We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staithes
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Just a quick review we stayed for one night on a short break to the coast.staithes is a beautiful little fishing village and the endeavour is in a great location to explore the village.its been finished to a lovely standard our room was a good size and very clean.the owner is vey friendly and helpful and seeves a mean breakfast many thanks for for making our stay a good one.one note there is no parking in the village so you need to park at the top of the hill and walk down

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
99
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We had a great overnight stay in Staithes on our way further south from Edinburgh. The room at Endeavour was lovely with a great view of the cliffs and harbour. Our 6 year old was very keen to find out where 'Old Jack' lived and the owner, David, obliged by taking us on a tour of Staithes - around the village, down lanes to find hidden paintings, over jack's bridge and finally to jack's house! We had a very happy boy! Breakfast was fresh, local and delicious. Such a lovely place, full of character and made even more enjoyable by staying in a great, friendly and helpful B&B.

Room Tip: Top floor room has a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siegburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

top location, clean, reasonably spacious, modern enough, good breakfast, nice service, friendly boss who seems to know everybody in town. We were there for a holiday trip but can be recommended for all types of trips!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bernd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staithes was a delightful surprise - and, The Endeavour was a huge part of the surprise!! We were only there one night and wished we could have stayed for a few days. David was welcoming from the start and answered questions directly. He even made a booking for an excellent local restaurant, the Cleveland Corner, before our arrival, since the restaurant on site was not available at the time. Easy place to have a home base while traveling, or walking, in the area. The rooms were large with a heavenly bed - the best rest in days! If possible, we would recommend the top floor - views out over the sea and village!
Mark

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We had a bright and airy room, which was beautifully furnished and spotless. David is a fountain of local knowledge, and cooks a decent breakfast.
Staithes is a magical fishing village, with several local artists. Who's work is in odd places if you want to look.
A walk over the cliffs to Runswick Bay is a good 3.5 mile stretch, passing Port Mulgrave. Either walk back or catch the local bus.
Will stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Derick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Endeavour is a delightful B&B right in the heart of Staithes. David is an excellent host, warm welcoming and full of helpful suggestions to make the most of your stay. Nothing is too much trouble and he produces an excellent freshly cooked breakfast each morning. Our room was light and airy, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. A great stay and excellent value for money. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Having come across Staithes by accident, we booked a Friday night at the Endeavour, we were greeted by Dave who owns the place, he's a proper grand lad. He gave us loads of local info, little alleys to cut through etc, where to eat, history of Staithes and lots of other local info.
The Endeavour was brilliant, clean, modern, well placed, breakfast was very tasty, made by Dave, I would give you 1 piece of advise, if there are two of you booking a double room, book the triple on the top floor, it's called " sea view" for a reason. Brilliant views of the harbour, the town and the cliffs and of course the Sea and only £10 more.
Little touches make the stay, fresh flask of milk on arrival, chairs in front of the window and a pair of binoculars.
Bed was comfy, bathroom was large and spotless, tea ( proper Yorkshire tea ), coffee etc, hair drier, TV, kettle.
I'm sure I will have missed something, but Dave and the Endeavour are worthy of an excellent rating.

Car parking is at the top of a very steep hill, there is a council run one, my advice is to drive down the hill 50 metres and on the right there is I think it's called Glendale car park, slightly cheaper than the council one and 24 hr CCTV.

You can drive down to the hotel to drop off luggage, but there is no parking for non residents, small village, little space, so it's not surprising, not really a problem.

Room Tip: Top floor, double room with an extra single, £10 more per night, but sea views well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staithes
7.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
6.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
9.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms

Property: The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
Address: 1 High Street, Staithes, North York Moors National Park TS13 5BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Staithes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staithes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast from £65 per room per night 3 x Doubles, 1 x Family Room with a stunning view of the harbour and out to sea, 1 x Twin, all rooms are en-suite and we offer a single occupancy discount. Dog, Surfer and Family Friendly accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Endeavour Hotel Staithes
Endeavour Hotel Staithes
The Endeavour Restaurant With Rooms Staithes, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing