We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A little gem, anytime of year!”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017 Here's the view in the summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
60 reviews
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017
Here's the view in the summer
Our sitting room
Open fire makes all the difference!
The view on a Mediterranean blue-sky day down the beck from the front door
Our cottages are the location for the new BBC series Old Jack's Boat starring Bernard Cribbins
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea - we've got the only lawn in the village!
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea?
Wake up to this view
One of the most photographed and painted views in England is the view from our seat
The three cottages - No5 is on the left hand side
Artists regularly stay and paint from here - even the interior of the cottage
We discovered this Gill Carter painting by chance in a York gallery - the view from our sitting room
Looking over the lobster pots - view of the cottages up the beck from the staith
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the cottages
Dawn over the beck looking from the cottages
Wild water at the bottom of the beck
Staithes from the fields above
Sunset over Staithes looking north
We are at 5 Cowbar Bank, Staithes, TS13 5BZ
Bedroom
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left just above the bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith W
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem, anytime of year!”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My partner and I recently spent a week at this cottage and although we have been to the Fishermen's Cottages before this is the first time out of season. Frankly we were wondering how it would work. In the past our summer visits have been brilliant. The cottage is in one of the best locations with a magnificent view and sunny position. It has lovely unspoilt views of the harbour from the bench outside and from where one can also enjoy the the charm of the many cottages and rooftops on the other side of the beck, just so evocative of an earlier time. Parking outside the cottage is a big bonus.

The cottage was clean, comfortable and cosy and very thoughtfully equipped with guide books and everything you need. We didn't allow the the sometimes miserable weather to hinder our enjoyment of our week there. We had days out in Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay, Goathland and the moors and coastal walks when weather permitted. We spent evenings at the Bistro, local pubs and had suppers indoors by the fire - wonderful! All in all a great out of season break.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the cosy cottage and the availabilty of eveything close to you
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dee H
Charlbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb In Every Way”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Vacation = Holiday/Break/Trip/Rest/Retreat/Leave/Escape. Our stay/s in The Fishermen's Cottages over the last 30 years has always been all of the above. Rain or shine we leave the cottages feeling we have totally escaped. The cottages are clean and presented well, but not to the point that you can't relax about traipsing in with sand in your shoes. All three cottages are in a superb location with what I consider to be the best views of Staithes. From booking (as long as the cottages are available - and I always leave things rather late!) right through to checking-out - the whole get-away-from-it all experience is second to none.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Where do I start?
Liked least: Nope - can't think of a thing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 February 2013 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything :)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Gabidiego
Reviewed 6 February 2013 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location and decor of cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Burton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea view and friendliness of area
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lostinpie...
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the North Yoks Coast”
Reviewed 3 February 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have returned to the Fishermen's Cottages several times now due to their superb location in a hidden gem on the North Yorks Coast. Number 5 is quickly becoming a home from home as we relax on the bench outside looking across the beck and footbridge towards the sea with a view that will live long in the memory. The cottage itself is small but perfectly formed and retains the charm and character of yesteryear with original features. Entrance is via a perfectly adequate kitchen with space to prepare any meal if required. It is clean and airy. Hot water for the sink is via an electric boiler fed via an attached hose and works perfectly well. There is a full size electric cooker (there is no gas to this part of Staithes) and an under counter fridge.The lounge area is always maintained well by the excellent housekeeper. Fixtures are older but comfortable and blend in well with the cottage origins. We have used the coal fire previously with bags of coal and kindle available fairly cheaply on the village shop.A narrow staircase leads up to the bedroom. Again it is charming, well decorated and comfortable A small bathroom has been created off the bedroom with a shower unit, wc and WHB. These cottages rely on an electric pumped system so the noises can be a bit disconcerting at first but once you realise what it is it can be ignored
Access to the village via the footbridge leads into a quiet , quaint village with a few shops and a couple of excellent pubs where we have eaten quite a lot. The Royal George and Cod & lobster both have god ales and home cooked food. We always have an evening meal at the Cleveland Bistro open 3 night per week and have reviewed them separately. The Cleveland Way passes outside the cottage and the walk to Runswick Bay via Port Mulgrave is on every years agenda. The Cleveland Way extends for miles, in both directions for those more energetic. The cottages don't pretend to have fully modernised interiors like some across the beck but that would take away their charm and a big plus is the free parking outside the door, albeit on a slope. They are dog friendly as is Staithes beach but particularly clean every time. All in all their comfort and location make them ideal to explore the North Yorks Coast and moors with Whitby only a short drive away and lovely villages inland

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Idyllic view & Location
Liked least: Bijou bathroom of bedroom with louvred type door. lack of privacy in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing