We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcoming, highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staithes
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very welcoming, highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Just spent 2 nights at this little gem in the heart of Staithes. The place has recently been refurbished to a high standard and the highly enthusiastic owner Dave, made us feel very welcome. The room was very clean with fresh crisp linen and we were glad to have real milk in the room (no UHT milk here, unlike most other places we've visited).

If you are visiting Staithes for the day, the restaurant is well worth a visit. We ate there the first night and were pleasantly surprised at the high quality, cooked to perfection fish dishes. If we are in the area again, we will certainly visit the restaurant again - amazing! Thank you Dave and Debbie for a great weekend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaZ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
99
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Ate here during our stay in Staithes. The place has recently had a complete make over and is a welcome addition to the choice of eateries in Staithes. We were made very welcome the minute we stepped through the door. The whole place is spotless and the food and service were fantastic. would definitiely recommend for a special occasion or just a nice evening out. Everything was just perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnw973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

wow, we have just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay, this place is the centre of a sleepy village, close to everything, well worth the money paid, the bedrooms are spacious, clean, and close to everything, we were a party of 2 adults and a child, and stayed in the top room, the views were spectacular, from walking in to the room, crisp linen bed sheets, no expense spared, large room, comfy beds. we met the owner david who has renovated the building, and done a grand job. We ate in the restaurant on our second night, the food was fabulous, well worth the extra that we got charged for the pub food we had on our first night, would recommend the beef stroganoff, and lobster. Have booked again , and can not wait to return have booked again. A little gem that we would recommend to close friends. can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: pick the top room, fabulous views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

There are a number of places to eat in Staithes and all are pretty good. However if you are celebrating or looking for a special treat whilst in the area then look no further.
Whilst at the top end, nevertheless the restaurant offers good value with top quality locally sourced meat and fish.
The wine list is small but perfectly formed - we had the Barbera which was very good.
We haven't seen the accommodation, living as we do in the village most of the time, but I am told it is to a high standard.
I understand it is the proprietors first restaurant, so well done Dave, you got it right first time!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank EddieYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed 31/7 for two nights after aborting a stay in Scarborough at the last minute - good move!

Re-opened as a new venture by David Linley this establishment has a great location at the very heart of picturesque Staithes. Redecorated to agood standard the top floor room is sizwable and enjoys a great sea view. Tea/coffee facilities were provided as were earplugs (seagulls 24/7!!) Prices are not cheap for B&B but breakfast is very good and linen/towels etc. all high quality. One small grous is that our room was not serviced at all after our first night which I would have expected if only to check toiletries/loo paper etc.

David was a very welcoming host who went out of his way to impart local knowlede of walks, pubs,shops. You cannot park down in the village except to unload. Good secure parking available up the hill at Glenvale for £5 per night.

We had dinner in the restaurant on our second night and the food was excellent - both fish and steak. Again not cheap and there were not very many diners. We hope David and his excellent chef make a success of this venture but have concerns about whther he will be able to attract the right level of clientele in sufficient numbers. The local pubs serve pretty good standard food at lower prices and while Endeavour has a much higher food and service it still need to pull in enough people - lets hope so as we would love to be able to return here.

Bset of luck to David and his team on this new venture

Room Tip: Top room is more expensive but has a sea view - worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick-Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The new owner took over in May and has carried out an extensive renovation. Our room was newly decorated and immaculate. It was in a loft conversion so had a sloping ceiling - but it was large, had character and benefitted from a good sea view. The food was excellent fresh local seafood, beautifully prepared and well presented by a very good chef. There is still some work in progress so it is only likely to get better. Not the cheapest - but fair value for good quality in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sla007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a wonderful meal for 3 people. The owner was very attentive and knowledgeable about the area. The wines were perfect. The business has recently been taken over by David and he has renovated the building to a very high standard. The chef is French and the foods are locally sourced. We wish them well and will return

Room Tip: we did not stay here as we had a cottage in the village, but we hope to stay in the future
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susannaxxxxxxxxxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
7.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
16.2 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
9.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Address: 1 High Street, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staithes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast from £65 per room per night 3 x Doubles, 1 x Family Room with a stunning view of the harbour and out to sea, 1 x Twin, all rooms are en-suite and we offer a single occupancy discount. Dog, Surfer and Family Friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Endeavour Hotel Staithes
Endeavour Hotel Staithes
The Endeavour Restaurant With Rooms Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing