We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic, just fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017 Here's the view in the summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
Can you resist this view? Spend your holiday relaxing here with morning coffee, afternoon tea or G&a
View from the cottage on new year's day 2017
Here's the view in the summer
Our sitting room
Open fire makes all the difference!
The view on a Mediterranean blue-sky day down the beck from the front door
Our cottages are the location for the new BBC series Old Jack's Boat starring Bernard Cribbins
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea - we've got the only lawn in the village!
Where better for a relaxing afternoon tea?
Wake up to this view
One of the most photographed and painted views in England is the view from our seat
The three cottages - No5 is on the left hand side
Artists regularly stay and paint from here - even the interior of the cottage
We discovered this Gill Carter painting by chance in a York gallery - the view from our sitting room
Looking over the lobster pots - view of the cottages up the beck from the staith
Sunset over Cowbar Nab behind the cottages
Dawn over the beck looking from the cottages
Wild water at the bottom of the beck
Staithes from the fields above
Sunset over Staithes looking north
We are at 5 Cowbar Bank, Staithes, TS13 5BZ
Bedroom
Spot the cottage from the other side of the village
They say this is one of the best views in England - the cottage is on the left just above the bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
didgeandm...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, just fantastic!”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The most amazing cottage ever. Very clean. Fanatic location. A real gem. Very well equipped kitchen. Comfortable lounge with lovely open fire for warming up at night. Very comfortable bed and nice bathroom with shower cubicle. Bench outside cottage with fanatic views of the village, beach and harbour. Ideal for a cappucino or glass of wine. Parking outside. Reliable wi-fi. Just can't fault the cottage. Staithes is lovely. Very peaceful and relaxing, a much slower pace of life. Everywhere is dog friendly which was important to us. Just made a fanatic 30th wedding anniversary break and we will defenitley be returning soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you for the most wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Staithes is a lovely place to celebrate those important occasions - plenty to see and do, but also a good place for quiet reflection.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHpocketr...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside venue”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Fishermans cottage no. 5 for 3 days and loved it. The best bit was the really comfy bed with crisp linen sheets and gorgeous view over Staithes to the cliffs and sea. The only advise I would give potential al visitors is that the cottage does have low ceilings and a small shower. My husband is 6.3 and struggled a bit but we were warned and would definitely return anyway.
The location is perfect. Thank you for a lovely stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thanks for the lovely review - so pleased you enjoyed it. We too agree that clean and crisp sheets are important and our cleaners work hard to make sure the beds are inviting.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisaunwin...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Enchanting Holiday”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This was our 5th visit to the most beautiful coastal village of Staithes.
Without a doubt these Fishermans Cottages are the Best in every way.
We have found our perfect holiday cottage/s.
Life is timeless in Staithes. Its like a step back in time. A slower pace of life.
But with all the mod cons. WiFi worked a treat, keeping up with the real world
'on the outside'. TV reception was very good.
Warm and snug with everything we could have wished for, for a weeks stay.
A friendly greeting and a chat from the locals made us feel welcome. While we sat and drank in that view and watch the world go by. You really have to see it to believe it.
What Staithes lacks in quantity is made up for in quality... Dotty's Tea Room is a must do.. the largest scones ever! and very welcome after discovering all those little alley ways or a stunning walk above the town..The local Butchers which also sells the essentials was handy and the Cod and Lobster Pub is a must. The Chippy up in the village was also very good plus a small supermarket.
My husband enjoyed sea fishing of the break water, catching 3 small cod.
History and Charm ooze from this tiny village. Its our hidden gem...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2017
Lisa! Thank you for singing the praises of not only our cottages but the village too. Your thoughtful comments are much appreciated and you really capture the spirit of Staithes. Thank you! We are delighted you've booked again and look forward to welcoming you - Jackie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmck183g
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing views from comfortable and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We walked past this cottage last October when visiting Staithes for the day and were so taken with its location that we booked to stay for a week in March. The cottage itself is full of character with a well equipped kitchen and comfortable bed, with a number of artists views of Staithes on the walls. Sitting at the little table in the lounge you can watch the tide come in and out of the beck, and we were lucky to have weather good enough to enjoy sitting on the bench outside.

There are a number of walks which you can do directly from the cottage and we particularly enjoyed walking around the cliffs towards Runswick Bay. You can see Staithes from a number of different viewpoints around the village and understand why the village has been such a magnet for artists over the years. We had some great food at the Cleveland Corner Bistro in Staithes and at the Runcible Spoon in Hinderwell, but do check opening days and hours if out of season. We will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Delighted to read your wonderful review - thank you. We have tried to preserve the character of the cottage so it's still in keeping with the quaintness of Staithes itself, and we love to celebrate the many wonderful artists who have painted in the village, many of whom have stayed here for the view. We hope you will come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillian r
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Booked this lovely cottage for birthday treat, once we walked in we felt at home. Cute cosy comfortable and quaint is the way we describe this georgeous cottage even our dog made himself at home straight away. So close to bottom of staithes and the views stunning from the cottage. Added bonus 1 parking space. It was warm from the moment we walked in however we did light the fire even more cosy. Everything we needed was there we met Mandy the housekeeper lovely and friendly what more could u wish for perfect and we've booked for a longer stay in Nov thank you Mandy & jackie

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Thanks for a lovely review - we look forward to welcoming you to the cottage again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mandy J
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have just returned from a three night stay in this lovely cottage. It is only a few minutes walk to the centre of Staithes. The views are exquisite. If u r looking for modern this is not the place for you. No phone signal, there is wifi but we could not get it to connect but we didn't bother contacting the housekeeper as we wanted to relax and this enabled us too. We will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2016
SO pleased you enjoyed your stay. These days the wi-fi is usually very reliable so can't think what happened. Our housekeepers are always happy and on hand if anyone has any problems - like us, they want everyone to have the best time possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;