We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, central and well-equipped”
other travellers have booked this property
'Coastguards' is a deceptively spacious old cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Coastguards' is a deceptively spacious old cottage
Part of the dining kitchen Our comfortable lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
'Coastguards' is a deceptively spacious old cottage
Part of the dining kitchen
Our comfortable lounge
lounge again
cottage bathroom
Bedroom 1, on 1st floor
Bedroom 2, 2nd floor
Bedroom 2 (cot)
Bedroom 3 (Sturdy bunks)
View of Staithes from CowBar (Cleveland) side. Rear of cottage in picture, centre Right
Bed3
Kitchen again
Boats 50 yards behind cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, central and well-equipped”
Reviewed 17 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Close to the harbour in lovely Staithes, nicely decorated without fuss and very comfortable beds! Coastguard cottage had everything we needed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
It was great to have you back Christine, really glad you got in touch again, and you are pleasure to deal with. I look forward to welcoming you back again.
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison E
1 review
“Great Family get together in Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed in Coastguard cottage to celebrate my husband's Birthday with the Family. It was perfect for us ,very well equipped. Despite the horrible weather we all enjoyed ourselves. It was bank holiday weekend so Staithes was very busy, we stayed in the cottage a lot of the weekend and enjoyed the lovely stone kitchen, where we cooked up some delicious food and sat around the table chatting and chilling. Thank you .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
Really glad you had such a good stay Alison, and hope the journey home was easy. Lovely to have you.
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A1967HQja...
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New year at Staithes”
Reviewed 6 February 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Great accommodation, excellently situated in the heart of Staithes. we celebrated new year and had a great time. The owner was very accommodating and helpful. We would definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Apr 2018
You were great to deal with Jane. Really glad you loved it.

Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maccclare...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and relaxing winter break”
Reviewed 22 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Coastguard Cottage had everything we needed for our holiday.
Away from the cottage there was plenty of good walking in close proximity and good pubs in the village for reward after a day in the fresh air.
The sun shone as well, although I guess that wouldn't be a guarantee with rental of the cottage.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2018
Was great having you at Coastguards, and hope we can welcome you back again!
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeresaO34...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home from home at the seaside”
Reviewed 12 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Very homely accommodation with all you require for a weeks stay in lovely Staithes.
The children love the beach rock pools and the famous crabbing sessions on the harbour.
A couple of pubs serving traditional pub grub. New this year a pizza themed restaurant with ice cream parlour.
Lots of great places to visit near by up and down the coast as well as in land.
Been many times to this accommodation not found any thing better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Always lovely to welcome your party back Teresa. We've not even managed to try "Cobbles" yet ourselves, but am told it's great, so adds further to what Staithes has to offer. Have a great festive season and look forward to being in touch again.
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Sally...
1 review
“Very good.”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage was equipped with everything that we needed. It was very conveniently located. Booking the holiday was simple and straightforward. Thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thanks so much Sally, hope we can welcome you back again soon! Have a lovely summer,

Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
magicgene...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good cottage friendly owner”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

It's a good, clean cottage, warm and spacious. Location is perfect, down in the village. I think perhaps what made me choose this over others though was the great hints and tips and advice for walks etc that Andy gave me in the run up to the stay. Anyone could own a nice cottage, but it's important to look after your guests and this is just what Andy did.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Thanks for the lovely review Alex - a pleasure to deal with you - and as I've seen what fabulous photography you do, by all means send me through anything I can use on facebook if you took any relevant Staithes pictures and I'll obviously apportion credit to yourself. Thanks again,
Andy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing