We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service from the owner/manager” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Drift

Sea Drift
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in Staithes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service from the owner/manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I went to the counter and asked for a pot of tea and a cheese scone. The reply was "No". Followed by "we don't have any cheese scones". The way she said no and looked at me wanted me to leave immediately, but I was there with my wife as part of my 40th birthday weekend and didn't want any kind of downer. After ordering, we sat outside at a table and had to ask for it to be cleaned. Again the look she gave was nasty. The next time we go to Staithes we will go to the cafe at the top of the hill next to the main car park.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian_R_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    18
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunday morning hot drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Cracking hot drinks, reasonably priced. Really impressed with the hot drinks plus the friendly service. Thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank Howard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Small Cafe In Staithes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was our second visit to Staithes and headed straight for the Cafe since we enjoyed it so much last year. We were not disappointed. Had the Beef and Stilton sandwiches with Mocha's. Freshly made with plenty of both beef and stilton. The added bonus being they sell Whitby gothic Ice cream so we had to have one before we left. There is limited seating but thats not a criticism as the take away service is good and plenty of seating around the Harbour itself. We will Return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Stretch377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Our favourite café in staithes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

When in staithes we make a beeline for this cafe. The bacon and brie rolls are absolutely fantastic. We've sat inside and outside this cafe in all weathers luckily this last occasion was in glorious sunshine. A real mid morning treat.

Helpful?
2 Thank bagpackers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard to decide.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Staithes is a lovely old fishing village, but would we visit as often if it didn't have this great café? Friendly staff, well cooked food, creamy scrambled eggs, good bacon and brie sandwich. The difficult part is deciding whether to have the lush Coble cake, or the delicious coffee and walnut, both served warm with cream. Great view of the harbour. We visit this café often and are never disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vegie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sea Drift also viewed

Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
Staithes, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Sea Drift? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing