We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Tea Shop

The Tea Shop
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Staithes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: small, family-run cafe next to the roundabout opposite the municipal car park at the top of the village
The North :-)
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

On the only spring day so far my children and I called in here for breakfast while the other half was in surfing. A warm welcome from the lovely people there. Children made a fuss off, great menu (check out the specials boards), warm and cosy inside (though we opted to eat outside). Food was well presented, excellent quality and good sized portions. Customer service was excellent. Might actually start encouraging husband to surf more so we can come back soon !.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mashcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    16
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this wonderful cafe.”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We spotted this little place on our way down to the harbour but thought we'd look nearer the sea. It was a lovely cold but bright day and by the time we had finished exploring all cafes etc were full. Made our way back towards the car park and then saw it again. We judged it just right becasue ten minutes later it too was full and no wonder!!!! By far the best service we've had anywhere this year..the quiche was 5star quality (and we do know about food). My hungry husband had a breakfast pig and they were only too pleased to accomodate our one member with special dietry requirements. Took 3 pieces of the rhubarb and elderflower cake away with us and after eating it wished we'd bought the whole cake! You guys have got it perfectly right. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
284 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A surprise but so worth it”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Had a walk along the cliff tops of Staithes and on the way back, stopped for a coffee and lunch. Wow, what a lovely little cafe with such friendly people who run it. The food was fantastic, made to order and portion size was excellent. Great place to stop for a refresh after a long walk

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do Visit”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Absolutely wonderful little cafe.

The food is excellent, good value for money and the family who run it are wonderful, efficient and very friendly.

Traditional surroundings, good quality food, reasonabale prices and an all round good experience.

It might not be on the sea front but for quality, value and friendliness, it wins hands down.

A must to visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pipsypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed 20 November 2012

After a long walk along the beach and just managing to reach the top of the (extremely) steep hill, spotting The Tea Room nestling there was like seeing a mirage in the desert!
We hurried in before it disappeared and were met by very welcoming staff.
We had tea and toasted sandwiches with salad and the portions were just right.
Clean and friendly,we will definitely return.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank girlie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tea Shop also viewed

Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to The Tea Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing