We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Cute comfy pet friendly cottage”
4.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good
29 reviews
Can you resist waking up to this view? Relax here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&T
Imagine sitting here all day and watching the world go by - the view from the bench outside No4
Cottage No4 is the location for the BBC's new series Old Jack's Boat
And here is Bernard Cribbins as Old Jack coming out of the cottage in the morning
Where better for sitting out than on our bench on our new (fake) grass? The only lawn in the village
The cottage has a cosy, comfy traditional sitting room with an open fire and a stunning vie
Warm winter evenings watching telly in front of the fire
The bedroom in cottage No4
Artists regularly stay here. Zoom into the painting left of the window - it's of the bedroom it
Looking out of the bedroom window
The shower room
Looking over lobster pots - The Fishermen's Cottages from down on the Staith
The Fishermen's Cottages have been our family business for almost 15 years
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the Fishermen's Cottages
View from the cottage over Staithes beck at dawn
Sitting room
Where better to relax over afternoon tea?
View from the cottage which is on the left of the photo
Staithes is a higgledy piggledy bunch of houses tumbling down to the sea.
Sunset over Staithes looking north
View from our cottage - you don't need to go anywhere else
We are at 4 Cowbar Bank, Staithes TS13 5BZ.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
polly017
Shropshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute comfy pet friendly cottage”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We to stayed in Staithes for 3 nights and needed somewhere to stay that was centrally situated and, as we also had our dog with us, somewhere that was also dog friendly so this 1 bedroom cottage fitted the bill perfectly. It's small but has everything you need with quaint touches that fit in with the laid back Staithes scene perfectly. The cottage is perched above the harbour and across the bridge from the main town so it is also very quiet at night as the single track road outside only leads to the harbour so there is very little, if any, traffic going by at night time. Also a very comfy double bed so we slept very soundly indeed.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It's cosy, cute and quirky
Liked least: Nothing - we had a super stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Probably the best view in the village”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Perched on a hill just above the bridge, this cottage is in the most idyllic position for a relaxing holiday, just watching the world go by. And that's what we did. Morning coffee, afternoon tea, and early evening drinks were enjoyed on that bench.

The cottage is warm and cosy, the open fire throws out heat - although the kitchen is tiny and does take some working out where you're going to prepare things. The bedroom is beamed and pretty - and waking up to that picturesque view is splendid. The parking space outside was a rarity in Staithes too.

We found the housekeepers very helpful and friendly, the cottage was spotlessly clean, and although not a super duper luxury, everything you could possibly need is there. Everything has been thought about.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Benches outside to watch the stunning view
Liked least: People coming and asking where Old jack was - TV series Old Jack's Boat is filmed there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere and wonderful views
Liked least: No news paper shop in village
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meerulove...
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Idyllic!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in February 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in no 4 for my husbands 60th birthday last year ( long weekend ) and fishermans cottage it really is. Built into the side of the cliff and very unspoilt. It is small but it's what we expected so weren't disappointed. It is probably one of the best located cottages in the whole of Staithes as it is overlooking the river and the sea but not so open that it is unprotected from the elements. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't it, if you're looking for a homely cottage totally suited to the location, it is perfect. I have given the kitchen and utensils an average mark only because the kitchen is tiny, little more than a cupboard, however it has an oven, hob, microwave and toaster and we were easily able to cook dinner for 2.
Staithes is ideally situated to explore the moors and the coast and heading down the coast towards Whitby there are some incredible views. We always enjoyed waking in the morning and looking out of the bedroom window surveying the water and enjoyed walks down to the beach and across into the village. I don't remember if wifi was available but I'm sure the owners will advise on that. Would we stay there again? Definitely!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The outside needed a coat of paint
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect escape for a quiet yet entertaining New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Had a fantastic New Year in this cottage in Staithes. Cottage was ideal for two and neighbours incredibly helpful when we were unprepared for lighting a coal fire!

Beautiful location, great pubs and lovely trip all round. highly recommended

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing