We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice home cooked food”
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Staithes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$10
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Durham
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very nice home cooked food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Visited here as we were staying in a cottage in Staithes. Prices really cheap and food really nice. Had steak pie and it was delicious. For good home cooking at reasonable prices I would highly recommend

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DurhamHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    36
    15
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beware if you have children!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Unfortunately we can not echo previous reviews of this pub. The landlady was quite rude to us and made it very clear that if you have children you are not welcome in the pub. What a shame! Thankfully there are other local pubs in the surrounding area which are much more welcoming. People of Dalehouse should be pulling together to try and encourage families to visit the are not drive them away. Very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TDCPCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best pubs in Britain”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

If only every pub was like this. A warm welcome, a warm fire and reasonably priced drinks. No wonder it's busy even on a Monday night when every other village pub in the area is empty! Then they gave us cheese and biscuits for a snack.
How every pub should be!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JefriBolkiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An old fashioned village pub with good honest food”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our family group of four adults and two children stayed nearby for a week and visited the Fox and Hounds a couple of times, eating there once. It is a bit like stepping into a time machine, not least for the prices: £2.40 for the more expensive of the two decent real ales (Wells Bombardier and the guest Adnams Southwold), £1.80 if you have the John Smiths. The staff are welcoming and there is a friendly atmosphere - it is clearly first and foremost a locals' pub and none the worse for it. The decor is traditional and so is the food (and that is intended as a compliment). There is a selection of meaty home cooked dishes including a game casserole, steak pie (short crust pastry of course), cushion of lamb, roast beef or turkey, and lamb stew, as well as a burger, curry and the obligatory Whitby scampi. The cushion of lamb was superb - not a cut I am familiar with, but it was succulent, tasty and... huge, served with mashed and roast potatoes, nicely cooked veg, a Yorkshire pudding and gravy. The steak pie with chips and peas also got top marks. More than anything, it all tasted like home cooking. When we visited (April 2014) there were no vegetarian dishes on offer - not a problem for our family of carnivores, I'm glad to say.

A few people have commented previously on the pub's attitude towards children. I can only sat that our 11 and 13 year old daughters were made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff, as we all were.

This is a lovely little pub, and I hope it stays just as it is.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traveling back in time”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Staying at the cottage next door We entered the pub it was like going back in time no sky TV or one arm bandits just great service good food and a great atmosphere and conversation was the only noise other than back ground music the likes of Patsy Cline and the like so relaxing Oh and P.S cheap ale

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesliehughes57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing