a lovely little B&B and really quaint. Used to be a pub but now decorated like an old farmhouse and the food is excellent. We were greeted after a long day's walking with a cream tea consisting of home-made scones, at no extra charge. The rooms are pretty and clean with duvets (I hate blankets that others have had close to their bodies) and tea-making facilities with fresh milk. The dining room downstairs is run as a cafe and has a lovely feel to it - almost as if you're dropping into to a friend's house. Comfortable leather sofas and magazines to browse through. Home-made bread at breakfast was a real treat - what time did they get up to cook that? They have a very pretty garden too, with tables at which you can have breakfast when the weather permits. Definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: The room with the four poster is the bigger of the two and very romantic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ponte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
There are newer reviews for The Ship Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2012

How often do you go back somewhere and find that it doesn't quite match your memories and expectations? Well not this time, it was fab!

From the lovely food to the comfy bed it was excellent once again. A different room this time as the b&b was full, the owner referred to it as "the private wing" a baby wing of a room in the eaves with a separate bathroom. It was really cosy and as long as you aren't both over 6" tall, just the ticket.

One tip, the coast walk to Staithes can be pretty slippy on the hilly bits when you least expect it, as I slid down one hill on my bottom whch my partner found highly amusing! The road walk back in the twilight may not be as romantic but in my case was probably the safer option.

Try it, I'm sure you will be delighted - we were.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1boudica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

A warm welcome by the fire with home made scones made up for drenching we had just endured. They dried our clothes & we were treated to home cooking of the highest standard, Squash & Courgette Soup, Roast Ham Joint, followed by Rhubarb Crumble - Just Brilliant !! - the wine was equally good.

This was the Best B & B we stayed in on our 9 day tour up the East Coast to Edinburgh.

The bedroom was of an equally high standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gordon070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This used to be a pub and is now an upmarket B&B. The hosts - he's a retired GP - were very welcoming and tea and cake was offered before we hardly had our boots off (we were walking the Cleveland Way and the Ship is minutes off the route). The dining-room - and, indeed, everywhere else - is well-appointed, showing great taste. The bedroom and en suite very comfortable. Meals can be order 24 hours in advance and seem likely to be of a high standard. We ate in one of the two local pubs - can't remember the name but mine hosts will tell you the better one. Friendly atmosphere, good beer and standard pub fare. All in all, the Ship was one of the best places we stayed at during our nine-day trek. Linger over the excellent breakfast as mine hosts love to talk.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank barford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We stayed here to revisit an area I had camped in years ago and loved. I hoped the area had stayed as unspoilt as I remembered it and was not disappointed. Port Musgrave itself is a sleepy village with a cliff walk down a very steep path which makes one feel as if a young teenager again exploring in a very "famous five" fashion! Close by is Runswick Bay, a tiny unspoilt seaside village with a beach rich in fossils and streams of clear hill water with tiny stones and pebbles to collect. Brilliant.

As for the Ship Inn itself, it was a delight, like staying with friends who do not bother you but are there if you need them, and with a lovely, friendly Jack Russell who gave us both a cuddle when we approached her but was kept firmly out of the way when food etc was being served.

The four poster room is elegantly furnished, spotlessly clean and not full of those tacky notices with lots of rules which are often found in b and bs. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a small fridge with a jug of real milk rather than the little cartons which always taste as if they have gone off. The check out time is 10:30 by the way but we felt this was perfectly reasonable as this is a b and b not a hotel!

We were welcomed with tea and home made scones with home made jam, a lovely treat after a long journey. Breakfast was one of the best we have enjoyed, a freshly made fruit salad with yoghurt, home made bread and jam, cereals and a full english breakfast which set us up for the day.

We would not hesitate to recommend the Ship Inn to anyone who wants a peaceful nights sleep, good food, welcoming hosts and time to relax after a hard working week or a long walk. We shall certainly return to recharge our batteries and challenge ourselves on the walks nearby!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 1boudica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night whilst exploring the local bays of staithes and runswick bay. We tried for accomodation in staithes but was unsuccessfull so we widened the search and was glad we did. The downstairs tearoom is extremely quaint with great food and drinks on offer....homemade bread and cakes are exceptional. Its 2 miles from runswisk bay and a mile and half from staithes...both reached via the scenic cleveland way. We were pretty tired after the walks to runswick and back and staithes and back so just bear this in mind if you plan to do the same id probably just go to staithes next time theres more to see and do. Although there are pubs and a restaurant in port mulgrave along the main road that we didnt see untill leaving the village.
The room was very well decorated, the owners have great taste and have clearly spent time and money on this refurb. It had a nice four poster bed with excellent ensuite. The breakfast was exceptional...prob the best breakfast ive had away from home....home made bread, fruits, yogurt, free range eggs, tomatoes on the vine...alot of little touches throughout the stay that go a long way. My only gripe and it is a small gripe is we were never told a check out time so just presumed it was a standard 11am......we had breakfast at 9 then retired for a little nap before we headed off to whitby for the day but as soon as we did the hoover was out and we kind of got the feeling the room was wanted straight away. Then at 10.45 we got a knock saying they wanted the room back...we then felt cheeky as we would never put a host out or stay longer than allowed...so prob best finding out what time check out time is if you plan a lay in. But that aside this is an excellent B&B with very attentive hosts and i would recommend it to anyone

Room Tip: ask for four poster at the front
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank lampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
1.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
5.8 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,075 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Captain Cook Inn
Captain Cook Inn
#1 of 6 in Staithes
249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dotty's Boutique B&B
Dotty's Boutique B&B
#2 of 6 in Staithes
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal George B&B
Royal George B&B
#6 of 6 in Staithes
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Address: 20 Rosedale Lane | Port Mulgrave, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5JZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family-run bed and breakfast. We're a small, former village inn in the hamlet of Port Mulgrave - near to Staithes. We have two comfortable, stylish bedrooms, with en-suite shower rooms. We also operate a tea room, for which we bake our own cakes (including our famous cheesecake) and bread. The freshly baked bread is part of the daily breakfast. We serve it with a selection of local produce, mainly organic, and cereals. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ship Inn Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing