We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
184
25
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
25
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view room poached eggs the owner flask of fresh milk full english local produce amazing breakfast kippers couldn't do enough an excellent host our room was spotlessly clean top floor overnight stay b and b cleveland way top quality a lovely stay
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent B&B - located right in the heart of the picturesque village of Staithes - just a few yards from the harbour. Warm and comfortable room, great breakfast with generous portions of local produce. The owner David was incredibly knowledgeable about the local area - it’s history, places to visit, coastal walking routes, etc.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Leomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here in the twin room with my daughter for two nights to explore Staithes and local area. Our room had everything we needed and expected and more. For example, the hospitality tray included ground coffee and a cafetiere and we were given a flask of fresh milk. The bathroom was happily lacking in all those wasteful toiletries but had a big bottle of Radox. Breakfasts were in a league of their own. David prides himself on using local produce. There was a complete absence of annoying individual portions of butter and jams but a slab of butter and bowls of jam and marmalade along with granary toast. There was a great selection of variants on traditional English breakfasts - vegetarians catered for too - including free range poached eggs cooked to perfection, bacon, sausages and black pudding from the butcher down the street, and proper traditional kippers from the smokehouse at the top of the hill. Staithes is a wonderful place to stay and explore and lovely walks straight from the village on to the Cleveland Way. David is a mine of information. Good, friendly, local pubs with local produce for evening meals too. Staithes is not the place to have a car - the streets are tiny, cobbled, and full of little flights of steps - but you can drive to the door of the Endeavour, offload luggage, and park happily in a carpark at the top of the hill (no charge for this during the winter months it seems).

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pbrayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night here. A perfect retreat for a very relaxing night away. Very friendly owner who welcomed us on arrival and showed us to our room. Stayed on the top floor in a room with an incredible sea view which can be enjoyed from the bed as well. Fresh milk provided in a flask along with tea, coffee and biscuits. Very quiet location. Breakfast was delicious with ingredients locally sourced and very healthy portions. Definitely recommended for a quiet break away and would stay here again.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank bobo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

The proprietor is passionate about his business, his guests' enjoyment & the local area. Packed with marvellous touches to make your stay enjoyable (flasks of fresh milk, locally sourced produce, tasteful decoration), clean throughout & perfectly located I would not hesitate to stay here again.
A few useful 'heads up'; ample room exists for those of us whom are able to manoeuvre a car to off load, turnaround & head back to the car park at the top of the hill. David (said proprietor) may well be out when you check in but there will be a notice on the door as to his whereabouts, the Royal George is just across the road providing fine ale until quite late(!) and the stairs may be a challenge for some. Fear not, do not despair; your host will be happy to assist & advise.

All in all, perfect for a long weekend or quiet week.

Room tip: First floor at the back for a quieter room
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stevegibbons48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

Fabulous accommodation in stunning coastal location. Gorgeous sea view over quaint village rooftops from our very comfortable, well appointed ensuite bedroom. Delicious breakfasts and lots of local knowledge from our lovely host David. Staithes is a magical step back in time with unspoilt fishing harbour, cobbled streets, great pubs, tearooms, village stores and friendly locals. We spent many happy hours staring at the sea from outside the Cod and Lobster or from the Cleveland Way cliff top walk. Highly recommended. We will be back.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews